We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stanwell House is a really nice hotel in the lovely surroundings of Lymington. Rooms are very nicely decorated with all the amenities you would expect. The room had a private balcony which was lovely for enjoying a late afternoon drink. We took advantage of the offer which provided champagne and chocolates on arrival and a 3-course meal in the hotel restaurant - this was very good value for money. Breakfast was delicious with a large array of choices. The service is warm and friendly without being intrusive. Very nice hotel indeed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDLCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    382
    118
    48
    10
See reviews for
186
956
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Fabulous setting on the high street. It was so nice to be able to just walk out on the street. A buzzy little town. Hotel itself was excellent. comfortable spacious room. The staff were all so helpful. The food is wonderful too especially the fish.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the high street are slightly noisy as you hear the bustle of the high street,but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowsonfordllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had a lovely time at this hotel and would recommend it very much. The hotel itself is so lovely and the breakfast delicious. Our stay was really made special from our arrival on a FrIday evening when Marilyn welcomed us to the hotel when we checked in and showed us to our room as well as giving us some really useful information about the area as it was our first visit. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our son and daughter gave us a red letter day experience at the Stanwell House Hotel for our 60th birthday and what a wonderful choice it was. The red letter day consisted of an overnight stay with breakfast and either a 3 course meal in the bistro restaurant or £55 off a meal in the seafood restaurant. We decided to go for the seafood which had a good selection of main meals or you could mix and match with the tapas menu.
We had a lovely room on the second floor (32) which overlooked the main street. This meant that it was a bit noisy, but it didn't really bother us and we slept well with the window open. The location is great, right on the main high street which has a lovely selection of small quirky shops and is not dominated by the chain stores that have taken over so many high streets these days. The market on Saturday morning was great and we also managed a trip to Exbury gardens in the afternoon and an open top bus ride around the New Forest on Sunday morning before setting off for home.

One other thing to mention is the staff at the hotel who were without exception friendly and helpful and a real credit to the hotel.
Thank you all for a lovely time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I just wanted to say a quick thank you to all the staff for their kind hospitality & assistance in making our stay at your establishment such a pleasant one. In particular, the extra flexibility of being able to enjoy your splendid breakfasts in the conservatory with the little one in her pram was a godsend.

Keep up the excellent work....

Mr Kerr

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

After a friends wedding in Brickenhurst we Spent Sunday night in Lymington after touring the area.
The Stanwell has been carefully renovated, lots of originality and very helpful staff.
The layout is quirky and our room was lovely with 4 poster and lovely bathroom, no surprise this is #1 in Lymington.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeToTravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights for a family wedding.
The public areas are delightful and the gardens are beautiful, with plenty of secluded seating areas to relax in.
The staff are more than helpful, everyone was friendly and most attentive, but special mention must go to the lovely Rebecca, who was on the desk as we checked out and David who was in charge at night.
We had a first floor Garden Room (Room 12) which was a little small and somewhat tired. The window was awkward to open and lock/unlock and could do with a scrape and re-paint. The door was swollen in it's frame, making it impossible to close quietly at night.
There was an iron shaped burn on the carpet, no doubt left by an earlier guest attempting to iron their clothing using the trailing socket (there is a distinct lack of power sockets)
There had been a central drawer on the dressing table, presumably removed to allow one to sit at the mirror. Not a good look.
Because the website had stressed that Stanwells is a Boutique hotel, I had brought my iPod, because I assumed there would be a dock (there wasn't)
I had asked for a twin room and the beds were only 2' 6" wide, instead of the normal 3' which was disappointing.
On a positive note, the air conditioning worked very well and the bathroom looked newly refurbished. I cannot comment on the shower, as I took baths, but my husband told me it wasn't powerful enough.
The selection at breakfast is excellent and service is quick and efficient.
We liked Stanwells, but the bedrooms are expensive given the standards of comfort and decor.

Room Tip: If booking a Garden room, opt for the 1st floor. Smokers are right outside the ground floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,023 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Property: Stanwell House Hotel
Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing