We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing trip despite the weather

We booked an afternoon sail with dinner and a night on board the yacht. David and Montague were... read more

Reviewed September 15, 2018
jackiem
,
world
Amazing day would love to go again :)

Literally loved our trip with escape yachting.. I booked it for my friend for her birthday going... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2018
Lauren B
,
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 348 reviews
  
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
316
18
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
316
18
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass of champagne pasta other guests isle of wight weather was perfect lucky with the weather treacle tart course dinner many thanks no pressure great fun set sail day sail salmon beautiful boat tea coffee feel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 340 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A most enjoyable day out.
We were met by the owner at the Haven Bistro (quite pricey actually) at the appointed hour and introduced to our skipper Nut Brown Nigel!
The boat was lovely, the weather splendid, the crew superb, the sea calm, the fizz was fizzy and the whole trip was without fault.
We motored out from Lymington and then sailed along without engine power. A couple of the guests, both ladies, took control of the boat and under Nut Brown Nigel's expert guidance didn't hit anything - not even once!! They were very good.
There was a mist descending on Alum Bay so Nut Brown Nigel put plan B into action and we hightailed it to Shalfleet Lake (a bay really) for our evening meal. A good choice as it would have been chilly in the mist.
The meal was cooked by the the young work experience guys and Tim. Very tasty, including a veggie option. A birthday cake was presented and shared with all. There was even a (successful thankfully) proposal after dinner.
Nigel was very friendly and informative without intruding, very easy going and relaxed. Many thanks to him and the crew.
I would recommend this trip to anyone and we're thinking of a family event already.

1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew L, Owner at Escape Yachting - Day Sails, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your detailed and positive review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your day with Escape Yachting so much and that you were looked after so well! We very much look forward to welcoming you back on board again soon with your family. We get quite a few family groups on board each summer, of all ages from grandparents to grandchildren, and everyone has such a great time together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This came as a very pleasant surprise, I was kept in the dark right up until we boarded our luxury yacht, although it was obvious we were going on a boat trip of sorts.
We joined 9 others on the boat for a very thrilling and exciting sail along the Solent to the needles and Alum Bay where we anchored for a wonderfuly prepared dinner, 5 of the guests also went for a swim in the Bay.
Nigel our Captain was very pleasant and informative, answering all our questions and was a perfect host, he was also a very experienced sailor.
We had a perfect hot sunny day with lots of wind, in fact the trip back to the Marina was with full sail and very fast, for me it was a lovely birthday surprise, a good laugh, with pleasant company, good food and drink, excellent and thank you.

Thank Fortuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew L, Owner at Escape Yachting - Day Sails, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your birthday celebration on the Sail with Dinner with Escape Yachting! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the surprise and that the whole experience really made it a birthday treat to remember! We look forward to seeing you on board again for the next birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We purchased the groupon offer of £99 per person. Nigel our skipper was very knowledgable and friendly, even let me steer the ship for a good 15 minutes. We had good wind on the route out however half sail on the way back. Extremely relaxing, also great food. Recommended

1  Thank UK_Foodie_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew L, Owner at Escape Yachting - Day Sails, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review and for recommending the sailing experience which you enjoyed with Escape Yachting! I am glad you had a go at the helm and enjoyed the meal: i will pass on your thanks to the skipper and crew who looked after you so well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

10 am start on a perfect summer's day. Ahead, six hours on a 3-year old luxury yacht, with an hour anchored for lunch. Just brilliant. What could be better.
Except for no wind whatsoever!
Thankfully the boat had diesel power or we'd never have got out of the Yacht Haven!
Oh and the seating gets a bid hard after a while but cushions are thoughtfully provided (only the under thirties seemed immune to the need)
That's all the bad bits though.
Super, elegant boat (Moonshine), skipper had loads of stories (Nigel), crew/chef French lad (Matthieu). Chicken & pasta lunch simple but very enjoyable.
Ten strangers thrown together became friends very quickly - some before we even boarded.
The Solent is quite busy even weekdays so plenty of activity.
This is a most professional outfit with experienced skippers and terrific boats.
Pick the right weather (if you can) and this has got to be just the best value on South Coast waters you can get.
Great day.

Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew L, Owner at Escape Yachting - Day Sails, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of your great day out with Escape Yachting. Not many people worry about sailing in hot, sunny weather - but I am glad the sea breezes picked up and you had wonderful trip. I will certainly pass on your thanks to the skipper and crew who looked after you so well and we look forward to welcoming you back on board on a windier day next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

At only 2-3h drive from London it is the perfect outdoor experience. We used the vouchers from Living Social and were really unprepared re how amazing the day will be. We had 2 wonderful hosts (Matthew and David) and to top it all up - the sun was shining!

We were a party of 7 and the team was very kind and gave us exclusivity for the day (we had a birthday to celebrate that week). What can I say, we are all sold on it, so much so, that the guys plan to go back in the near future and take up the one week sailing course with Escape Yachting!

Totally recommended!!

Cristina

1  Thank CrisLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew L, Owner at Escape Yachting - Day Sails, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your amazing day out with Escape Yachting! I am glad you and your friends all enjoyed your birthday celebration on board a luxury yacht, doing things in style! We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews