We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper pub, proper food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #50 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
256 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Proper pub, proper food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

None of your gentrified gastro pub rubbish here: this is a good honest pub which serves excellent beer (Ringwood Best, naturally) and proper food: liver and bacon for me and steak pie for my wife, both of which were delicious. Excellent value for money, nice location on the edge of Sway and really friendly staff. Go there!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank garybons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    7
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!!! Country pub!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful pub, stopped in after a day in the forest, lovely menu , traditional menu , steak was brilliant !! Specials board was great, all home cooked !!!! Recommend this place, dog friendly with dog biscuits on the bar, kids play area in the garden aswell :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Medway88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First visit but won't be the last!!..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Visited here 05/04/14 with my gf,Knew as soon as we walked in this was the cosy country pub we were looking for.

Open fire & very comfy sofas with a very welcoming atmosphere.

I had the whitebait starter & my gf had the chilli nachos.
Very generous portions & very tasty.
I had the chicken curry main & my gf had the cheeseburger.

The curry was cooked to perfection & full of flavour & the burger was so tender it just fell apart when cut unlike other places we've been where the burgers are like bike tyres!!..

Staff were very chatty,welcoming & helpful looking after our every need.

Bill for the 2 of us was about £40 including drinks.

We had a really lovely evening & will definitely become regulars..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndySarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Warm cosy pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Having lost our car in the recent storms we made several visits here whilst visiting the garage opposite. The pub is warm, cosy and welcoming with friendly staff. It's essentially pub grub but very well cooked and presented and our various meals; shepherds pie; pasta; chilli etc etc were all very good. There is good selection of wines, beers and ciders and they are dog friendly. A great place to visit after a country walk

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Pit Stop on a New Forest walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We loved this little pub. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The beer garden is a lovely little sun trap where we could easily spend hours. We didn't eat, but the menu looked good. I would really recommend, especially if you are doing a New Forest walk as we were.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrigleyWriggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Sway, Brockenhurst
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing