We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful base for Our Family Celebration”
other travelers have booked this property
The Masters House (front)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Masters House (front)
The Front Garden kitchen with table for 8
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The Masters House (front)
The Front Garden
kitchen with table for 8
Kitchen
Hall and the masters grandfather clock
The Study. Wifi provided.
Ensuite to the The Master Bedroom with shower, loo and basin
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom with bath and shower over bath
Downstairs cloakroom
Top floor wetroom with shower , loo and  basin
super king bed 1st floor adjacent family bathroom.
bedroom 2 with ensuite
bedroom 2 with ensuite
Bedroom three, top floor  or can be 2 singles
bedroom 3 or can be kingsize bed . note sloping ceilings
Bedroom 4 , top floor or can be a superking (6')  sloping ceilings
lounge with large sofas
lounge with cosy open fire
lounge with ample seating for 8 guests
Marinas at Lymington
Lymington High Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gryphon2
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A wonderful base for Our Family Celebration”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We are not the first to make this observation and I am sure we wont be the last. But The Masters House was perfect for our special family celebration where we could all get to gather as a family .. Granny and Grandad Three sons one wife and two grandchildren. Safe , clean practical and very well located. Can't say more and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2015
We are so pleased that the celebration went well and you enjoyed your stay at Old Masters. We look forward to more visits from your lovely family for future celebrations!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie187...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love the Old Masters House”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed for a long weekend with family (8). The house is full of character with contemporary features and very well equipped. The gardens are lovely and well maintained. There is even a HMV 78 player in the lounge which we enjoyed listening to classics in front of an open fire. The location is convenient for the town and walks along the river bank and Quays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Meal times in the Old Masters Kitchen
Liked least: Find a way to clean the upstairs dormer windows!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C
1 review
“Impressive house”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Really enjoyed our weekend at Old Masters House. Just right for a weekend catching up with friends. Impressive house tastefully furnished, kitted out with everything you could need. Lyinington is a good choice for an out of season break. Great Saturday market and pretty walks along with plenty of choice of places to go for afternoon tea and evening meals.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2015
Thank you . We are pleased you had a good break and enjoyed the house and the town .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVG
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good family house”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this house for a family get-together and it worked well for our family of eight. The house has been nicely remodeled and it is easy to access the town and marina - and a good location to visit the New Forest. We are from the USA so we may have a different take on things - but we thought the noise from the traffic on East Hill was awful. We did get used to it after a while but just not something we are used to.
Also refrigerator in kitchen freezes instead of refrigerating and the dishwasher needs wheels on the lower level pull out. It was very warm the week we were there and the people in the twin rooms upstairs really needed a fan or something there to move the air. Would also suggest larger beds in the two double rooms, but again that is more what we are used to.
Overall a good experience.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poetryeur...
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very good experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My son booked this property for a long weekend and it turned out to be a very good choice. The house has an interesting history and has been tastefully and sympathetically restored with plenty of thought given to the convenience of guests. It is a large house, light and airy with a good central heating system, so good we had to turn it down the first day. The kitchen with its large round table is just right for a large party and very well-equipped. The sofas in the sitting room are very comfortable as are the beds although those in the smallest bedroom are a little short for adults and the shower arrangements on that floor are less good than in other places. The house is well situated for the town and IOW Ferry. We also liked the enclosed garden. Very safe for children. Generous off-road parking space. Ruth Smith

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen and double bedrooms
Liked least: the smaller attic room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback: we're glad that your stay worked out so well. We do say on the website that the shower on the top floor is a wet-room so as not to mis-lead people. The beds in both twin rooms are standard length, but thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loop104
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Stayed with 4 girlfriends for a weekend and the house was lovely. The weather was freezing but the heating was very efficient, the beds were really comfy and the house very spacious. Unfortunately the weather was appalling so we didn't see as much of the area as we had planned, but Lymington was great and had everything that we needed. On our return the owner contacted me to ask for feedback and when we said that the seating in the lounge definitely needed sorting she said they had already ordered new comfy settees! A great house for friends or families to share, would definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the house and its history
Liked least: chilly first floor bathroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2013
Thanks for the review - new sofa now in situ! Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Living room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, although I wish that we had had the chance to rectify matters during your stay. We take all of our reviews very seriously and pride ourselves on receiving 5 star reviews.

Firstly, the property is a Grade II listed house, that has been fully restored. It has high ceilings and sash windows befitting a period property. We have ensured that the living room is as comfortable as possible with hand-made, lined curtains, warm lime-wash walls, open fireplace and lamps to light the room. The room floods with light when the sun shines, and it has 3 large sash windows facing East and West.

Although I appreciate that the seating may not have been to your taste or comfort, it is worth noting that there is a 3 person sofa, a 2 person sofa, two armchairs and one love seat (for two).

We intend to touch up some of the paintwork in the coming weeks and both the small stain on the kitchen ceiling and the bathroom ceiling will be included. The top shower room is a wet room.

Whilst responding to this feedback, which we take very seriously indeed, I would like to say how sorry we were that you did not find the property to your taste. All of our other reviewers have given us glowing reviews and have commented on how comfortable the property is ("The house is well made out for just relaxing and enjoying" 28 December 2012, "The place is amazing. We stayed there with 6 friends for my birthday in December. The house comfortably accommodated all of us" 9 December 2012). As a token of goodwill, we would like to offer you a week during the summer, or another time to suit, with a 50% reduction.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing