We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”
Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Superb girls afternoon tea experience to celebrate a birthday.
We had use of a private lounge at no additional room hire with doors onto a pretty cottage garden. Beautifully presented food with all homemade cakes, extra jam and cream were no problem as were regular top ups of the teapots. Also a great selection of fine teas and coffee.
Service was great too, very friendly and attentive.
Excellent value at just £12.95pp.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaj582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
I am delighted to hear you and your guests had a superb birthday celebration with us on Sunday 23rd March. I am especially pleased to hear you enjoyed our selection of home-made cakes & our varied selection of teas with your full afternoon and cream teas. We endeavour to provide great service to all our guests and appreciate your lovely comments,
Thank you kindly for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    224
    81
    25
    11
See reviews for
169
348
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cotswolds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay in this lovely hotel.I pride myself on giving honest opinions of places we stay so here goes.We arrived early so we could use the pool as this was on of the reasons we chose the Passford.The pool was closed as there had been a power cut the night before but we were given our key to a very nice large standard double room.The heating was off so the staff did their best to provide us with portable heater to keep us warm,on the 3rd one we hadheat!The bathroom was large but out dated with Carpet up the side panel(thought that went out with the ark).The room was lovely an clean though.The grounds are amazing!!When we did get a swim it was very cold didnt stop in long and complained before we left as we felt although the pool water was clean the tiles and sidesof th pool were in need of a scrub.We had an amazing dinner in the restaurant the first night couldnt fault it breakfast was great good choice as much as you could eat but not very hot! We ate from the bar menu the s e cond night and the food was just as good we felt the food prices were quite reasonable but the bar prices steep!We would def return again even though we felt overall the price per room was a tad expensive for what we got.Next time we will return in the summer to take in the amazing grounds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzyCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments. Please once more accept our apologies regarding the swimming pool, we have contacted our pool maintenance company to resolve the issues you have mentioned, however we would also like to thank you for your understanding regarding the pool being closed when you arrived.
I am pleased to tell you that we are currently in the process of refurbishing our bathrooms throughout the hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed and had an amazing meal in our restaurant and that you plan to return in the summer months, we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently just for one night. Lovely huge room with a four poster bed, and huge bathroom with a sunken bath. Very impressed. Only things that let the room down were the plug in the bath didn't work so we ran a bath went to get in and half the water had disappeared, had to keep running it while in the bath, and that the tv in the bedroom was behind a bookcase so we couldn't watch it in bed.
It was sometimes impossible to get service in the bar as no one was around and no bell to ring.
We only had a bar snack and breakfast at the hotel but what we did have was very nice.
Overall a lovely hotel with very friendly staff, beautiful grounds and the swimming pool/sauna was lovely, the changing rooms were a bit too cold for my liking though! Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Here at Passford House we pride ourselves in taking all our guests comments and feedback seriously and weather good or bad we always do our very best to resolve any issues raised, which is why I am happy to tell you we are looking into relocating the television within the bedroom space and the plug in the bath has now been fixed. Once again many thanks for your feedback we are delighted to hear you will be returning in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding reception in Jan 14, beautiful old hotel in lovely grounds, great size room, very comfortable. But, bathroom fittings and decoration in room tired and would benefit from a refurbish without losing the classic feel of the place. Bar prices the usual overpriced standard for hotels, and the gentleman serving definitely had his smile and sense of humour removed when we were there, saw him again at breakfast, hadn't cheered up! Rest of staff very pleasant. Breakfast was ok but black pudding so overcooked it was barely edible. Generally nice place though and would visit again.

Room Tip: Away from bar if there is an evening function.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just a really lovely hotel set in gorgeous grounds which must be fantastic in summer. Didnt have evening meals but breakfast was excellent. Beds soooooo comfortable and internet connection (free) in room was one of the best ive came across. One minor, because rooms are quite large TV seems a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bewise56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had been before many years ago, it was a surprise break for my wife. They take Dogs - even better. We had a smallish room, big bed and large bathroom. Its a strange hotel full of quirk - huge wooden ducks in the entrance, a games room (board games), a nice swimming pool, a pet cemetery, and a Helipad - although I doubt one had landed there recently. Beautiful extensive grounds. The food is good, the service excellent, just the right balance between concern and giving you space. Judith you were wonderful. Its very very quiet, and very peaceful as a result. Log fires abound. Residents tend to be on the wrinkly side, very genteel and interesting. Will go back in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Rooms 141, 142, 143 on ground floor I believe are "dog friendly" rooms, if they have confe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed in a superior double room at the front of the hotel. Spacious with a pleasant bathroom and well supplied with toiletries etc. One small gripe though, no tea making facilities provided. When checking out I was told that if I had asked they would have been provided. Bearing in mind the cost I do think that this should have been provided automatically. We had dinner, beautifully cooked but really quite expensive, especially the wine ! Breakfast was included in the price, as much as you wanted but self service. The hotel was warm, clean and the staff very helpful and attentive. Log fires, plenty of comfortable seating in the lounge and bar.
I would go back though, it is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
412 reviews
6.1 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,535 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Property: Passford House
Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing