We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Eccentric, Lovely”
Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Eccentric, Lovely”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had been before many years ago, it was a surprise break for my wife. They take Dogs - even better. We had a smallish room, big bed and large bathroom. Its a strange hotel full of quirk - huge wooden ducks in the entrance, a games room (board games), a nice swimming pool, a pet cemetery, and a Helipad - although I doubt one had landed there recently. Beautiful extensive grounds. The food is good, the service excellent, just the right balance between concern and giving you space. Judith you were wonderful. Its very very quiet, and very peaceful as a result. Log fires abound. Residents tend to be on the wrinkly side, very genteel and interesting. Will go back in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Rooms 141, 142, 143 on ground floor I believe are "dog friendly" rooms, if they have confe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    228
    81
    25
    11
See reviews for
171
351
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed in a superior double room at the front of the hotel. Spacious with a pleasant bathroom and well supplied with toiletries etc. One small gripe though, no tea making facilities provided. When checking out I was told that if I had asked they would have been provided. Bearing in mind the cost I do think that this should have been provided automatically. We had dinner, beautifully cooked but really quite expensive, especially the wine ! Breakfast was included in the price, as much as you wanted but self service. The hotel was warm, clean and the staff very helpful and attentive. Log fires, plenty of comfortable seating in the lounge and bar.
I would go back though, it is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Positives are that the rooms are clean. The bar prices for beer are ok but forget anything else. Pint of larger £3.60 but a lager shandy is £5.60!! The food isn't bad, but its also not great. However the service is not just slow but it makes Basil and Manuel look attentive and competent hosts! I am not one to complain at all, and believe me I don't, I think a travel inn could have been better. Having said that, the fry up for breakfast is not the hottest but is tasty. Wouldn't rush back and would try others well before coming back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairygrumpymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly staff. The room was lovely, very clean and tidy. Gorgeous cocktails and delicious breakfast. Suited our vegetarian needs for the English breakfast. Will definitely be staying again. From Karyn and Peter

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Marston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel which is very traditional, somewhat dated interiors and makes a huge effort to offer a very personal service, including silver service and printed cards on your breakfast table with your name on. I think they don't have the right balance. Focus more on the interiors, more updated without losing the charm, and less focus on the over-the-top personal service. Appeals to an older traveller.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mju1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our family stayed there for three nights, there were 23 of us. The staff are delightful. Very helpful. The food was excellent - we had our separate room for our dinners.
There is a very pleasant garden and the Forest is a short walking distance, the rooms are very comfortable. We already booked it again for December 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night in early Septemeber. The setting was beautiful, very quiet and the grounds were absolutely lovely.

We ate lunch outside in the grounds. My husband had afternoon tea and I had a ploughmans - both were lovely but we did wait quite a long time for the food to arrive and it was difficult to order it as there was no-one on the bar - we ended up ordering our food at the check-in desk which was a bit odd! The lunch menu was reasonably priced.

We chose to eat dinner in Lymington as the dinner menu at the hotel seemed very expensive for what it was.

We paid a discounted rate of £90 for our room, including breakfast, as it was a last minute, mid-week booking. I would have been disappointed with our room had we paid full price as it certainly wasn't worth more than £90. The decor was very old fashioned and tired. I really didn't like the carpet in the bathroom and the bed/pillows weren't very comfortable.

We really enjoyed the full english breakfast and the all of the staff were very friendly.

In summary, a lovely stay but the hotel is a little old fashioned and need updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
441 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,153 reviews
5.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,802 reviews
6.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Property: Passford House
Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing