We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT ESCAPE”
Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beautifully maintained, understated elegance and excellent service !
Can't praise the staff enough (with one exception), Receptionist, bar staff, cleaner - FAB !!

Was particularly impressed with the Robin that hopped into my room and later, took himself for a tour of Reception and the Lounge :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
There are newer reviews for Passford House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 741 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

For those who like a "John Betjeman" type country house hotel, this is hard to beat! The main feature is the large garden, well stocked in every way, with understated facilities like the croquet lawn and putting green. These are 'fun only' facilities but came as a welcome surprise. The public rooms were lovely, with panelled rooms, plenty of pictures and furniture to match.

Our rooms were adequate, though not fully what we expected for 'superior'. The robes were hard on the skin from many washings and no face flannels were provided. The leisure facilities were intemittent and not constantly available.

The staff could not have been more charming and willing, though they did seem short handed. It was plainly a struggle for them to produce a full set tea for 8 in the garden but it was well worth waiting for. I got the impression that the hotel might be financially stressed, but hopefully that is either wrong, or maybe the fine summer has improved occupancy.

The restaurant seemed a priority in the evening. There was an impressive menu and non resident diners seeemed plentiful, though we did not dine in the restaurant ourselves. Any non resident diner could not go far wrong here.

Overall, we really enjoyed our one-night stay and would have gladly extended it had time permitted. Passford House will certainly be our preferred hotel for future visits to the New Forest.

Room Tip: We asked for superior rooms with garden view, which served us well. We were in a relatively modern e...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CliffordAlls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just spent 3 lovely days in the New Forest with this hotel as our base. It was perfect for relaxing, being away from the hustle and bustle and enjoying some olde worlde charm. The room was spacious and comfortable with everything we needed, although the internet did not seem to work in any part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fridaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We only spent one night here and it definitely wasn't enough. It's a really charming place in beautiful gardens with a small lake and a 'Monet' inspired area. The room we had was small but fine for a one night stay. I'm sure there are larger ones. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening (as we were with a 50th birthday group) so I can't comment on the restaurant food. However, the breakfast was really good. A lot of choice and tea, coffee and toast were brought to to the table very quickly and efficiently. The staff were great, efficient and friendly but unobtrusive. The outdoor pool was closed for repairs but there is an indoor one and a small gym.
We will most certainly return for a longer stay and explore the lovely Lymington area.
Highly recommend this gem of a country house hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the garden or courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

i chose this hotel to celebrate my 60th birthday and booked for 3 nights . When we arrived it was a little earlier than check in and i was happy to sit in the garden until time but nothing was too much trouble and we were booked in very quickly by Zara and then helped with our cases to our room which was on the ground floor and as we had our dog it was perfect as we had easy access to the beautiful gardens. The evning meal was very good although the restaurant was somewhat subdued on the first night.Our bedroom and bathroom were lovely and we had 3 excellent nights sleep.We used the swimming pool and played putting and enjoyed walking around the lovely grounds.All the staff were great but special mention to the two young men who were always ready to help and Zara on reception who made us so welcome, we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leoconstructions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a charming hotel in marvellous grounds. The staff are superb being both helpful and friendly at all times. The food, both bar and restaurant, is very good. The rooms are very traditional but, personally, that is exactly what I want in a country house hotel. There are a number of lounges for guests to use and plenty of outdoor tables and chairs in the various gardens and outdoor areas. The indoor pool was very good according to my daughter and granddaughter. The hotel's dog is very friendly and soooo cute and was almost dog napped by our granddaughter! If you understand the idea of an English country house hotel (no aircon) this is a fine example for a very relaxing weekend in a wonderful part of the country.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sussexpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were lucky enough to share my mother in laws surprise birthday lunch at Passford House Hotel on 14th July 2013. The hotel is beautiful as are the grounds. Although we didn't stay at the hotel we enjoyed a fabulous 3 course lunch. The food was delicious, the staff were very efficient and we have fallen in love with the hotel and grounds. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
4.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,740 reviews
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,871 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: $114 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing