We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, good value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly, good value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay here in February. We were able to take our dog who was allowed in enough areas to make it easy and workable.
The kids loved the indoor pool and I felt really relaxed while reading my book next to one of the roaring fires and being brought copious cups of tea by the friendly staff.
This hotel has a mixture of styles. The old areas are lovely although the becrooms in the newer area cannot be called very stylish. I don't think you would book this hotel if you are looking for 'boutique" more all-round good value and fun for the kids. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    218
    80
    25
    11
See reviews for
164
334
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have stayed here before, and hoped it would be as good as the last time. The staff at check in were helpful and also helped with luggage as we were at the top of the hotel in a nice room with dual aspect views.. On arrival in the room we found champagne and chocolates which were gorgeous. We enjoyed a lovely cream tea and later used the leisure facilities, only small problem no hot showers which I was assured was temporary. The evening meal in the Restaurant was lovely and staff very good and attentive. Breakfast was very pleasant and freshly cooked and hot. All in all a very pleasant stay, thank you to everyone who makde it so pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aisling007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My partner booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday. It's very charming and beautiful and our room was lovely. It's set in the countryside with extensive and pretty gardens. The staff are friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere is comfortable and welcoming. We missed out on the Sat evening dinner as I had forgotten my dress! The staff said that it was not a problem, but I wouldn't have felt right. Instead, we thoroughly enjoyed a meal from the bar menu. After a wonderful leisurely breakfast the following morning and a wander around the grounds, we bade a reluctant farewell . . . we shall be returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavycaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The first negative experience of the hotel was when I asked for an extra robe for my 13-year-old son (we were sharing a triple room) and was told I'd have to pay an extra £5 for it. Mean! I also had to ask for an extra cup for him, and was tempted to ask whether I'd have to pay for that. The swimming pool was small but ok. You were asked to shower before getting in but the showers only had cold water. The jacuzzi didn't work, but the woman at reception later told me it wasn't a jacuzzi but a seating area, despite it having all the buttons of a jacuzzi. But what really spoilt the visit for me was discovering a dirty nappy in my bathroom bin on the first night. Horrendous! Like something out of the Inbetweeners Movie. This room cost me £190 a night! I have to say the staff in the dining room were lovely, very sweet and helpful, but the response to the nappy incident was poor. A feeble 'sorry' was all I got, no offer of recompense or acknowledgment of the horror of finding it. When I checked out I mentioned it again but was told it was too late to take anything off my bill, as I'd already paid (?), but I could have a free tea or coffee! Or something off my next stay...but I have to say despite the lovely staff, that incident and the response to it would not make me want to pay out £380 for a two-night stay there again.

Room Tip: In our room, at the end of the corridor looking out to the swimming pool, there was a strange poppin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokribite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a stunning location. The staff have always been very polite and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. Food is excellent and reasonably priced, as is the bar compared to comparable sized hotels. Bedroom clean and comfortable with the usual necessities, paper was at the door when we woke up. Bathroom was spotless.
Only slight observation is that the swimming pool which is of an excellent size was on the chilly side!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I chose this hotel after looking for a quiet retreat for my husband's birthday gift. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome. Even though it was the middle of winter there were a few guests and still the grounds were lovely to wander around. We decided to dine at the hotel that evening instead of going out into town. The food was out of this world. The service from all members of staff was fantastic, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlitterfairyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I had Sunday lunch at this charming hotel . Even though we were the only guests on this very chilly Sunday we were made to feel very special and nothing was too much trouble . We offered not to stay so as not to put the staff out by cooking just for us, but the staff would not hear of it. We also enjoyed coffee in the delightful lounge. We were given a tour of the function rooms after lunch as we are thinking of having a private party at the hotel in the future. Thank you for a lovely afternoon. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
5.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
3.4 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
6.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Property: Passford House
Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing