We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not worth the price”
Review of East End Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East End Arms
Ranked #15 of 42 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here in February 2013 with a friend whilst on a cycle ride. My friend booked the room and when he told me the next morning how much it cost, I thought he was joking. Some people must be willing to pay a hefty premium just because the pub is owned by a bass player of a famous (and great) band. I do a lot of touring and reckon the B&B was worth no more than £70 , my friend was charged £120. The building is lovely and has a traditional unspoilt bar. The room was a very small twin room and at first glance looked nice. For £120 you would expect heating that was working and some toiletries. There was neither. The beer was off but the Barman said it was ok and asked a local to try it. The local chap said it was ok but when I went outside to make a call the local chap apologised to me and confirmed that the beer was off in his opinion.We ate in the restaurant and both thought the food was good.Breakfast was entertaining, the first time ever I have stayed in a B&B etc and have been told they have run out of sausages.There was only one other couple staying there ! £120 a room , you must be joking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after exploring the New Forest and picking strawberries at the pick your own down the road.
Lovely setting decorated well inside, very cosy. Interesting pictures on the wall. Ponies and donkeys come up to the door.
Food was very tasty and well presented. They also do sandwiches which looked very good just right after a long walk or bike ride. We would like to stay there for a couple of nights another time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie54945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The pub is in a quiet spot with New Forest ponies wandering down the road. Pleasant welcome and taken to our room which was stylish and contemporary. The bathroom had L'Occitan products classy!

Had drinks followed by dinner so sampled both the bar and restaurant. The locals were very friendly and I thought that the prices were very reasonable and the food was very good.

Breakfast was excellent after a good night's sleep in the large and very comfortable bed.

I will certainly visit again and would recommend it to anyone who wants to experience a great combination of rural idyll mixed with contemporary chic. I want one of the throws they put on the bed!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Four adults and one four year old had such a wonderful Roast Dinner. The meat was all tender, the yorkshire puddings were excellent and all the vegetables were really fresh and cooked to perfection. The desserts were also fabulous. We live in France, and we can honestly say this beats all the food over here. Well done Chef, and such courteous staff we shall be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked 4 of the 5 rooms for a mid week family birthday celebration. All of the rooms were lovely, beautifully decorated and super comfy. Danielle and her staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful to making our stay perfect! The bar and restaurant fires roared, making the downstairs areas cosy and inviting, especially welcome given the grey damp chilly weather! We all loved the food, lots of dishes tried and the breakfast choices were great. All in all 10/10!
Thank you all so much.
We would definitely recommend this as a lovely place stay and/or have supper whilst exploring the New Forest...we loved that it was a bit off the beaten track...not thronging with tourists....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The pub had good write ups but was a bit disappointing. The room was nice but no heating in the bathroom at all (coldest march weekend ever) and we had to ask them to turn it on in the bedroom, maybe they were trying to save money! There was no room in the restaurant even though we were staying so ate in the bar which is very small and not very attractive. The food was good but over priced as was the room at nearly £100 for the night. The staff were far from welcoming I think we were a nuisance. It may be owned by a famous bloke but it is not rock and roll! Can't call it bad but not worth a return trip.

Room Tip: Go to another venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186338Steveandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a great stay here with our friends. The bedrooms are immaculate and well furnished. The restaurant is very good and staff very friendly and helpful. Portion sizes were mentioned in a previous review and I thought they were good size.
Ideally located to visit Beauleigh Motor Museum, Bucklers Hard and Lymington.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank maltie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.4 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,607 reviews
5.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
501 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East End Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East End Arms

Address: Lymington Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: $143 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your East End Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East End Arms Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing