We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of East End Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East End Arms
Ranked #17 of 44 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
265 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not quite...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for just one night and it was okay. We thought we'd try something different and were a little disappointed.

Not very easy to find, though it is on the main village road, and there's not much parking. Awkward access to the rooms which are above the pub. We were put in the 'best' room as no-one else was in but we did find it rather small and half the room was dark due to insufficient lighting. The landlords have obviously tried very hard though and each of the rooms has been updated and nicely decorated.

They have modernised the pub too and it does have a nice dining room away from the locals in the bar. There was not a huge choice on the menu and it seemed, to us, that they had tried to go a bit too 'upmarket', and in their prices. Food was okay, but didn't seem completely freshly prepared.

With the weather this year, be aware that the area does seem to be prone to local flooding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    28
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
17
70
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for a weekend break (two nights) and the place could not have been better. If the restaurant hadn't been so good, we might have regretted being a bit too far out of Lymington itself, but in the event it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

In a lovely New Forest location near Lymington this inn looks promising, but set your Tom Tom to find it. However don't book there unless you are happy with a very soft mattress - 3 weeks of back ache the result. Then beware of a constant ticking noise all night - was it the swinging sign? Together they certainly produced a very disturbed night. Other small niggles were a cold towel radiator, no bath mat, strange home-made marmalade for breakfast and a 20 minute optional wait for croissants. Cannot comment on the evening food as we ate elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eagerbeaverEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Six of us stayed for a one night stopover on the way back from the IOW. The pub is a bit tucked away but only a couple of minutes from the ferry terminal at Lyminston i.e. on the 'right' side of the estuary.

When looking for somewhere to stay the vast majority of places in Lymington require a min 2 night stay, so the East End Arms was great in that they are happy to accept one night stays.

Rooms and beds were very comfortable and well appointed. Bar was lively and staff welcoming and helpful..big thanks to the manageress who was especially helpful.

Agree with other reviews in that the beer is well kept and a good choice. Food was also very good and a good choice of dishes. Only (very) minor niggle was the wine list was a bit restrictive...would benefit from adding a few more 'different' reds!

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomaschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Have to agree with Rick C's comment re Slaughtered Lamb vibe in public bar. I nipped in when we arrived to find out where we could park and immediately wanted to run away.

Our room was very pleasant, despite the slightly scary art (huge picture next to bed of what appeared to be a woman being smothered, at least that was my interpretation).

The bed was comfy and the shower was great.

Once the bar filled up a bit we discovered it's a great pub, the evening menu was excellent for pub grub and breakfast was great.

A couple of minor negatives:

Housekeeping in the bathroom could have been better - the floor was grubby and there were some rogue hairs in the shower
Evening service in the lounge was very slow (i.e. beyond relaxed) with staff engaging in fascinatingly loud conversations behind the bar about, amongst other things, jumping about on the bed in our room earlier that day whilst cleaning.

Other than that it was a great stay with fab beer and food.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 if you're a light sleeper and want an early night - it's directly over the loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiaRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was looking for a nice pub to stay in and that's exactly what East End Arms is! Nice rooms and good food. The beer was kept really well. It's a locals pub so the public bar is full and buzzing - nobody made us feel unwelcome but it's a bit like being at a wedding where you don't know anyone! The staff were efficient but not overly friendly. I'd go back but it wasn't the unforgettable experience I'd hoped for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CockneyRebelEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Nice place, public bar is a big let down though, reminded me of the slaughtered lamb in the film American werewolf in London ... Not very welcoming . However restaurant was very nice, food was delicious and there is plenty of outdoor seating.
Stayed in superior room , nice decor, very soft bed ( not to my liking) , big tv on wall , nice and clean, nice bathroom..however I don't think it warrants £120 a night, double room at £98.50 which my friends stayed in was hardly any different so I'd opt for that instead. Beer was cheap at £2.90 a pint (carlsberg) not to many bottled beers on offer though . Great breakfast .

Room Tip: Go for room 2 if you like an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
3.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East End Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East End Arms

Property: East End Arms
Address: Lymington Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your East End Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East End Arms Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing