We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East end arms”
Review of East End Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East End Arms
Ranked #16 of 43 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Nice place, public bar is a big let down though, reminded me of the slaughtered lamb in the film American werewolf in London ... Not very welcoming . However restaurant was very nice, food was delicious and there is plenty of outdoor seating.
Stayed in superior room , nice decor, very soft bed ( not to my liking) , big tv on wall , nice and clean, nice bathroom..however I don't think it warrants £120 a night, double room at £98.50 which my friends stayed in was hardly any different so I'd opt for that instead. Beer was cheap at £2.90 a pint (carlsberg) not to many bottled beers on offer though . Great breakfast .

Room Tip: Go for room 2 if you like an early night
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for East End Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in early July 2012 with 7 other girls. Our rooms were lovely with White Company bedding, clean functional bathrooms mostly with both hot powerful showers and baths. We were able to make tea and coffee and fresh milk was available on request. Our room was over the pub looking out across the road to the fields. There were so few cars you wouldn't know it was a road, there only seemed to be a lot of cyclists.

There was a lot of choice for breakfast which was freshly cooked in any which way you wanted and plenty of it.

The staff were attentive and happy to help. We had dinner there the first night and all enjoyed our meal. They were happy to make us baguettes for our next days walk and even booked our second night taxi for us a few days in advance.

I could not fault our stay here and would welcome a reason to return to the East End Arms.

Room Tip: The delux rooms are slightly bigger but all are to the same quality. A couple of rooms only have sh...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annaprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Refurbished to a high standard with very comfy beds and quality furnishings and drapery. Good service, marvellous food and an unspoilt public bar all contribute to an overall feel good factor. Oh...and the breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had the pleasure of consuming. Beer was in tip top condition. Staff were helpful and efficient. Never got to meet the owner but obviously his days on the road have contributed towards the decor and character of the rooms.
Only drawback was that I couldn't get Dire Straits' 'Once Upon A Time In The West' out of my head for the entire stay even though it did not feature on the inhouse music system. (Which was, as one would expect of a very high quality).
Thoroughly recommended, we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksw3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in June and couldn't fault the place . Rooms are modern, clean and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever experienced ! Breakfast is amazing and the pub is fab.... I would recommend the East End Arms to everyone

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenjaminPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We read about this place in BEER magazine - CAMRA's great little read. It sounded quirky and quality - and so it was! Owned and refurbed by John Illsley of Dire Straits, occasional guitar riffs drip through the speakers, and rock heroes of the past loom down at you from the walls in the restaurant below the bedrooms of this typical New Forest local's pub.

We stayed on the Sunday night over the jubilee bank hol weekend. We were warned on booking that the restaurant would be closed - so no dinner there - which was a shame given the fab food reviews below. However, they recommended the Red Lion at Boldre nearby and we had a great meal there, and saw a bit more of the Forest, so it was fine.
I'm reviewing because the room was so lovely and because I want to correct the dire breakfast reviews below. The breakfast here was better than the supposedly best breakfast in the New Forest we had at The Montagu Arms in Beaulieu the day before. The cereals are now in special containers, and the fresh juices are jugged in the foyer by the restaurant. The cooked brekky was made to order, with a good range to choose from, or you could simply have the works and just choose which eggs you want. I must make a special mention of the chef-made marmalade - gorgeous, tart and juicy.
We had Room 2, the same room photographed in the 2nd review below. From the L'Occitane toiletries, to the large wall-mounted flat-screen TV, the fresh milk for in-room tea and coffee, to the bouncy carpet, the huge bed, perfect mattress and Egyptian cotton linen, to the motion-sensor lights, everything is beautifully and thoughtfully done.
£120 B&B for a large, tastefully-styled comfortable room for 2, in a quiet little spot near a (rare) beach access road in the New Forest national park. Bargain!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 with my in-laws. We all thoroughly enjoyed the stay - especially the food, which was really gorgeous and the best we found during our trip around the south west. We would have happily paid twice a much at a top restaurant for our evening meals - thanks again to the chef, who I think has a great future!

The rooms were excellent and the staff all helpful, accomodating and freindly.

We took a walk down to the solent from here, which only took about 20 minutes. You'll find plenty of horses roaming about too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Firstly, we must apologize AGAIN about our dietary requirements. The staff were most understanding & accommodating. Thank you so much. Great atmosphere, gorgeous food & delighful staff. Did not get to meet John Illsley ... perhaps next time! We'll be popping through in April for a wedding on the Isle of Wight. Can we have the same room again please?

Many thanks

Sheila & Ian xx

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
3.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,197 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East End Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East End Arms

Address: Lymington Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: $141 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your East End Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East End Arms Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing