We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary 'no room cleaning' policy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wistaria House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wistaria House
Ranked #41 of 44 Lymington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Extraordinary 'no room cleaning' policy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here last month for the first time and the room was a good size and presented ok. However, the breakfast was basic and there were certain items which were supposed to be available which weren't - no yoghurts and no muesli, and the coffee tasted awful.

But the most surprising part of our two-night stay was that, when we returned to the room on the second day following a day trip, the room hadn't been cleaned. The used cups from the previous day hadn't been replaced, the bed hadn't been made, the milk sachets hadn't been replenished. When we asked the owner for new cups and more mik, he immediately knew what we were implying - that the room hadn't been cleaned. He told us bluntly and rudely that we shouldn't expect our room to be cleaned for 'only a two night stay' and that 'this was a B&B not a hotel'.. I couldn't quite believe what I was hearing, as we've stayed in B&Bs and guesthouses across the country for mostly two night stays and the room has always been cleaned - surely something you would expect as a bare minimum and particularly for £85 per night..?

So I would suggest that anyone considering staying here first of all checks after how many days they can expect the room to be cleaned.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We booked a couple of nights in February, very last minute. The hotel was lovely, I was actually a little worried with it also being the local Conservative Club as we are both staunch Labour voters! But we needn't have worried, we were made to feel most welcome. The room was beautiful, a few creaky floorboards but it added to the character of the old building. Our room had a TV and there was an information pack including facts about the local area, places to go and where to eat etc. The decor was lovely and the bathroom was modern, stylish and clean. Simon was a great host, very friendly and laid back. He told us to treat it as our own home. There was a good selection of breakfasts on offer; cereals, fruit and juices were laid out and there are cooked meals available. (Simon's scrambled egg on toast was to die for). All in all, a lovely, relaxing couple of days. I have already recommended Wistaria House to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixton, London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed here earlier in April 2012. It was my third visit to Wistaria House, the second one with Simon Hurley in charge. I have already reviewed Wistaria House, after each earlier visit. I just felt the need to post this third review, if only to report that Simon is firmly in charge of things and the bed and breakfast product at Wistaria House continues to be both very good and exceptional value. Simon goes to great lengths to make you feel welcome and at home. He also does all he can to offer every support and assistance if you require it. Breakfast is as good as ever (I am happy to report that the bacon was very good!) and tailored to your exact requirements, which may change from day to day. In an earlier review I suggested that fellow guests should request the room at the back because there is no traffic noise there. Having now stayed in both the front rooms (facing on to St Thomas Street) I found that the traffic all but ceases after about 2300 hours, so there is no real problem getting off to sleep. The traffic does get going by about 0730, but then so should we and Lymington traffic is hardly substantial anyway!

So visit Lymington and go and stay at Wistaria House. This establishment continues to be good news and worth our support.

Room Tip: If you are able to choose between the three rooms on offer, ask Simon for advice. Their layouts are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jcm140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Love this Place! Have stayed here now on 3 occasions, found the host Simon to be friendly helpful and attentive. The rooms are great, nice size decorated well with ensuite . Everything you need including tv and tea and coffee facilities. We would definately recommend. Although the B and B is on the high street there is hardly any traffic at night, it is a peaceful location , with a tranquil air. Love this Place!

Room Tip: all rooms are equal x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovelyflower2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Excellent host, very nice slightly quirky rooms in a central location in the nice town of Lymington, a good base for a short break to explore the New Forest.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

As others have said, this used to be a doctors' surgery. The three guest-rooms bear the names of the doctors themselves. It is now part of the Conservative Club but anyone is welcome to stay.

The rooms are quirky, with some old medical artifacts as decorations. The service is personal and Simon can be heard singing in the kitchen as he prepares breakfast.

Access to the car park is from a road at the back of the building. Our dog was made most welcome and was able to run around the football/cricket field nearby.

Lymington is not a cheap area and the room rate reflected this, however we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The McAlister Room is at the back, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mi_nombre_aqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Excellent host, very nice slightly quirky rooms in a central location in the nice town of Lymington, a good base for a short break to explore the New Forest.

I paid £65 for one of the 3 double rooms. My request for the room at the rear was met, I was worried about noise on a Saturday night (needn't have, there are no late pubs or clubs in the town). No complaints about any of the tiny issues some get annoyed about - room had everything you might require.

However! 3 things let it down for me, but they're all easily fixed! TV was too small for the size of the Rom, had to drag it closer to the bed. The mattress and pillows were not great quality. Breakfast was poor, tasteless Bacon and Frozen or catering sausages (even tho the blurb said "locally sourced"). Cheap juice, no sugar on tables, and revolting coffee (getting used to that in Britain!).

Sort these out and you have a b&b that could easily justify £75+

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCimino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lymington hotels
0.4 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Britannia House
Britannia House
#3 of 44 in Lymington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harford B & B
Harford B & B
#20 of 44 in Lymington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Durlston House B&B
Durlston House B&B
#9 of 44 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inglemere
Inglemere
#2 of 3 in Hordle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wistaria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wistaria House

Property: Wistaria House
Address: 32 St. Thomas Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 9NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wistaria House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisteria House has 3 unique bedroom suites, each reflecting the period of the building. Rooms checked daily and essentials replenished, linen and towels are changed every two days. All rooms have full en-suite facilities, television/radio, coffee and tea making facilities are provided in each room. A full English cooked breakfast with cereals, toast and juices (vegetarian options possible with notice). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Wistaria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wistaria House Hotel Lymington
Wistaria House Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing