We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I only had the soup but it was delicious!”
Review of Kings Head

Kings Head
Ranked #15 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Despite dating back at least 300 years, many of the original features of The Kings Head can still be seen today.When you visit The Kings Head you will see the long-lasting beams made from Napoleonic Ships that only add to the character of this old English pub.The pretty courtyard that we see today was previously used for fish-drying, whilst the buildings adjacent to the yard were an abattoir and fishermans house.Despite these drastic changes over time, the inside of the pub has remained somewhat the same and the great open fire that cannot be missed. It is these characteristics that, when you visit, make it easy to imagine the pub back in the 18th Century as a regular haunt for the smugglers and sailors that would frequent this famous sailing town.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I only had the soup but it was delicious!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although the place is very crowded during the lunchtimes/afternoons at the weekend, the smell and look of the food is fantastic so will definitely be going back sometime. I wasn't very hungry so only had the soup but it was perfectly hot and very tasty. My friend had the roast and couldn't finish it but said it was great too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    141
    47
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The only place to go in Lymington”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This truly is the only pub to go to in Lymington. (Yes it's a pub not a restaurant like previous reviewers have expected!!) This pub is always busy and has such a fantastic atmosphere with amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Food is also amazing! When going out in Lymington we use to go different establishments such as The Ship Inn and then finish the night in The Kings Head but now we go straight to The Kings - other local pubs are not worth bothering with!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crf445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

One of the best places to eat in Lymington for good pub grub, the portion sizes are massive and there is so much choice on the menu. I always go for the halloumi in batter and chips, it is absolutely delicious! (Not the thing to eat if your on a diet though!) The atmosphere is great, nice cosy, traditional pub great place to go when it's cold outside. Will be back soon for halloumi and chips again no doubt!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sammy_ali_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic traditional English Pub!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner and I had dinner in the Kings Head this weekend as we'd seen the great reviews on here, and we definately weren't disappointed!
We'd popped in during the day to ask about reserving a table, and the helpful barmaid booked one for us (after pointing out which tables were free so we could choose our favourite).
I'm glad we'd made the reservation as the pub was really busy by 8pm, but with a great atmosphere and general hubub.
There was a good selection of ales to choose from, which pleased my partner, and the menu was great, offering traditional 'pub grub' and there was also a specials menu for the more upmarket dishes.
We had a nachos (which was honestly the most amazing nachos we'd ever had) and haddock & chips for main which was huge and delicious. The dessert menu looked nice but we did not have any room left for pud!
Overall, it was a fantastic evening, in a cosy pub that I'd recommend to anyone.
I am surprised by the 'terrible' comment left by FortPortal - if you'd wanted a table for two with tablecloths and table service, you should have gone to a restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kings Head, Lymington. Ugh!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recommended this establishment by our B&B landlady and booked a table. On arriving, it was packed, the bar staff eventually found us a table for four in the bar area, no table cloth and told to go and order our meal at the bar, as the staff were too busy. We waited and waited, unable to get to the bar as drinkers were all hogging the bar and the table was so close to the next table, it was awful. We got up and walked out and found an Indian restaurant across the road. Not what we wanted but at that time of evening, we just went for it. Due to our feedback, the landlady at our accommodation has now removed this establishment from her list of recommendations. An awful place!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FortPortal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Head also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing