We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak we've eaten in a restaurant in years.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stanwells Bistro

Stanwells Bistro
Ranked #49 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toulouse
Level Contributor
147 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best steak we've eaten in a restaurant in years.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Service and quality of the entire meal was way above normal hotel restaurant standard. Staff are wonderful and know their food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ffljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    57
    20
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Llangammarch Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked a light lunch back in October for Christmas Eve. Despite being informed at the time that our booking was the first for this date, when we arrived they acknowledged we had booked, but there wasn't a table laid for 3, either in the conservatory (which we had specifically requested) or in the restaurant. The staff seemed quite put out that they had to lay a table for 3 (in the restaurant, not the conservatory as requested) and, when we were informed that one of our choices wasn't available, they were reluctant to provide a menu in order to make a secondary choice (the impression being that they would rather we left). When the food did arrive, two of us had ordered the kedgeree, which was excellent. However, one had ordered the burger which came with bacon so salty as to be almost inedible. However, what really let this experience down was the service. The staff seemed ill at ease, untrained and uncaring (particularly when a complaint was made to the manager, who clearly couldn't have cared less). We have enjoyed morning coffee here on a regular basis but this was the first, and sadly the last, time we will eat here. I do not recommend it. The service is appalling.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I lunched here with an old business friend and had one of the best lunches I've eaten. While the menu was limited as it was a lunch menu, the food was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. I'd recommend this place to business people entertaining customers or to groups of friends wanting something special and will certainly return again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NomisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Chateaubriand steak on Saturday night was excellent, staff very attentive again (same group that run Wytes Cocktail bar down the road) very good décor and ambience in the room we ate in. Not the cheapest restaurant in town but food quality certainly worthy of cost. Will certainly be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bracknell_Taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Patient staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We called in for a drink during our stay. We sat in the small bar but it was very cosy. Whilst we were there a young man came in with friends asking for a tab.He wasn't staying there but his manner to the bar staff was rude.I am writing this because in an uncomfortable atmosphere created by this man the staff were so patient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanwells Bistro also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Stanwells Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing