We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Food / So-so Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lal Quilla Indian Restaurant

Lal Quilla Indian Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 119 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are one of the best Indian restaurants in Lymington offering the finest of Indian cuisine. We have long been serving our customers on the bustling high street of Lymington since 1987. We opened our restaurant with a genuine passion for bringing the finest tastes and flavours of the east to our wonderful neighbours of the west and we continue to uphold that passion.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent Food / So-so Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The food was good but the service was mediocre; others who arrived later were served quite a bit sooner, without explanation; we tried three times to get water; at no point did any waiter ask us if we liked the food. However, the staff were friendly - at least at first.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank erasmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    62
    23
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent curry house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

As tourists we were just passing through and had an evening meal here. The service was good but a little slow at times, but the food was very tasty and well-prepared. I think this restaurant deserves a higher placing on TA.

Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our son had previously enjoyed take-away meals from this restaurant, so four of us decided to go there for dinner.
We visited on a Monday evening, towards the end of the Holiday Season.
Service was excellent as was the quality of the food served. Dishes served were on the large side!
We were shown to a table in the window, probably to make it appear that the restaurant was busy. Just one other couple were there when we arrived.
The general manager was stationed at the bar all evening, which overlooked our table.
He did appear to be looking over us all evening, albeit in a friendly manner. It would have been nicer to have had a bit more privacy. I guess though on busier nights this situation may not have arisen. Just a small gripe really, as otherwise we had a really lovely evening.
Total bill for the evening, including four starters, main meals and side dishes, a bottle of wine and other drinks came to less than £100.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VEUVE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby
Level Contributor
179 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Attentive staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I'm maybe being a bit unfair with the average rating. There were only a few people in, being a Monday evening, but the food was hot but to be honest a bit on the bland side. Fairly expensive at £55 including drinks and coffee for two. As mentioned the staff were very good and I've no complaints. I would give it 6/10 and my colleague said 7/10 so not too bad, worth a visit if in the area as there aren't that many Bangladeshi restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bertthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad service, bad food and bad stomach!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

As there were a mixture of reviews and Rivaaz was fully booked we thought we'd give Lal Quilla a go, but wished we hadn't! Should have gone to one of the many lovely pubs, or even the chippy instead.

The service was very slow and not that friendly, the food was spicy we which like but unfortunately it was missing the flavour. The garlic naan had no garlic and was extremely dry and tasteless.

However, the worst thing was our stomach's the next day, I won'tgo into detail but I'm sure you have imagination! I've had a slightly dodgy tummy after not great curry (shouldn't get one at all from a good curry) before but this was dreadful, and painful.

I'm guessing they run their business on tourism and don't worry about repeat business, give it a miss!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lal Quilla Indian Restaurant also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Lal Quilla Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing