We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behind the Times”

Lal Quilla Indian Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are one of the best Indian restaurants in Lymington offering the finest of Indian cuisine. We have long been serving our customers on the bustling high street of Lymington since 1987. We opened our restaurant with a genuine passion for bringing the finest tastes and flavours of the east to our wonderful neighbours of the west and we continue to uphold that passion.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Behind the Times”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Having made us wait on the doorstep for 5 minutes whilst a waiter cleaned the windows after "opening time" we were eventually allowed in. Food on offer included Prawn Cocktail or Melon; hold on I thought this`was Asian. Nothing we ate was bad, but non was of a standard one would expect of a modern Bangladeshi restaurant. Little flavour, even less spice. Service old fashioned........more used to serving 6 pints of Cobra and the all you can eat buffet. Shame.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GJholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    67
    23
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ruby!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having been disappointed with the food available at our nearby hotel (Angel & Blue Pig), we ventured out for a curry.

It was a Sunday night with an all you can eat buffet, which was clearly popular with the many hungry leisure sailors who had docked in Lymington. My wife talked me out of filling my boots so a la carte it was...

The menu was extensive, and had all of our usual choices available plus a few others.

Service was excellent despite it being a fairly busy evening, but not intrusive. Staff were very friendly and the manager (owner?) made a point of coming over to say hello and to ensure everything was to our liking.

Having ordered poppadoms, starters, rice and naan, we weren't able to do justice to our mains, but they were very tasty and would certainly have warranted doggy bags if we hadn't been spending the next few nights in hotels. That said, I would have taken a doggy bag if I'd known then that our following night's hotel didn't do food on a Monday (The Inn at Cranborne)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyBodyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent buffet”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just happened to be passing through Lymington and randomly decided to try Lal Quilla. It just happened to be a Wednesday evening, and we discovered that this was their "eat-as-much-as-you-like" buffet night. This buffet concept is not usually our preference, but the dishes on offer looked tempting, and turned out to be excellent. And extremely well-priced!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Angleterre
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing special”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited this restaurant to try their evening buffet.
On arrival at 6pm we were told that the buffet would not be ready for another 20 minutes - we were offered the customary poppadoms, but declined.
The buffet selection was reasonable and fairly priced at £11.50 per person.
They had no draught lager available so we both ordered large bottles of cobra - this was expensive at £5 per bottle ! ( My local Indian charges £4 ).
Would we return if in the area ? - Probably not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thefrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SIMPLY SUPERB!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lal Quilla has the most friendly and smiley staff I've had the pleasure to come across in a restaurant. Always happy to suggest a different dish and provide insight.

Ask for Ahmed for a truly unique style of service. He is pure class and guaranteed to make you laugh.

I love the food here. There's always plenty to eat and it all tastes great, whatever the choice. Try to get a booth table for extra seclusion and you even get your own dimmer switch for your lighting!

I'd highly recommend this establishment to anyone who loves quality food and attentive service. Ignore any of the negative comments on here, I don't know what they are talking about. Either highly fussy people or they have sensitive stomachs. I've NEVER had any negative reactions to their food.

Lal Quila is simply superb!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lal Quilla Indian Restaurant also viewed

Eastleigh, Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Lal Quilla Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing