We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Disappointment”
Review of The Bosun's Chair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bosun's Chair
Ranked #13 of 41 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

There was no heating in the room which my wife found unacceptable.
There was a fault on the shower in the room which caused the temperature to oscillated between freezing and scalding, you could not safely use it.
There was water damage to the ceiling that had not been repaired.
The bed was uncomfortable and we had a very poor night sleep.
Even though we had a top floor room the noise of voices in the street was very evident until about 1:00 am.

Trying to end on a positive note - the breakfast was great.

Overall disappointing
Dave M

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank X8892VNdavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 156 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Bosuns Chair last weekend, after booking a day's sailing with Escape Yachting.
It was also our anniversary. Russell and his family could not have made our stay more welcome or special. It was all the little things done really well that made it so memorable (remembering our names and occasion, smiling, being happy to help in any way possible, having the personal touch of their daughter dressing the room with a bowl of M&M's!).
Lovely atmosphere, spotlessly clean and really good value.
Brilliant location if you are arriving by train, too. Space outside for bikes or if you are driving, loads of car park space, free of charge.

I couldn't rate Bosun's Chair highly enough, thank you Russell and we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

nipped into this place as we had missed the last train to the pier and needed a cab had a drink and got talking to the landlord he was a realy nice bloke sorted out a taxi for us .we returned the next day and sat in the beer garden and as a chef had to try the new fish pie as it was in crust it was brillant as was the young girl that served us .me and the wife have decided we will stay over one night when we get another break ,as we to run a busy pub in winchester we were both happy for his hands on attitude like ourselfs we will send him anyoneof our many tourist who are heading his way with confidance

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davec507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I'm not a fussy traveller but room 5 was the size of a cupboard and very stuffy without any air conditioning. The floors were extremely creaky and in desparate need of some diy repair. I couldn't use the shower as it was only one temperature. Boiling hot. I had to leave early to meet my colleagues and so had to miss breakfast as the inflexible chief apparently didn't start until 8am on a Saturday. Wouldn't stay again if anywhere else had a room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilburlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you are looking very a clean well run bed and breakfast in Dorset then I can recommend this lovely pub. Set just off the high street it is very convenient for a stop in Lymington. The pub has a car park and a lovely beer garden and it was just a shame that the weather was not good enough to enjoy it. It is a minute walk to the high st and there are numerous The room that we stayed in was small but very clean and comfortable . It had an en suite and tea and coffee facilities . The pub did offer food but they specialised in pies which looked delicious but we didnt try them . Breakfast was served in the bar downstairs and was freshly cooked to order . All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly I would definatley consider a return visit .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diwinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The bosuns chair was set in an excellent location near to the town centre and had free parking.
This was a 1 night stop for ourselves as traveling to the isle of wight (ferry terminal across the road) .
The room was excellent and very clean and also the bathroom was spotless.
The bed was very comfortable and little shampoo's and soaps available with tea and coffee facilites available , nice views out of window and quiet at night .
The gardens were lovely to sit out in of an evening and beer and drinks are kept well.
Only down side was the pub area,clean but vey bland in decor.
Breakfast was good served with tea and coffee and toast .
About £80 per night inc breakfast for 2 .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deano1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed with a group of friends attending a Silver Wedding party over a weekend. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The rooms are ok but furniture could do with an update and more interesting decor. However it was pleasant enough and the cooked breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newhaven191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,629 reviews
2.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
522 reviews
2.0 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bosun's Chair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bosun's Chair

Address: Station Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 3BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bosun's Chair 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bosun's Chair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bosun`s Chair Hotel Lymington
The Bosun's Chair Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing