We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel with freindly staff and superb spa.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel with freindly staff and superb spa.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Middle of a golfing trip and we wanted somewhere central.
This was a find. £100 for a twin room including breakfast. Plenty of parking and right on the sea road.
On arrival the staff were helpful and pointed us in the right direction for the local bars and an Indian meal.
Rooms were spacious and very well appointed even including a Nespresso machine that was very welcome first thing the next morning.
Went early to use the Spa and even there after a swim and steam you could help yourself to a Nespresso.
Now onto the breakfast. One of the best we have had anywhere in the world!
Fine choices of local produce and probably one of the best bacon sandwiches ever.
Please keep it up as this place deserves to do well and we will all be staying here again in the future.
Congratulations on proving that top notch service and accommodation doesn't have to cost a kings ransom!

Room Tip: Couldn't fault this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Richard S

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent visit.

I’m glad you appreciated the free parking here at The Grand we have plenty of spaces, enough spaces for each room, an understated extra, especially when it comes to the high summer season.

Were also delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast selection, we work hard on improving the selection we have on offer whilst emphasising on a more health approach.

Overall I’m delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again whilst playing golf on our great “Golf Coast"

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    254
    77
    25
    6
See reviews for
295
646
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at a very special hotel. A Wonderful Welcome from reception staff. We had a snack in the grand cafe at lunch all staff again very friendly and professional. The food we tried, leek and potato soup and fish finger sandwich and two lattes what a delight. .Our room was spacious and very quiet just what we requested when we booked. We had two fabulous evening meals in the cafe grand which were excellent .The breakfast was continental lots of choice of fresh fruits and toast and pastries but not a problem because you can order bacon and eggs and all cooked fresh to order. We can not wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Shelia S

I’m delighted that you were well looked after during your recent visit in our “Very Gand and Special Hotel”, the team work hard on trying to deliver good service and will appreciate your comments,thank you.

Thank you for posting a five star review and we al hope you return and visit again soon.

kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ten people, seven adults and three children all loved our time at the Grand. We stayed for two nights to celebrate a special birthday. Our welcome at Reception and the friendly efficient service from everyone - restaurant staff, bar staff and housekeeping was exceptional. The rooms were delightful and all had seaviews as requested. Everyone was keen to make sure our stay was a happy one.
The children loved the pool and again were greeted warmly by the man on duty.
Breakfast was enjoyed by all, as we as a family particularly love the continental style with numerous choices of fruits, yogurts, croissants etc. We also ate one lunch and one dinner in the hotel. Great food but this was our only criticism - there was no children's menu and the food that appealed to youngsters was minimal. Consequently we ate our second lunch and dinner at other venues.
However I would not hesitate to recommend the Grand and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are excellent and the family room comprised two rooms and a very large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twopats064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear twopats064

Thank you for bringing your family to the hotel, I’m delighted you all had an enjoyable time and were well looked after by the team.

I pleased you found the breakfast selection and Cafe Grand good quality.
Regarding the children's meals, in future we can always do a half portion of a main meal or create something special if required.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

A note to future guests “Sea view rooms can be viewed and booked direct online”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a weekend at Blackpool in June with 2 young children and some friends. We stayed in the Grand 22 anex. The rooms we good, could have have been a little cleaner but that's being picky, large and well equipped. The hotel itself was lovely as was the service and helpful staff. The only negative was breakfast, the hot service was very limited, just bacon and scrambled eggs, and a little chaotic going up to get some with no real queue system, I would expect a little more for a hotel of this calibre. Never the less would not hesitate to stay there against, highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Moc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Moc1970

Thank you for your review, I will ensure housekeeping are aware of your comments.

We do only provide a continental breakfast, the healthy modern approach!
However we have recently introduce the grilled bacon and scrambled eggs as an added value.

This addition has been well received, especially as the chef cooks everything fresh to order, however it can get busy at times, all you need to do is take a seat and we will bring it over to your table.

Thank you for recommending us and we all hope to see you and your family at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed at this lovely hotel on lots of occasions, the staff here are excellent they go
above and beyond for you, we ejoyed a very good lunch, the Restaurant team are lovely people
and nothing is any problem for them. Dinner in the evening was fantastic and we all enjoyed our stay very much, thanks to Jenny for all of her kindness and Ahmed for such great service as per normal, the young blonde man who cooked our breakfast was very polite and asked if eveything was ok, we look forward to our next stay. We highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: we like 111, 303, 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Gillian S

I’m please to hear you had yet another “lovely stay with friends”.


I would especially like to thank you for singling individual team member for praise, it certainly gives them a boost when they read the comments.

However yet again all the chefs are claiming to be blonde haired, does anybody know this elusive chef, I have my thoughts but does anybody know his name? A bottle of prosecco to anybody who finds out!

Thank you for your review and recommending us to others, it is much appreciated.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Chose to stay here to go to Mamma Mia in Blackpool. Excellent room, quiet despite functions on both Friday and Saturday nights. Cannot see why they cannot do sausage as an option to bacon at breakfast. Ate in restaurant on Saturday - food was fine but service indifferent. Good location for stroll along the promenade and to walk into town

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Derek G

Thank you for your recent visit, I hope you enjoyed Mamma Mia, I think it has been a smash hit for the Blackpool Opera house.

Taking a retrospective view on our decision on why we prefer bacon to sausage it is simply because it cooks quicker, so we can sever faster, and tastes nicer with scrambled eggs and toast!

Thank you for the review and we hope to be able to look after you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes.
Really splendid hotel, very modern and clean.

Bedroom excellent, breakfast ad dinner food excellent.

The hotel is in a good position right on the South Promenade a couple of minutes walk to the sea.

Room Tip: We had room number 1 on the ground floor with easy access to the Spa and into the Lounge and dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skitt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Skitt3

Thank you for taking time to post a “Splendido” review regarding your recent visit.

All the team are delighted that the food, service and bedroom facility was to your expectations and hope you return to visit again in the near future.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing