We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As far as value for money goes Twentytwo is just Grand”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“As far as value for money goes Twentytwo is just Grand”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Grand has an apparently little known annexe called Twentytwo just 2 doors away from the main hotel. The building comprises of just 22 (hence the name) recently refurbished rooms that are spacious, well equipped and very contemporary each with a large ensuite shower room and best of all a bargain at just £70 for bed and breakfast (Feb 2014). This annexe does not have a reception or dining room but guests use the main hotel facilities and plenty of parking at the front makes it ideal for a car traveller.

The only drawback I have found is drinks and food can not be charged to the room so if you are using the restaurant or bar in the main hotel don't forget your credit card. And speaking of the restaurant, the Grand Café seems to have the monopoly on eating out in St Anne's; even on a wind-swept Thursday night in February the joint was jumping and the atmosphere was buzzing. The tapas style menu seems somewhat incongruous in this grand old dame of a seafront hotel but the cooking is spot on and the service is great; but like all small plate establishment the final bill can come as quite a shock as it is easy to run up a significant spend without realising it.

A simple but very effective breakfast completes the offer there's a plentiful cold selection of all the usual suspects and it's accompanied by a hot option of scrambled eggs and bacon cooked to order by the chefs in the open theatre style kitchen. A great alternative to the usual unappetising hot buffet offered by so many hotels .

Oh and in case you are feeling in need of exercise or pampering there's also a spa tucked away at the back of the hotel.

All in all a great value for money option on the Lancashire coast

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with massive terraces overlooking the beach - you pay a premium but well woth it f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themaninroom999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear the maninroom999

Thank you for your review and especially for highlighting the good food and service Cafe Grand.
Yes we are very busy, so to to get your preferred time I would always recommend future guests book their table online prior to their stay.

We are looking into the possibility of being able to transfer Cafe Grand bills to your room whilst staying in Grand Twentytwo, this will incorporate a pre authorisation onto a credit card during the checkin procedure, we should have this up and running for March this year.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    256
    77
    25
    6
See reviews for
299
653
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

There is no doubt that the Grand is a nice 4 star hotel, We have been before and the rooms are really good, however despite all of the Glowing reports from other guests they can certainly improve on many aspects, ie Our room had a Nespresso Coffee machine and thats it, we made an enquiry with reception only to be informed "We don't do Tea or provide any facilities in the rooms"
Tea is our national drink we said, well if if you want some you will have to pay came the reply.
No instructions as to the nespresso worked, or the TV which would never have worked until
after more "Discussions" with reception , they sent up Will a charming young man , he fixed the TV - - the Aerial lead was unplugged, he also gave us a way of using the hot water in the coffee machine and then asking for a T Bag in the restaurant. all of this to make a cup of Tea So not very impressed with all this to say the least....We decided to use the swimming pool and Sauna, the pool was the coldest ever we have experienced, just us and another couple in attendance who are members of the health club who also agreed that it was indeed very cool , as was the Sauna, a complete waste of time they are supposed to be hot and not cool ,almost not on at all we would say.. The hot tub was fine so at least something was nice and warm....So let's move on now to the meal all part of the Valentines Pkg, the starters were great, my main course called blade steak, which was really another name for braised steak, was a disaster, said steak contained a rather large lump of fatty Grizzle, Yuk, made a complaint to the nice lady restaurant manager who replaced it immediately with the Sea Bass which was excellent..... The breakfast in the morning contained a good range of cereal and fruit however the hot food was a choice of Scrambled Egg and Bacon or Bacon and Scrambled Egg. this lack of choice is all down to their new hotel Grand 22 just alongside who have no Chef/restaurant etc and share the main Hotel ie they cannot cope with the numbers so the answer is to restrict the choice, again not very impressed...Feeling very disappointed with our not so Grand experience I had "Strong" words with the Hotel Manger Derek who took all my concerns on board , admitted that the rooms should really have a booklet of Instructions, isn't
that normal, he had no answer about no tea facilities, nor the poor meal or the cold pool.
He remained pretty "Statuesque" and somewhat disinterested throughout our discussion, and if he did have any genuine concern over my complaints/issues he certainly didn't show it and proceeded to ignore me for the rest of the night and also throughout the weekend, this I found strange to say the least.
We have traveled the length and breadth of this country and visited over 40 countries worldwide and have never ever had to make a formal complaint to the Hotel manager especially
a 4 star so called "Grand" hotel.

Room Tip: Dont go sea facing when there is a storm about
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORMYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear ORMYBOY

Thank you for the review, after you had mentioned to me that you were writing it whilst you were in residence I had expected a touch worse!

I spoke to the chef regarding your steak as it had been discarded before I could inspect it, having served 49 of the same dish that night with numerous glowing reports and only your complaint I have to deduce that it was just unfortunate luck that yours was the only unsatisfactory one, however I’m pleased that Isabella replaced it immediately with a delicious Sea Bass dish.

Regarding breakfast, we have been offering continental breakfast for approximately seven years, rather than reducing this, as you mentioned, we have intact increased the offering by including grilled bacon and scrambled eggs, freshly cooked to order by the chef, delicious!

Our swimming pool is set at 28 degrees, ideal for swimming. 
The saunarium, not sauna, is set at 55 degrees and 70% humidity which are the recommended settings provided by manufacturer for the purpose of relaxation.

I would have reiterated the issue regarding tea in bedrooms however as you had already mentioned it to reception and other managers on numerous occasions so I assumed you had had enough explanation, I do apologise.

Maybe my statuesque approach was a reaction to when a customer complains they point out they will be writing a review on “so called website”.

I feel this is an effort to try and intimidate, almost blackmail an establishment into giving a refund or something similar, this is the wrong way to complain!


Further to this you then constantly proceed to point your above issues out to fellow residents one of which approached me to pay your bill and ask me to ask you to check out, maybe I wasn’t the only one avoiding you during the weekend!


I would like to thank you for the visit, however going forward it does seem we are not the hotel for you and hope you find a venue to suit your requirements for future breaks.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again. Like most other people we would have liked tea-making facilities in the room. We thought that the restaurant tables should have table mats or clothes as plates slide on the smooth surfaces. Plates for meals with larger quantities of food should be larger. We found that slamming bedroom doors was a problem and they should be fitted with slow release mechanisms. The food was great and so were the staff. Even with my comments we still feel this is the best hotel in the Blackpool / Lytham area. Thank you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank IMAK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear IMAK1000

We have now introduced Nespresso Zenius coffee machines in our Twentytwo Signature+ rooms. These machines vend hot water separate from the coffee vend which gives a fantastic cup of tea, we are also using premium Jing tea throughout the hotel, a first for the Fylde!

All our bedroom doors are fitted with top of the range Perko automatic soft close hinges, with constant use they occasionally need tightening up, I will ensure maintenance address this issue.

Thank you for still recommending us as the top hotel in the area, I can assure you we will constantly strive to improve our services to give you the best experience possible.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

we had a very relaxing stay over the christmas period, the staff were all excellent and helpful and couldn,t do enough for you, the room we stayed in had a lovely comfy bed and side sea view and was very clean and welcoming, the breakfast was very good too (loved the homemade muesli) , the swimming pool was also top class and the changing rooms very clean and the staff in there were very pleasant, overall a lovely experience and at last somewhere nice to stay in blackpool/st annes and we will be returning soon

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieheptinstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear julieheptinstall,

Thank you for taking time to post a review, I can’t believe we are still receiving great reviews from Christmas, we must have made an impact!

Therefore I would like to take this opportunity to inform all potential guests that next Christmas and New Year rates are available to book now, these breaks will be fully booked so you you have been warned!

However I do hope we see you again well before then, so take a look online we have some fabulous offers available on our website to tempt you back sooner!

Kind Regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed for a two night short break in one of the Signature rooms - wow what a fantastic room overlooking the sea front what a quad aspect window with breathtaking views of the coast. This was our second trip to this hotel and we will definitely be back again later this year. Restaurant serves excellent food if a little on the pricey side but quality of meal and breakfast cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: Room 217 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanp2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Alanp2608

Thank you for visiting The Grand and taking time to post a review, it is much appreciated.

The Signature rooms are fantastic, i’m confident they are the best on the Fylde coast.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your visit and will look forward to your return later in the year.

Kind regards,

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

As independent hotels go this place is great. Lovely staff who are a pleasure to deal with whether at reception or in the bar. Rooms are very sumptuous and well appointed with Dolce Dusto machines in each room for coffee on tap. Showers are strong and powerful with a wet room feel to them.

Breakfasts are great and they even offered me an iPad to read the morning news on when I enquired what newspapers they had. A much better option!

The only tip is go for a slightly upgraded room if you can having stayed here many times. The very cheapest rooms are a bit cramped.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear KirbyTraveller

Thank you for taking to post a review, your feedback is much appreciated!
I’m delighted that you noticed the small touches we have introduced, ipads for newspapers, Nespresso machines in rooms.

Please tell your colleagues about us and we hope to see you again when you are next on business in the area.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent a wonderful weekend at The Grand where I got engaged. The staff were absolutely fantastic and really looked after us. My fiancé had contacted them before to let them know what he had planned and they helped with the surprise. It is very rare that you get quality and personal service these days but The Grand delivered. The room was beautiful, the staff attentive and the food delicious. I will definitely be returning and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Niknaknoo_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member

Congratulations to you both on your engagement.
I’m delighted your fiancé chose the Grand to pop the question, maybe you will decide to hold your wedding here, we’d be delighted to assist!

Best wishes to you both for a long, prosperous and happy future.

Regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing