We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our little haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our little haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our second stay at The Grand. Absolutely fantastic. Stayed in room 110 and 'wow factor' doesn't even come close. The size of this room was unbelievable !! Absolute luxury !! The food was amazing yet again, and to be offered complimentary lunch on one of the days with mulled wine was fantastic...what a lovely touch! The Grand Hotel...you never cease to amaze us !! 12/10 !!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear carldon,

We’re all delighted that you enjoyed your stay, maybe you will leant to try a Twentytwo Signature+ room next time, they are just as amazing!

Imagine in summer, chilling out with a glass of wine whilst soaking up the sun on the big balconies, amazing!
Get it booked now, there are only two!

Hope to see you in summer.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    254
    78
    25
    6
See reviews for
295
648
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Went with works do, good table lay out , excellent goodies on table, goos was superb and staff really friendly, good music , good facility's , food was really really good would eat there again and was really pleased.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Debbie S

We're delighted you had a great party, you work hard all year and thoroughly deserve it!
Did you take a look at the photographs from the event, we posted all the party night pictures to our Facebook events page, take a look and see if you can spot yourself.

Hope to see you next year.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Plus points.
- nice position with estuary views and close to local shops & restaurants
- stylish modern makeover/ decor - has a touch of the Malmaison / HdVs about it, with dark colours and dark modern furniture
- really spacious rooms, with huge well equipped bathrooms
- nice touches in the rooms, such as Molton Brown, lots of towels
- lovely swimming pool
- friendly staff
Minus points:
- staff are not well trained, they are trying to do a good job in a friendly way, but not proper professionals, so service very variable
- breakfast - didn't like having to queue for something cooked, though it was good that it was cooked to order. I'd prefer a traditional table service.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBristolJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear The BristolJohns

Thank you for posting your recent review, it is much appreciated!

Regarding the staff training, we’ll do our best to improve but we will definitely not want to lose the friendly and personal touch that most our reviewers comment on. You tend to find that when you go over the top on professionalism, as some establishment do, that you lose that soft approach that we are renowned for.
That’s not a criticism of your review, just a personal observation from my experiences!

Once again thank you for the review and we hope to be able to look after you in 2014

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've never written a review for a hotel Christmas party night but felt this one was so good it deserved a mention. We arrived in gale force winds and virtually blew our way across to Grand 22. Our room was a decent size with all new furnishings, and a huge walk-in shower and his n her sinks. Mini bar was stocked with coke and water (incl sparkling) and also milk for the coffee machine. We also had an iron & ironing board and a safe in the wardrobe. Despite the wind we had an excellent nights sleep - the bed was so comfy and the room was a nice temperature - not too hot like in some hotels.

We were also offered a lift over to the main building for the 'do' as they were providing a shuttle service as the weather was so bad, which we gratefuly accepted!

The Christmas party night was excellent - the food was probably the best I've had when catering for so many people. All the staff were extremely friendly despite being so busy.

We all enjoyed our stay so much we're hoping to book again for next December (just lets hope the weather is kinder to us next time!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConcernedCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Concerned Cheshire

I’m pleased you enjoyed your party night at The Grand and overnight stay in Grand Twentytwo.

Thank you for posting your review, the Events team do pride themselves on being the best venue in the area and thoroughly deserve the praise!
If you would like to book for Christmas 2014 please contact either Caroline or Hannah at the hotel and they will be able to pencil you in.

Hope to see you next year.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The last time we stayed at The Grand, we had a most amazing time. Our room, 213, was so comfortable that we had to tear ourselves away to use the pool and dine. For a silver wedding treat, it had to be either The Grand or Stirk House. The Grand won because of its location near the sea. I booked a Sunday sleepover and immediately emailed the hotel to make sure that our room had a sea view. We wanted to try to recreate our previous experience. Not receiving an acknowledgement however, I then used the online contact form to make the same request. By the time of our arrival I still had not received a response. I was surprised by this, as the staff have previously been so attentive and efficient.

On checking in, I asked if we had been allocated a sea view and was told that our room was on the side. I explained that I had emailed twice (I had a copy of my email,) and, as this was a very special occasion for us, would it be possible to change room? The receptionist explained that there had been changes to the booking system and that some of the personal touch had fallen victim to this. She did change our room to 214, so we had a lovely comfy room overlooking the sea and gardens at the front. It seemed perfect until night time, when a noise similar to a continuous extraction system right by the headboard made it impossible to get a decent night's sleep. The noise seemed to come from next door, so it was impossible to eliminate. It was such a shame.

Other than that, we enjoyed a dip in the pool, dinner and our breakfast the next morning. What a great idea to offer scrambled egg and bacon to order. The chef was extremely courteous and he certainly cooked up the best we have ever tasted. Fabulous!

I know that returning to somewhere that has been perfect can sometimes result in disappointment and this was the case for us on this occasion. Will it prevent us from returning? Certainly not. We love the location of the Grand. The facilities are very good and the breakfast was fantastic, especially now that there is a cooked option. The new website clearly informs guests that "we're listening," but from a customer's perspective, I would like to think that would convert into a response!!! Only 4 stars this time therefore.

Room Tip: 214 has a fantastic outlook over the gardens and sea, but we were troubled by a noise at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Planeteer

Thank you for the feedback from your recent visit.
I agree we have had a lack of communication recently, this has been down to our new software system that we have installed. We have since rectified the issue and all guests booking online will receive a confirmation.

Ultimately this new software will work better for us by giving us the tool to provide better customer service, we are the first hotel in the UK to use this software which has resulted in use having to constantly develop bug fixes.

What we will try to achieve is a seamless checkin whereas the customer can be taken directly to the room, no need to wait at reception, checked in on a iPad in your room, including signing your registration card and be able to check out anywhere in the hotel, foyer, restaurant or reception by the same method. The final invoice can then be emailed directly back to the customer saving on time, printing and filing of paper! a bit like the Apple store!

I hope I have explained to yourself and other guests what we are trying to accomplish and ask you all to bear with us whilst we fine tune the operation, we will then have another first and a much improved customer experience.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were delighted with our stay at the Grand. Extremely comfortable room, excellent breakfast and Dinner, and great location. Service was exceptional from all staff.
Spa facilities were the best we have experienced.

Room Tip: The area is quiet so no problems with noise. If you can stretch to the rooms with sea view, these ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Brian M

I’m delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with here at the Grand.
It’s nice to read your comments about the staff, especially at this time of year when we are extremely busy, it’s all hands to the pump and it’s nice to know the team are doing well.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The reception staff are very good, as are the management team, together with the catering and waiting on girls and boys. Popular for overnight stays, long weekends or indeed an evening function either formal or informal. Suitable for an intimate meal for partners or friends. I have been involved in all of the above and I would recommend a Christmas party night. I am due to attend a party night next month and Caroline the manager is very organised.

Room Tip: Any over looking the sea are most suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Blackpool.

It’s nice to see you have used the picture in front of our christmas tree as you main photo.
Thank you for your review and especially for pointing out the variety of services we have to offer, it is much appreciated.
We all will look forward to seeing you at your Christmas party.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing