We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and comfortable hotel”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were delighted with our stay at the Grand. Extremely comfortable room, excellent breakfast and Dinner, and great location. Service was exceptional from all staff.
Spa facilities were the best we have experienced.

Room Tip: The area is quiet so no problems with noise. If you can stretch to the rooms with sea view, these ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Brian M

I’m delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with here at the Grand.
It’s nice to read your comments about the staff, especially at this time of year when we are extremely busy, it’s all hands to the pump and it’s nice to know the team are doing well.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

The reception staff are very good, as are the management team, together with the catering and waiting on girls and boys. Popular for overnight stays, long weekends or indeed an evening function either formal or informal. Suitable for an intimate meal for partners or friends. I have been involved in all of the above and I would recommend a Christmas party night. I am due to attend a party night next month and Caroline the manager is very organised.

Room Tip: Any over looking the sea are most suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Blackpool.

It’s nice to see you have used the picture in front of our christmas tree as you main photo.
Thank you for your review and especially for pointing out the variety of services we have to offer, it is much appreciated.
We all will look forward to seeing you at your Christmas party.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Spent two nights here, had a lovely family suite, which I would probably say needed a little tlc, but the pool and communal facilities are all excellent, service in the cafe grand was faultless - will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supersonicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear supersonic girl

Thank you for your recent visit and taking time to post a review, thank you!

Just to inform future guests our family rooms are called “Studio” rooms.
We have these available in the main building and in Grand TwentyTwo.
Studio rooms can hold up to 2 adults and 2 children and are always available to book online.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A friend of ours reccomended the hotel so we thought we would give it a try. The receptionist was really helpful and actually walked us to the lift ( first time ever) , we had Sunday lunch in the Cafe Grand, it was beautiful and we have said we will be back again even if it's just to eat. The bar which is in the Cafe is nice too , we had drinks after the meal and when we got back to the hotel later in the evening . The room we had on the 3rd floor had everything you would expect in a 4 star room , we were tempted to book in for an extra night , maybe next time:)
Look forward to our next visit , we will definitely use the Spar then !
Steve & Carol

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icecreamste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Icecreamste

Thank you for your review, I’m pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Don’t forget to take a look at our website there are some great deals on the offers page, we may be able to tempt you back sooner than you think.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We booked a last minute one night booking to see the illuminations last month, having selected the hotel from the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We stayed in the new building which is a short walk away from the Grand Hotel. The room was very modern and well equipped. Unfortunately it was clear to see that the toilet had not been cleaned from the previous guest(s). We reported this to the reception staff who arranged for a gentleman to come and clean it approximately 45 minutes later.

Breakfast the following morning was very poorly organised with guests having to queue for hot and cold items in a very small area. Whilst we are happy to wait our turn, it transpired that the queuing and ordering system for hot items needed addressing as having placed our order and waited for approx. 10 minutes, we were informed that another guest must have taken our breakfasts and we had to re-order!

Perhaps we were just unlucky on our visit given the number of excellent reviews. All in all we left feeling rather disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulip21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Tulip21

I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with your overnight stay.
The day in question was the first weekend we introduced the added extra of grilled bacon and scrambled eggs onto our continental breakfast selection.

We did experience problems with the demand on this occasion and I admit we did struggle.
However, it was our first attempt, we learned from the experience and have resolved the issues.

I am now confident breakfast now runs smoothly, with the added extra cooked items!

Again I am sorry you were disappointed, I do hope you will give us another chance when you next visit the area, I’m sure as the many other reviewers will testify you will be more than pleased.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed on two separate occasions in the new Twenty Two building (couldn't review after the first stay as it was too soon after a previous review of the main Grand).

The new rooms are superb. The Signature Plus junior suite style room (rather brave to go with yellow for the signature colour!) featured a stand alone bath with a large flatscreen TV to watch while you soak, plus a huge shower and bed. All spotlessly clean (I think I was about the second guest in this room which will have helped!) Ginormous balcony too. Could do with some furniture out there for the summer but I'm sure that will have been on its way or even there in place by now. Surely one of the best hotel rooms in the area.

Second stay I had a Club+ room. Good size for the room type, very well fitted out. Large walk in shower, Nespresso machine (I didn't use this but good to know it's there) plus complimentary mineral water or cola. Bed was very comfortable but there was a gap of maybe as much as 1cm at the bottom of the door which meant too much corridor noise. If anyone walked along the corridor and was talking, it sounded like they were in the room. Knowing the way the management are here, they will take that on board and look into it asap though and solve things if it isn't only me who notices it.

Had a lovely swim in the pool - as ever it was spotlessly clean, relatively quiet and I like the individual changing 'suites' with your own shower. I am very, very fussy about cleanliness and never have any issues with the pool/ changing facilities here. t

Staff super as ever. Breakfast fab too: really good selection and quality.

Well done The Grand team and also thank you for being understanding about cancellations (in the event happily I didn't have to cancel but it was reassuring to know the option was there).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exlythamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear exlythamgirl

Thank you for yet another visit to the Hotel, I’m pleased you enjoyed the facilities at Grand TwentyTwo and took the time to write a review.

Regarding the two items that have pointed out.
Firstly, yes we will have furniture out on the balconies, but not until spring when the better weather arrives.
Secondly, we are looking into the door, floor issue on that particular room.
It is quite unique in how the floor slopes that causes this gap, I’m feeling that the only resolution will be a fluffy sausage dog!

Once again thank you for your visit and we hope to be able to look after you again soon.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We chose to stay here after reading the excellent reviews on here - and we were not disappointed. We chose to stay in the 22 annexe where we had an excellent room with large very comfortable bed. Only 50 yards away but still a long way in a strong wind ! The only minor fault was that none of the range of varieties on the coffee making machine was to our liking.
We ate in on one evening and had a really superb meal. The food and quality of service in the restaurant could not be faulted.
Overall the staff were excellent and clearly very well trained.
Would recommend the Grand in St Annes to anyone staying in the Blackpool area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller-on-Tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Traveller-on-tyne

Thank you for your recent visit to “Grand TwentyTwo” and taking time to post
a review on Tripadvisor.
I’m pleased you enjoyed stay, dining in Cafe Grand and that our team did a great job in looking after you.
Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#9 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
477 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: $108 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing