We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand and always improving”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grand and always improving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed on two separate occasions in the new Twenty Two building (couldn't review after the first stay as it was too soon after a previous review of the main Grand).

The new rooms are superb. The Signature Plus junior suite style room (rather brave to go with yellow for the signature colour!) featured a stand alone bath with a large flatscreen TV to watch while you soak, plus a huge shower and bed. All spotlessly clean (I think I was about the second guest in this room which will have helped!) Ginormous balcony too. Could do with some furniture out there for the summer but I'm sure that will have been on its way or even there in place by now. Surely one of the best hotel rooms in the area.

Second stay I had a Club+ room. Good size for the room type, very well fitted out. Large walk in shower, Nespresso machine (I didn't use this but good to know it's there) plus complimentary mineral water or cola. Bed was very comfortable but there was a gap of maybe as much as 1cm at the bottom of the door which meant too much corridor noise. If anyone walked along the corridor and was talking, it sounded like they were in the room. Knowing the way the management are here, they will take that on board and look into it asap though and solve things if it isn't only me who notices it.

Had a lovely swim in the pool - as ever it was spotlessly clean, relatively quiet and I like the individual changing 'suites' with your own shower. I am very, very fussy about cleanliness and never have any issues with the pool/ changing facilities here. t

Staff super as ever. Breakfast fab too: really good selection and quality.

Well done The Grand team and also thank you for being understanding about cancellations (in the event happily I didn't have to cancel but it was reassuring to know the option was there).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exlythamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear exlythamgirl

Thank you for yet another visit to the Hotel, I’m pleased you enjoyed the facilities at Grand TwentyTwo and took the time to write a review.

Regarding the two items that have pointed out.
Firstly, yes we will have furniture out on the balconies, but not until spring when the better weather arrives.
Secondly, we are looking into the door, floor issue on that particular room.
It is quite unique in how the floor slopes that causes this gap, I’m feeling that the only resolution will be a fluffy sausage dog!

Once again thank you for your visit and we hope to be able to look after you again soon.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    254
    78
    25
    6
See reviews for
295
648
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We chose to stay here after reading the excellent reviews on here - and we were not disappointed. We chose to stay in the 22 annexe where we had an excellent room with large very comfortable bed. Only 50 yards away but still a long way in a strong wind ! The only minor fault was that none of the range of varieties on the coffee making machine was to our liking.
We ate in on one evening and had a really superb meal. The food and quality of service in the restaurant could not be faulted.
Overall the staff were excellent and clearly very well trained.
Would recommend the Grand in St Annes to anyone staying in the Blackpool area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-on-Tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Traveller-on-tyne

Thank you for your recent visit to “Grand TwentyTwo” and taking time to post
a review on Tripadvisor.
I’m pleased you enjoyed stay, dining in Cafe Grand and that our team did a great job in looking after you.
Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn Lancs
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

For one reason or another (although we used to be regular visitors) we haven't been for 18 months or more. So we returned this weekend on the excellent Sunday night rate. As always we had a brilliant time. The staff remembering and welcoming us back a great start. Our room was top notch. Our meal in the evening was beautiful, great service, great food and warm staff. We used the pool late Sunday afternoon and had it to ourselves. We realised how much we loved the Hotel and intend to get back to being more regular customers again.

Room Tip: To be honest we have stayed in various rooms all of a great standard (although we do like a king siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanieBlackburnLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear JeanieBlackburnLancs

Thank you for your recent visit, it was nice to see both again at the hotel.
I’m glad you enjoyed the facilities, the pool is great, especially when you get it to yourself isn’t it!

Don’t forget to take a look at our offers page on the web site, we may be able to tempt you back sooner next time.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night as we were joining friends at a retirement party nearby in Lytham and felt cheated not to have more time on our side to enjoy all the lovely surroundings, facilities of The Grand. Staff all very helpful and attentive and personal thanks to the General Manager who helped us with our booking and whose staff are a credit to him.

Booked again for April, highly recommend this hotel, clean, super rooms, great bar and dining and breakfast continental with bacon and egg, ticked all our boxes. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dartanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear dartanian.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your recent overnight visit and took time to post a review.

It’s nice to know you were well looked after by the team and we “ticked all the boxes” for your visit.

Hope you have a nice Christmas and will look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our recent visit to the Grand Hotel was a model of excellent customer service. Special mentions for (1) Tom who wanted to make sure we made it to dinner and rang to check we were ok; (2) the member of staff who personally sorted some laundry we needed urgently; (3) the night porter who told us to just ring and let them know if we would need a late breakfast. The room was lovely and the decor a very successful blend of the modern and the historic. And I still haven't mentioned an excellent and imaginative wine list, superb puddings, the best scrambled eggs (one of the easiest dishes to spoil and a mark of a good kitchen) and pretty good mains. A couple of small niggles - we asked for a particular table for dinner and it could not be guaranteed and indeed others were sitting there - we had a long wait for the wine order to be taken and the tablet order taking was slow and mistakes were made.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAH2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear PAH2008

Thank you for your recent visit and taking time to post a review, it is much appreciated.

It’s nice to hear we delivered on customer service, especially the points you have mentioned.
It’s that extra effort that makes the difference and its very much appreciated when noticed, thank you.

Cafe Grand is an all day restaurant open from 12 noon until 9.30pm for food, we will always endeavor to meet guest requirements but unfortunately this is not always possible, sorry!
A note to future guests, Cafe Grand tables are available to book online on the hotels main website.
SO why you book your room why not book your table, there is no cost to do this and as a resident you will always be guaranteed a table in the Fylde's top eatery!

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the 16th November travelling with girls aged 4 & 7 we stayed in room 4. We found all staff very helpful leisure facilities were great. Hotel immaculate throughout. Our room was well appointed and plenty of space. A coffee machine is provided however take your own teabags if you prefer tea as they are not provided. A continental breakfast is served on Sunday morning which you can have bacon & scrambled eggs if you wish and very good it was too. We will definitely go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Herbs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Herbs61

It’s good to hear you had a great night away with your family.

Next time you book do a search for two nights, all 2014 two nights are better value than one, especially when booked in advance.
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again next year!

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

It's all been said before so I will just confirm that this has got to be one of the best hotels we have stayed at in this country. Perfect room (117), very attractive bar and eating areas, Staff very friendly and professional. Prices very reasonable. And the surprise scrambled egg and bacon added to the buffet breakfast was a delight. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Room 117 is quiet with floor to ceiling windows, two sofas and a bath and glass enclosed shower. Won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear David L

Thank you for posting such a glowing review, “one of the best in the country” fantastic, thank you so much!

You mentioned you’d return, why not bring some friends and make it a weekend to remember, we’ll be ready!

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing