We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas great ambiance”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great tapas great ambiance”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We usually eat in lytham but on recommendation tried the Grand last night. The interior of the Resteraunt is really nice large central trendy bar,lovely lighting and nice decor. Ate tapas at nice table with leather club chairs. Food well presented and generous portions. Couldn't be faulted we tried juicy boneless chicken thighs, chilli prawns, sausage,and nice bread. Noticed other meals being served, sea bass looked amazing. Desserts looked yummy too.
We travelled quite a distance, but would return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Susan S

Thank you for your review of Cafe Grand.
A quick note to future reviewers is that we do have a separate Cafe Grand Tripadvisor page that you can post your reviews on, they will be much appreciated as we try to climb the rankings!

Thank you for your custom and we hope to see you again soon.

kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    256
    77
    25
    6
See reviews for
299
653
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Been coming to the hotel for a number of years and it just gets better, always striving to give that bit extra, you pay for what you get and if you want luxury, great service, excellent food, great atmosphere, relaxing pool and spa area, cleanliness, friendly staff, in a first class location then The Grand will take a lot of beating. Just hope it doesn't get to popular.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Gordon S

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent visit, they are much appreciated.

Please take a look at our new revamped website, there is plenty of information about GRAND twentytwo our “out house” development which opened September this year, maybe we can entice you to stay there on your next visit.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 Saturday night in August. The room was excellent - very spacious, huge bathroom and spotlessly clean.

But - as others have commented there is no kettle or tea making facilities provided. This is unacceptable to a nation of tea drinkers. Having read reviews of this hotel before we stayed, we asked about this when we checked in and were told, somewhat offhandedly, we could always order room service. Obviously this would be at a price. This must be the only hotel in the UK we have ever stayed in which does not provide this facility.

The coffee maker is all very well but only 3 capsules of coffee were provided - for 2 people? One of these was decaff so not any use to us as we both enjoy strong coffee.

Complimentary water and Coke is provided in the fridge which is a nice touch. Unfortunately, the Coke was the full sugar variety. In this day and age not a healthy option.

We did not eat dinner in the hotel but returned about 9.30pm intending to have a relaxing drink. No chance! The bar was very busy and extremely noisy. There was only one person serving and he obviously could not cope with the demand. Because it was so busy there was no way to find out what beers, lagers etc were on offer. As a result we ended up pointing at a pump and to this day we have no idea what it was. The noise from the bar and restaurant carried throughout the hotel.

Overall, this is a good hotel which could easily be an excellent one if the management chose to listen to their customers' feedback.

Room Tip: Bring your own kettle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clartodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear clartodm,

Thank you for the feedback.

Firstly may I apologize for the late response.
I have been heavily involved in opening our new hotel development GRAND twentytwo, updating hotel software, and upgrading our website, something had to be put on the back burner and unfortunately tit was trip advisor responses!

I can assure you we do listen to customer feedback, being an independent hotel we can swap and change things quite quickly and react in a positive way if we make a mistake.

We should have provided six capsules of coffee in your room, something which we have now rectified for all arrivals, however for tea please see my recent reply!

All in all I’m pleased you enjoyed your visit, we are trying to consistently improve in various ways and I’m sure if your decide to revisit you will see that we never stand still in what we have to offer.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I must admit my husband wasn't keen on staying at the Grand but for no particular reason. He soon changed his mind after seeing our room - loads of space, an enormous bed and a wonderful sea view. Food was excellent as was the spa facilities (possibly the best pool i've seen in a hotel).Definitley somewhere that I'd want to return to

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadgeBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear MadgeBingley

Thank you for persuading your husband to come and visit, I hope we have converted you both into a new regulars!

Take a look at our website from late October onwards, it will be completed overhauled with new pictures and plenty of information on GRAND twentytwo, our new ‘promenade retreat’ situated just 50 metres from the main hotel, service by the same fabulous team of staff.

Don't forget to sign up to Facebook and Twitter, there may be a little tempter coming your way to celebrate the opening!

Hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked the Grand for a family break at the August bank holiday. From the moment we arrived we new we chosen the right hotel, the welcome at the reception, the lovely spacious rooms with spotless large bathrooms. We enjoyed using the spa facilities. We will certainly return to St Anne's again and will make sure we stay at the Grand

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpnGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear kpnGlasow

I’m pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Grand and the lovely Fylde coast!

Before you return don’t forget to Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter, this way you will be alerted to any special offers that may be released for next year, maybe we can tempt you back sooner than you think!

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is just a fabulous hotel. When starting this review I clicked May 2013 but it was about 2011 when we stayed there the last time I think. Just everything about the hotel is superb. I think we have stayed 3 times now for weekends and enjoyed it very much. The pool and sauna area was just so relaxing after a long week at work. The staff were most helpful and very professional. We took advantage of the family room special offer which was good value for money. It is just a shame that our 2 girls are too old to share the room now as it makes it quite expensive to have two rooms just for a short break weekend.

One of the most enjoyable things for me was the breakfast in the morning, salmon and scrambled eggs which were so good. All in all this is a fantastic hotel and well worth a visit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Blindfiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Blindfiddler

Thank you for your glowing review from your previous visits.
It is nice to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your weekends away and took full advantage of the great facilities that we have to offer.
Please keep an eye out for our new website which will be launched in October.
It will have a new feel with a different booking system, maybe we won’t be as expensive as you think to book two rooms for a weekend away.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I'm sure somebody else has used the title A Grand Experience but that's exactly what it was. We stayed Monday to Friday early September and the weather was great. The hotel is absolutely number 1 from the spotless room and bathroom to the very tasty continental breakfast.
The two ladies we met on Reception were marvellous. They are the key to why this hotel is so good. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
In the room the fridge with complimentary water was very useful as we normally carry a small fridge in the car . No need here.
This was our second stay and we are looking forward to booking next year. Thank you for a Grand holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GI0JHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear G10JHR

Thank you for your review, I’m pleased you enjoyed your visit and had a “Grand Experience” I’ll ensure Jenny and Jane read your review as they will be delighted with your comments.

See you next year!

Regards
Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing