We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel”
Review of The Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lytham St Anne's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Third stay at The Grand and it doesn't disappoint. Nice bedroom even though it was not one of the more expensive ones. Really like the fact that food is available all day so if you can't make it to breakfast on time there's still something you can have for brunch! And I really like the fact that if you want a cooked breakfast it is made to order rather than it being on a buffet (even though you pay a bit extra). It's a bit strange to only have coffee available in the bedroom but you can request tea. The bar lacks a bit of atmosphere - you feel like you're drinking in the restaurant (because you are!). The staff are friendly and the hotel is very smart and welcoming. Look forward to my 4th stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 115DianeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear 115DianeA

Thank you for you repeat custom at The Grand, it is much appreciated.
All our bedrooms are furnished to the same high standard, we grade rooms on size and outlook, starting with Executive Compact through to Executive Deluxe with one super Executive Xtra Luxe room (110).

Residents are quite welcome to just take a drink and relax in Cafe Grand.
We will gladly clear the settings away so you don’t feel like you have to dine with us, however the food is that good I’m sure we can tempt you!

Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at The Grand Saturday 4th of May and what a great stay, staff couldnt have been more helpful, the food was of excellent quality and the pool /spa was spotless - everything was just perfect. Even though we were placed in room 212 next to the lift we slept like babies until 09:00am, this is the first time i have ever slept in, in a hotel so breakfast served till 11:00 was great as it meant we cold enjoy the pool and spa.
Thank you for a wonderful stay, and we will definitely be back soon.

Lytham beach and facilities are so fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbow33uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear rainbow33uk

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit, we especially appreciate your comments towards the staff as they work tremendously hard.


Like you say we serve breakfast until 11am everyday so you can enjoy the spa facilities or have a nice lie-in before your departure.

Hope to see you soon at The Grand soon!

Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night (Sat 4th May).We had one of the executive plus rooms, lovely room, very large bathroom and all spotlessly clean. We booked a table to eat in the restaurant in the evening, we had a really tasty meal , all cooked to a very high standard.
Our stay was spoilt when at breakfast time, we were told a full English breakfast would cost an extra £5.50. At this point I decided to try the continental selection, not a very good choice of food on offer. I asked the young waitress on duty if she had a pot of yoghurt available, to be told by her "sorry we don't have any"
I returned to my breakfast table with two pieces of toast and jam. Having paid £140.00 for an overnight stay, I left the hotel feeling hungry and extremely disappointed. We expected so much more!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen_collins870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Stephen_collins870

Thank you for your recent visit to the hotel.
I’m pleased you enjoyed your room and your meal in Café Grand, however I’m sorry you felt disappointed with our continental breakfast selection.

As a note to potential guests our continental breakfast incorporates the follow items:

Dorset and regular cereals
Lizi’s Granola
Bircher Muesli
Croissants and Danish pastries
Smoked Salmon
Continental and Honey Baked Ham
Fresh Boiled Eggs, tomatoes and cheese
Freshly prepared fruits, prunes, strawberries, pineapple, watermelon, kiwi
Mixed fruit Salad, apples and bananas.
Assorted yoghurts
Freshly squeezed orange juice, Nespresso coffee, Twining’s teas and mineral water
Toast and preserves.!

If there anything you feel that’s missing, or something that you would like us to include onto this list I would be delighted to hear from you by e-mail at derrick@the-grand.co.uk

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you want a busy action packed weekend - this isn't the place. If you're after a relaxing few days away in a sleepy town with beach walks and a jacuzzi on site then it is

The hotel itself is decorated to a very high standard. The rooms (in the modern wing where we stayed) were bright airy and comfortable.

The staff were the real highlight - friendly, efficient and helpful. We had a few small issues (e.g. bathroom light not working) and they were dealt with immediately and diligently

There isn't much to do in the area, but the nearby beach is pleasant to walk on. The famous golf club is very close so I imagine any golfers would be right at home.

The hotel pool and jacuzzi (spa area) was very nice and a cut above similar types of hotel I've stayed in.

I hope to go back there soon

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ0ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear SJ0ness
Thank you for your recent stay and taking time to post a review its much appreciated, thank you!

The golf coast, besides Royal Lytham, host to “The Open 2012” we also have two other excellent courses within three miles of the hotel, Fairhaven and St Anne’s Old Links.
Lytham centre, with its boutique shops, vibrant bars and restaurants is also an excellent place to explore and if its buzz your after, Blackpool is a short taxi journey away!

Future visitors, please take a look at the visit Lytham St Anne’s and Visit Blackpool tourism websites before your next visit, there’s plenty on offer on our glorious Fylde coast.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

PS. Don’t forget your golf clubs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great hotel, modern, spotless and lots of marble and mahogany, no thread bare carpets in this establishment. Restaurant to die for open all day and the swimming pool and jacuzzi are the best I have seen. Staff very friendly and room serviced every morning.

Room Tip: See view (west) would give spectacular sun sets.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear steven e

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand, they are much appreciated and I will pass them on to all the staff involved.

I would also be grateful if you could pass your recommendation on to your family and friends as we would be delighted to look them as well.

Once again thank you for the review and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night (Friday 26th April). Had one of the 'compact executive' rooms.

room was quite small (could only just get the coffee machine out of the cupboard) as the cupboard door was prevented from fully opening by the bed.
Bed its self was very comfortable and large, room was clean and the bathroom was good too.
Was not disturbed by any noise even though I was in the first room next to the stairs.
Breakfast buffet was small but sufficient.
My only grumble is that the cups in the room are expresso sized ! not very good when you are used to a larger drink.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeaton72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear jeaton72

Thank you for your recent visit and taking time to post a review.
The Nespresso coffee machines that we have installed in all rooms have been well received, however if you do prefer a more traditional tea pot, cup and saucer they are available by contacting housekeeping or reception.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed a year ago with a front sea facing room above the entrance (exec de luxe) Were disturbed by the constant musak playing outside the main entrance and by a late wedding party and shouting. Also the evening meal had far too much salt and had to ask for another.

This year asked for a quiet room and allocated one at the side, (exec de luxe) still sea view, but nice and quiet. Saved money by pre booking on line , but no refund if you cancel. Spa is free and is great, swimming, jacuzzi, spa / sauna - very gentle and relaxing and we were only users at times. Food was very good in cafe bar, ambience only disturbed by rather loud musak from speakers above the table, playing all evening, had to speak loudly at times to make conversation. Very Annoying - why do people insist on playing musak?

Overall comparing with other hotels in the area, the best . Great service and attention. Would have given 5 stars apart from the eternal musak....

Room Tip: avoid front sea faciong rooms if you want a dead quiet room and have window open
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear ian H

Welcome to Tripadvisor and thank you for making The Grand your first review, for both your visits!


I’m pleased we located you in a quieter room this time, can I remind all potential guests that if you you require a quieter area of the hotel or have any other requests please add it to your notes on making your reservation, we will do always do our utmost to you fulfill your request.

Regarding the music, we pipe our music through a Sonos music system throughout the hotel. This system has approximately 14 speakers located in certain areas of the hotel, all of these speakers can be individually controlled so the level of music can be reduced, or increased if necessary.

Other than the “musak” I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
438 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: $109 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing