We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lovely hotel, stayed in an executive room which was very comfortable. Healthy breakfast (a very special continental) included was the best. Used the pool which is a good size. Friendly staff. Will be back. Thank you the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Suzit

Thank you for posting your review it is much appreciated.
Pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and made good use of the swimming pool, too many people forget their costumes!

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    256
    77
    25
    6
See reviews for
299
653
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a lovely, relaxing (sunny!) weekend at this hotel 6th and 7th October 2012. We'd had The Grand on our list for some time and were really pleased with the experience of staying there. The continental breakfast was very good and plentiful! We had evening meal there on the Sunday and the food was excellent. The room was a side sea view, not quite as large as we were expecting (executive plus) but the bathroom was very modern and enormous ... bath, w/b, large walk in shower and separate toilet! However the bed was large and really comfortable. My husband doesn't tend to sleep well when we are away from home but he slept 'like a log' on both nights. There was a wedding reception in the hotel on Saturday night but we never heard a sound from our bedroom; at all times it was really quiet. The spa area was amazing: we spent about an hour in the pool ... had we known about the gym and all the excellent facilities at this area we'd have stayed an extra night and had an afternoon there. The hotel was very well cleaned. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The whole stay was special and we will certainly go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear KathCol

How lucky are you? Sunny weekends this year have been few and far between!
I’m pleased you enjoyed the food in Café Grand, both at breakfast and dinner and will pass your comment onto the chefs.
Terrific to hear that your husband had a good night’s sleep he’d wake up so refreshed a day’s shopping would be a breeze!
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we all hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Grand on Saturday 13th October for one night, it was by chance that I booked it and did not know anything about this hotel before our visit. It was absolutely fantastic, we had a lovely room with a sea view, the room was vey luxurious with a massive bed, the bathroom room was lovely with a big bath, my husband is over 6ft so we were shocked when he could lay flat. The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, a brilliant stay and we are looking forward to booking our next visit which we plan to stay a few more nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyBee008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear HoneyBee008

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and that your husband could lay flat, I know how he feels!
Don’t forget to like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter, we send our special offers out via this media and you will be kept up to date with all our latest information.
Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Grand combines the best features of a modern hotel in a stunning traditional building. The room sizes are generous with excellent furnishings and fittings. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant serves a generous breakfast and excellent meals. The outlook to the bay over the ornamental pond and promenade is a key feature. We have stayed there six times and always were sorry to leave! Didn't really want to write this review as we wanted to keep The Grand our secret!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view - they are more expensive but worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear jamescunningham 'My favourite reviewer in the UK!'

Thank you for posting your review, oh dear, your secret destination is out now.
However we’ll do our best to look after everybody in the manner as you’re accustomed too.
Thank you for your business and we all hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner and I are not usually the type for leaving reviews, we feel people only go out of there way to leave a review when it's overly negative. It is on this basis that I promised myself i would review our first stay at The Grand Hotel in Lytham.

We both live in Lancashire but unfortunately not close enough to be more frequent visitors to Lytham and the surrounding areas although this may change as the intention of this weekend break was to have not only a few days to ourself but also to have a nosey at properties in the area.

We didn't manage to see many properties in the end, due to the weather in part but also due to the hotel's amenities and lovely staff. Not such a bad thing as it just means we can come again soon to finish what we started with any luck.

The room we checked into was a lovely first floor suite with a sea view and a nice view of the Friday night's sunset - sadly one of the only times the sun made an appearance over the weekend but we'd struggle to pin that on anyone except perhaps the Met Office.

We had several meals in the hotel restaurant and after chatting to other diners and staff we can agree that the standard of food served was superlative and comparable to some high end London based eateries we've been lucky enough to try in recent years. The continental breakfast was easily the best I've seen, with a range of fruits, fresh meat, pastries and fantastic coffee, just what you need after a relaxed nights sleep. It put to shame some of the "continental breakfasts" I've chosen to skip over the years.

And so onto the main reason for leaving this review, the staff.

The hotel was a little quieter than we expected for a weekend but i have no doubt the weather played a huge part in this as monsoon after monsoon seemed to roll in throughout the evening from the sea which was literally across the road.

The general standard of customer service is extremely high but in our experience The Grand possesses something which is very hard to find. Staff who are willing to go the extra mile and beyond in the name of customer care, something which you don't encounter very often at all these days.

In particular I'd like to single out one of the receptionists called Jenny who was a pleasure to deal with and most helpful the numerous times we went to seek further information.
Secondly, the Night Porter John who looked after us each night and made sure we were never without a drink in the bar once the midnight oil was in full flow. He offered to print off some information after hearing us discussing property and estate agents while sat on the opposite side of the bar. Upon waking up the next morning we had delivered to the room a portfolio that would out most estate agents to shame, more than the google map print off we'd expected. It turned out to be invaluable with the weather pushing us for time on the Sunday and for this we return home with John possibly having helped us find our next home in Lytham.

Overall the staff at The Grand are one of the best groups of staff I've encountered in my time and they in no short part have ensured our return and continued custom for as long as they're there and are the reason for me posting this review at all. I hope they see this as we assured them that this review would be forthcoming (if a little late) and we look forward to our next stay at The Grand Hotel.

Hopefully we'll see you soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, any extra charge is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sandra M

Thank you for your review, it was a delight to read!

Your comments regarding the breakfast are pleasing, we have listened to guest feedback and responded with a new continental breakfast selection that is going down tremendously well with our customers.

However I’m overjoyed with your comments regarding the staff and I would like to thank you for singling out Jenny and John as they deserve the praise.
I will ensure they both read your review, no doubt they will both be delighted!

Happy house hunting!

Regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from a two night break. This is a very good hotel, we stopped in a suite on floor two. There were two rooms one main bedroom with a huge bed TV/DVD player, plenty of wardrobe space, and the other with a sofa bed and seating area with a sea view leading out onto a balcony. The bathroom was huge with two sinks, a bath and separate shower. The room was very clean and the staff were all excellent, I used the WIFI which again was superb,unlike some hotels. I would not hesitate in returning to this hotel. If I had to leave any feedback (not complain) I would also agree with one of the previous comments about a kettle and bigger cups in the room, we came back from a cold wet night in Blackpool with our son who had fallen asleep but the drinks machine was too loud to use and we really wanted a hot cuppa. Also we wanted a sandwich and there was no menu in our room, I asked at reception and was told to ask in the bar who told me to just ring down and ask for what we wanted, and if they had it they would do it. Later on when we did this no-one answered the phone and in the end my wife went down and ordered them, I just think as with other hotels of similar class there could be a room service menu, so you know what and when you can order. I feel like I'm complaining but I am not, this really is a wonderful hotel,the staff were very helpful and friendly and we plan to stop there again some time.

Martin & Sharon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Martin & Sharon

We are currently updating our room service menu to coincide with our latest Café Grand menu, the new room service menu will be operational by the end of the week.
Whilst we are producing this we removed the previous version as we no longer had ingredients that were on offer.
A temporary menu had been printed for the interim, however it seems we have failed to deliver this information to you, I do apologize.

I’m pleased this didn’t detract from your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire united kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Amazing place,from greeting upon arrival to breakfast in room.Nothing was to much trouble for all staff.Breakfast was amazing from fresh fruit,yogurt,cereal,bacon,scrambledeggs,bacon,and coffee.One tiny negative was the coffee maker in room,was awarkard to use,prefer a kettle.Will defo be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank she00123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear she00123

Thank you for your recent visit and taking time to post a review.
I’m pleased you enjoyed the breakfast offering, following feedback from guests it is something we have worked hard in developing. The outcome is that we are getting plenty of good feedback regarding our continental breakfast and how guests are enjoying our new selection.
So please, all constructive comments are appreciated, we do discuss them and if valid we will act upon them.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing