We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouldy old dough!!”
Review of Clifton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
worcestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mouldy old dough!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2006

I stayed at this hotel with my 15 year old daughter whilst visiting family. When we arrived at the hotel we were given our key card and directed to our room, to get there we had to carry our luggage up a flight of stairs which was restricted by a stair lift. Once in our room we were suprised to find a foldaway bed made up and taking up quite a lot of room we asked to have it removed and it was, two days later!! Although we stayed at the hotel for four nights our early departure on monday meant that we only had three breakfasts and that was a positive thing, two out of the three breakfasts that we did have had green mould spores on the toast. Portion sizes in the evening were not as big as my daughter is used to and the four courses were served very closely together and rushed
All in all a very disappointing weekend for us in a hotel that is definitely geared up for senior citizens.

  • Liked — proximity to my mums
  • Disliked — mouldy bread
  • Tips/Secrets — check your bread carefully
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank vivienne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    119
    47
    25
    13
See reviews for
63
212
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

This hotel was booked through Rawcliffe`s funeral service, Lytham. Our Grandad , Wilfred Knox, aged 92, sadly passed away last week. He had lived in Lytham St.Annes for many years. Our family have just spent a wonderful afternoon at the Clifton Park hotel, following the funeral service.
The staff were very kind, efficient & the food was home-made & delicious. Our Grandad would have enjoyed staying here. Thank you very much to the hotel, on a diffficult day.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikerblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2006

First compliment the hotel for a cheap room. BUt would have paid more to get better facilities.
I was put in a room without a TV and phone connected yet the hotel advertised that the room had a TV and phone.
I was therefore unable to get up early for an exam.
I was disappointed because i had read good reviews on this website.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2006
I am extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Clifton Park Hotel. I am certainly puzzled by the fact that your room had no TV and no Telephone. All of our rooms are appointed with TV's and telephones as standard.

I would be grateful if you could contact me with your details in order that this can be investigated further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 29, 2006

I stayed at the Clifton Park Hotel in St. Annes as part of a group over the weekend. The staff were very friendly and genuine right from checking in, through to the restaurant and ladies that clean the rooms. Everywhere is spotless and the hotel has lots of facilities. The pool looked fairly new and was never crowed, sooooo relaxing!

I was very worried about booking the hotel as I had never stayed there before, and had a bad experience of a hotel in St. Annes, but the Clifton Park Hotel has restored my faith in the Fylde coast (where i was brought up!)

I will return here - but hope that as they get more popular they don't put the prices up!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2006

Swimming pool area stunning, adults only, very relaxing with jacuzzi and beds to lie on, tropical temperature, not deep pool but good enough with the wave machine if you fancy a battle reaching other side.
Food is first class, breakfast they cannot do enough for you, dinner included in our stay was too good considering the ridiculously low price we paid.
Room was a suite which had a very smart jacuzzi bath besides all the mod cons, big TV and lovely 2nd bathroom, worth the extra tenner a night each.
Public rooms spotless and spacious, dance floor, large entertainment room, dining room faultless.
Great gym if you are into that thing and doesnt get overcrowded probably because most of the clientele are 60 plus.
Loads of quiet little corners to sit and read or have a relaxing drink
To be honest Im thinking of not posting this because I am terrified of it becoming too popular and crowded!
Paid £129 per couple for dinner, b & b for 2 nights, yes its a 2 for 1 offer which they do regularly. it has to be a Friday and Saturday, or Sat Sun night, whos complaining?
When you think that works out at £32.25 a night each including a dinner which would set you back £14.50 purchased separately then you can see why I will be returning here again and again.
If you think its quiet you are right, but then again loads of nightlife if you want it, there is a casino about 1 mins walk away.
Close to Blackpool if you fancy a night out there, but I reckon you should stick close to the hotel, its class.
Should be five star, and the staff just cannot do enough for you.
Good post eh?

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank chorleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2006

Location: Couple of minutes' walk to lovely St Anne's Square with its shops and restaurants. About the same distance to St Anne's pier and leisure facilities. Short drive to Blackpool - local buses - for brash entertainment and the Pleasure Beach.

Public Areas: Very bright and spacious. Exceptionally clean. Friendly, helpful staff. There was entertainment on the night that I stayed, which seemed to be enjoyed by the guests. It could not be heard in our room at all and finished at an appropriate time anyway. Nice new indoor swimming pool - no kids - and jacuzzi. I saw a sign for a gymnasium. Very good breakfast, choice of waiter-served hot course - good choice including Manx kippers.

Bedroom: Newly decorated and fitted with plenty of good quality furnishings. Proper kettle and decent sized TV with DVD and VHS. Comfy beds. Bath with shower over. Quiet. Only complaint was the shortage of consumables supplied: only 2 sachets of coffee, 2 sachets of tea and 2 little bars of soap. You need to book a Grand Suite to qualify for shampoo! The usual (and these days expected) toileteries would have been appropriate for this hotel. And a couple of little packets of biscuits and a box of tissues! The bath towels were smaller than usual, too. A manager did say that they were looking into improving these areas. Before we come again, please, which we no doubt will as this is a very good choice of hotel.

Overall: Excellent, probably best if you don't have kids. Just take a little shampoo of your own and maybe a large fluffy towel until you read on this site that these issues have been addressed! Nice one.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TheBestShows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 12, 2006

The hotel, food, service and staff were exceptional at this hotel. Would stay again, and wish we had one nearer to us!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
943 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#13 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Park Hotel

Property: Clifton Park Hotel
Address: 299-301 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the picturesque town of St.Annes, Clifton Park Hotel is renowned for its superior quality and exemplary service and within a few minutes walk of the promenade, beach, shops, cafes & bars. The 49 en suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated each providing Digital TV, controlled heating, direct dial telephones and tea/coffee facilities as standard. The hotel boasts a Sun Lounge, licensed Bar & Restaurant and has a heated indoor swimming pool & jacuzzi to relax, teamed with a new gym to provide the perfect workout. Clifton Park Hotel is an 'Adult Only' Hotel and does not accommodate guests under the age 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clifton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clifton Park
Clifton Park Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing