We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this hotel”
Review of Clifton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Brilliant welcome from Darren on reception when we checked in, and he remained courteous and friendly throughout our stay, as he appeared to be "everywhere". All of the staff during dinner and breakfast service were hardworking, quick, friendly and helpful. We even bumped into our room maid one morning when she was cleaning our room, and again she was a model of professionalism whilst remaining friendly and chatty. The hotel owner must be a shrewd interviewer when employing his staff!

Food was great, plenty of choice and of a high quality.

The hotel location is perfect, near the beach, shops, pier etc. We stayed at an organised event in February, so the weekend wasn't about the resort/weather etc, but I imagine the location becomes a real plus point in the summer months.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HazelM473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Clifton Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 564 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

another wonderful time at this hotel. good food, great staff especially darren. the whist was great entertainment with margaret and henry.the whistmas break is excellant value for money..that is why people book it time and time again.my friend and i would like to say thank you clifton park,you make our christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianadors_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

my last review said almost perfect but in my opinion the hotel has not lived up to my previous views
i was in the same room as my last visit and the bedroom was comfortable and warm but the shower room is a very tight fit if you are a large person like myself but it does the job and to be honest you dont spend much time in the bathroom
my visit was for a whist holiday and i must say the whist element was totally perfect , fantastic whist hosts both henry and margaret have tremendous whist knowledge and totally different hummor but fit like a hand and glove .certainly the perfect whist hosts
the hotel was more or less the same as my visit last year and still needs sprusing up a little
but my disapointment was the staff , they seem to be , with the exception of barbara and daren , less happy in their jobs
it was a turkey and tinsel break and i found the midday meals not up to the high standards of the evening meals and some of the portions a bit on the small size for my liking ,but the majority of whist break guests are much older and seem totally happy with the smaller portion sizes .i must say i much prefer the previous system of serve your self breakfast hopefull they will be reverting to this system in the near future
i have another whist break booked early january and have fingers crossed that with just the normal half board whist holiday format it will revert to its previous high standard and with no hectic and busy christmas presure the staff will be more relaxed and smile more .

Room Tip: talk to reception before you arrive if you are less mobile like my self some rooms are easier to get...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve_and_oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekLytham, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Sir,
In response to your comments on Trip Advisor. I have addressed each point as follows:-
Shower size:- All rooms have different shower sizes due to the age of the building. We don’t have any showers smaller than a standard shower. We try our utmost to satisfy each and every client.
Had you reported the problem to reception we would have happily changed your room to a room where the shower would accommodate larger people. Indeed a small upgrade would have given you an executive room, which I am sure you would have been more than satisfied with all its facilities.
Food portions :- AS you pointed out your holiday was during turkey and tinsel on which most people complain that the portions are far too big, too many portions, and too much to eat, as we serve
1) full English breakfast,
2) morning coffee,
3)Full sit down four course meal for lunch at 1pm
4) tea and cake/biscuits at 4pm
5) Knife and fork sit down 3 course buffet where you are free to eat as much as you like
5) Freshly ground coffee or tea
6) two nights during the four we serve supper of champagne and mince pies and sherry and short cake.
In conclusion our chefs work very hard in maintaining a full and balanced diet to meet the needs of everybody that arrives at our hotel. We constantly aim for extra value for money and quality.
Staff :- Firstly thank you for your comments with reference to Darren and Barbara certainly two valued members of staff.
I am currently looking into your concerns with reference to unhappy staff.
Self-serve breakfast:-Our policy has decided that while the Noro Virus has been rife throughout the country we felt that we had to take additional measures like serving the breakfast, implementing hand wash on entering the restaurant, steam cleaning every door handle and soft furnishings and constantly cleaning all areas to alleviate germ spreading and to ensure the health and safety of all guests, Sharing utensils and food areas would defeat the whole objective.
Many thanks
D Slater
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in November. The hotel was elegantly decorated for Christmas and the executive rooms we had were very nice and clean, however one of the rooms (room 102) had paper thin walls and when the people in the next room had their TV on, it felt as though it was on in our room! This was not a problem until next door decided to put their TV on at 7.30am and woke us up!! The negatives of our weekend were that the swimming pool was out of order which was disappointing as this was one of the reasons we booked this hotel. Also, at breakfast, it appeared that the waitresses were only interested in the "turkey & tinsel" guests and the only waitress that seemed happy to help us was the young waitress, the older ones should take note from the young lady on how to smile!! Finally, may I take the opportunity to thank the staff who helped my Father when he had a small fall down a couple of stairs. Depsite the above comments, we would (and probably will) stay here again

Room Tip: Dont choose room 102!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperracing1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very friendly with very competent staff, excellent food and the hotel had a comfortable feeling to it. I went as part of a group for a 'Turkey and Tinsel' and was treated to good entertainment with the hotel staff ( ie waiters and waitresses ) going beyond their normal call of duty to entertain and cause laughs.

John W

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Food fantastic, entertainment great, staff very very helpful & friendly, nothing too much trouble for them. Whole hotel was very clean. Pool & gym good. room good SHOWER HOT every time I used it. It was the very best Turkey & Tinsel I have ever been to, & I have been to a great many. Very good price as well. When ever I am in the area in future I will definitely book in there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked late and arrived at 8.30pm had a single room but restaurant was closed before it said (strange when the Open Golf Championship was on and they were fully booked) it was so had to eat out and the shower was cold when used in morning and evening. Tried to advised reception in evening (no answer at 945pm) and at 6am but no one was 'on call' until 7am so they could not do anything. Did not seem overly apologetic when I checked out.
Room was OK however and breakfast was buffet style but very good.
Good location for access to sea front, town centre and Royal Lytham and St Annes Golf Club all within a walkable distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
439 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Park Hotel

Address: 299-301 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: $114 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the picturesque town of St.Annes, Clifton Park Hotel is renowned for its superior quality and exemplary service and within a few minutes walk of the promenade, beach, shops, cafes & bars. The 49 en suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated each providing Digital TV, controlled heating, direct dial telephones and tea/coffee facilities as standard. The hotel boasts a Sun Lounge, licensed Bar & Restaurant and has a heated indoor swimming pool & jacuzzi to relax, teamed with a new gym to provide the perfect workout. Clifton Park Hotel is an 'Adult Only' Hotel and does not accommodate guests under the age 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clifton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clifton Park
Clifton Park Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing