We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ashton Park Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A two night stay with a small group. Staff were very helpful and our group were made to feel very welcome. Rooms were perfect as was the location. Great breakfast / service. The gym and pool were well equipped. We will return next year. Thank you and can highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank tben03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for The Ashton Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 362 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here on a church weekend away. Rooms fine if a little dated. Staff very good at their job. Lots of space and rooms available to us to hold a dance, to do craft and have meetings. Food good , hot and great choice for old people and children. Overall a very good weekend enjoyed by all. 50 of us altogether .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelangdaleshot... W, Manager at The Ashton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our family are about to visit the Langdales for our 40th visit in the past 13 years! I think that says it all. We find the rooms are excellent as are the staff. Mike in the bar is excellent as are Vince and Sam in the restaurant with Dawn the chamber maid too. Manager Madge is excellent and very pleasant indeed. She is very efficient but very eager to please too and she is well supported by other staff. The entertainment can be outstanding, especially Jason and Shirley. The staff are so friendly and I like them to use our first names. The numerous public rooms and facilities make it feel like a little village or community once you walk in and close the door. Thus the British weather doesn't always prove a disadvantage.
Few British hotels these days can survive with private visitors alone and without coach party visitors. Thus, any hotel which can attract and retain repeat visits from coach parties, as does the Langdales, must be congratulated because this means that these hotels are still functioning for private visitors such as ourselves. Coach holiday companies expect high standards too and this is also beneficial to private visitors too. There are many private visitors.
Of course things can occasionally go wrong in any hotel and any person can find dust under things in any hotel too - if they go looking for it, as one family seems to have done !! However, in the Langdales, if a resident brings any problem to the attention of the staff, it will be attended to promptly in our experience. Fortunately problems are rare and we go at all times of the year. We take our dog and it is common for me to walk him at midnight so people are not ushered into bed at 10PM either !
All in all, as I said above, it's our 40th visit and we think everything is highly satisfactory. Other people return to the Langdales often too. I think 40 visits proves the high state of satisfaction.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a lovely outlook and some rooms at the back on the upper floors have sea views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

i stayed here 24th feb-29th. doing my stcw95 course. i found hotel to be in great position . rooms need a bit tlc but not to bad. staff very friendly n helpful. thanx amanda for resetting the tripswitches for the lights for 202. breakfast fine and filling enough. overall i would stay here again. ps mind send my shirt to me.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotchmist68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just celebrated our golden wedding with a party at the Langdales. for 50 guests all staying with overnight accomodation. We were treated like royalty and nothing was too much trouble to make our specail day so memorable. the meal was very enjoyable by all and the organised party was a great success. the overnight accomodation was superb. and we could not praise all the staff and a big thanks to Leanne Tina and Madge and everyone who made this a night to remember. so if you require a party or even a wedding celebration party then the Langdales is the place to be. Pam and George Rutter... Blackpool....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmerdale22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a really nice place to stay, great staff, great food, but very tired in some areas. Firstly we arrived early and were able to check in, no problems. Our room was a double with a single bed for our son, which was quite small, but not as small as the tv.....with only 4 channels, was like I was back in the early 80s. The room was very clean, with tea and coffee facilities, good wardrobe and draw space, easy adjustable heating, and windows easily opened. The ensuite was toilet, bath/shower, sink, quite spacious. The bar areas are really nice, lots of tables and chairs, all quite modern looking, with a lovely new pool table. The front conservatory was nice with plenty of seating, and free wifi. The pool/spa area, was a nice suprise, but could do with being made a bit brighter, as was quite dark, though a reasonable sized pool, jacuzzi, and steam room, were all well used and appreciated by my wife, my son, and I. Really nice to unwind here!! We were here for an evening function, which was run extremely well, excellent food, which was well presented and quite plentiful, and served well. The drinks prices were very competitive, and good selection. Slept well, bed was a bit narrow for a double but didnt stop us from sleeping. Breakfast was an order and serve set up....not been to one of these for a while, more used to a buffet, and although the food was very nice, I came away still hungry. Check out was easy, no real issues. Overall a nice hotel, with very friendly and attentive staff, good food, great amenities...pool etc, but let down by the dated rooms, and decor. Some bright neutral colours, some flat screen freeview tvs, bigger beds, a buffet breakfast service and this hotel would be an outstanding place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel. I have to say in the main the hotel is clean.... Spotless almost (with the exception of underneath the radiator in the bathroom... But this was the only place I could find dust!) most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a family suite and was extremely well laid out having two separate bedrooms and separate bathroom all behind one door although facilitating this great layout compromised space. The food ranged from good to OK, but was perfectly edible.

Unfortunately this hotel lets itself down badly.

Upon arrival our booking could not be found.... Great start.... Eventually the booking was found and a key was given. Entering the room we found it small and freezing cold. Noticing the radiators were off, we turned them on before complaining and some time later the room was warm. Getting any water out of the taps was a challenge. Getting hot water was in the hands of the Gods.

My parents had asked about an evening meal when they arrived around 3pm and were told they needed to know then whether a meal was required or not in the restaurant. After reading the brochure Mum asked about bar meals. We were told we would have to be there by 8. Not great service for an establishment that classes itself as "hotel"..

As the evening progressed we were harassed by the manager about where other members of the party were. They consider an arrival after 8:30 to be late and you will be told off if you arrive after this!!!! There was a refusal to stay up and wait for guests arriving late. The Blackpool landlady is alive and well at the Langdales. This is not a hotel but a large B and B with a swimming pool.

The food offered on the bar menu is limited, more like a lunch menu.

The staff seemed annoyed at the fact that we were still up at 10pm on the Friday. All the other guests from a coach tour had been safely tucked up in bed by now. The manager made sure of that. We could not believe our eyes. One could have been forgiven for thinking we had landed in a nursing home judging by how the coach guests were ushered to bed!

The TV in the double room did not work. No Freeview. The beds are probably the most uncomfortable beds I have ever experienced. Way too soft. A bit like sleeping on a trampoline. The beds are made up with blankets adding to the discomfort.

The swimming pool is warm but the changing rooms are unisex and full of mould. Not really a pleasant experience.

The breakfast staff were friendly but have no idea how to address customers. I am not your love.... Or your mate. Some are poorly trained and don't know what's on the menu. Offering continental OR full English is an insult these days. One expects to be able to have cereal while you wait for your breakfast to be cooked.

There are too may people walking around this hotel who seem to be neither staff nor customers.

The food at the evening function was acceptable but the veg was very overcooked.

This hotel is geared up for coach tours for elderly people. If you are anything different simply don't bother. Don't expect to be able to find a receptionist if you arrive at what they consider unusual times.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 99Familyties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#10 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashton Park Hotel

Address: 318-328 Clifton Drive North, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2PB, England (Formerly The Langdales Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: $65 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ashton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashton Park Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing