We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Getaway”
Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stayed here a few years back and i can happily say we have returned every year since, We booked for bed breakfast and evening meal, The room was clean, The staff were very attentive to our needs and the food was lovely!
All round a very nice hotel, With good entertainment for kids, My only downfall with this is that the sauna/steam room was never kept hot so it was more of a warm room and our party were scattered throughout the hotel we just presumed with us being a group booking we would be put together or atleast on the same floor.
On the whole tho absolutely beautiful and we look forward to seeong the staff again in the next few months

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    268
    118
    64
    42
See reviews for
439
158
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks lovely on the outside and is surprisingly spacious inside. I had a family suite comprising 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. The rooms were lovely and clean and tidied daily. There is a play room for toddlers, an arts and crafts room with timed activities, a games room and a swimming pool. This means there is plenty to keep everyone occupied. There is family entertainment every night thay caters for all ages. If thats not enough the beach is across the road and is kept clean and tidy. There is a buffet style breakfast and dinner which has plenty of choice for both adults and kids and is always fresh and warm. The staff are so kind and helpful and will try to accommodate everyones needs to the best of their ability. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifermclelland6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I went her with my mum for a 5 day break. This is a family hotel , so if you dont like children this is not the place for you.
Great place to stay if you do have children. Pool always busy so we didn't get to use it.
Rooms clean , need updating and I found not enough plug sockets.
Beds are comfy as are quilts and pillows.
Breakfast was really good . Fruit is tinned. Occasional bit of fresh.
Cooked breakfast was really tasty.
We only ate here once in the evening it was great value .
Entertainment was not for us , ok for families. Bit dated.
A few seats outside , for tge smokers. This area was always full of lasts nights bottles / rubbish or the morning breakfast cups.
Staff realky pleasant and helpful. Manager was very nice too and his dogs.
I would return here.
Great spot , right opposite the beach. Shops just around the corner and good local bus travel.
If you want a sea view room book early.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bibsmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We requested a familyroom of 2 adults and 4 children. The room was meant to be interconnecting though was not had one room with 3 single beds and 1 room with double bed and a camp bed cramped beside the bathroom, only 2 ft away from toiletseat. We were in room 28 very hot above pool. Customer service awful said we could move room then said we couldnt after we packed.
If I knew what we were getting we would never have came, they couldn't accommodate us though just crammed us in.

we will never return to this hotel again.awful experience.
Will notb

Room Tip: Choose a room on seafront, or don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ally79pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushton Spencer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had booked 6 months or so in advance and were staying as a group of 8 people. I was utterly shocked upon entering our room No24, it was by far the worse room I have ever been given, in any location irrelevant of the actual price, it was simply a disgrace. I immediately asked to be changed to another room but was told the hotel was full and the only remaining room was in the Annex. I was shown this room but warned it was probably worse than our current room. It absolutely stank of damp and mould and was uninhabitable.

If we hadn't been staying with family I would have immediately left the hotel, however this would have caused distress to members of our family. The 3 other rooms for the other members of the family were what we had expected to be given, the whole group was embarrassed by the state of our room. We were actually charged more for our room than any one else, the other rooms were £95 per night ours was £105 per night as it was apparently for a family of 4.

I have not time to list the multitude of reasons why this room was so bad, I would however like the General Manager to visit this room personally and ask how he would feel if he arrived with his family and was given a room like this? Considering we had booked 6 months in advance and were paying £105 for the privilege, how would he feel in the same situation?

Therefore a warning for all readers, if you are given room No24 your trip will be ruined and any hotel which is willing to provide this kind of room, does not deserve to be in business.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jane_leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just been to St Ives for a couple of days - second visit as stayed last year with hubbie. Was with daughter this time. Not the poshest hotel but rooms are clean and comfy with the usual amenities you would expect. Breakfast has a good choice - only issue was the very weak juice but did mention it at the desk when we left. Very good position as it is right on the front and just a short walk to shops and restaurants/bars. Going back in September with hubbie this time. Evenings are a bit quiet but don't think that is unusual with most of the hotels. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel opposite the award winning beach of St. Annes is geared for families old / young and in between plus coach parties, so staying on business can feel like a fish out of water. However the staff are good and by some forward planning you can get a very nice room away from the children's activities as long as you don't mind walking the length of the building and finding your way up and down some stairs. My room was a recently renovated one - they forgot to put a shaving adapter in the bathroom, but one is provided in the bedroom and the kettle doesn't fit under the tap - minor points. Dinner and Breakfast are self service and you can avoid the rush by going late for dinner [I was the only person eating at 8.15 pm] and early for breakfast [there was just a handful of us there for 7 am. Hotel has WiFi and bar prices are less than hotels catering mainly for business.

Room Tip: The corridors to the rooms having lightening worked by censors and these may not work if there was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Property: St. Ives Hotel
Address: 7 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#8 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Ives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England
St Ives Lytham Annes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing