We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as last time!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

At £130 for the night for family of 3 bed and breakfast and evening meal value wasn't to bad evening meal brilliant breakfast not as good entertainment area to small all packed in like sardines and,way to hot pool area dirty parking area to small avoid room 40 way to noisy and high level window no curtains so woke up early by light location brilliant I would come again and would recommend but this place.will soon,be falling apart unless investment made usual case of british hotels

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bwfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and the feedback you have given from your recent stay. I am glad that you consider your break value for money, however disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as last time. Our family breaks have been extremely popular this year which may explain why it was so busy in the lounge bar area, so with the extra people and with it being a mild autumn with the heating on I can appreciate that it maybe considered a little uncomfortable for some people. The swimming pool is cleaned daily and checked by the duty manager at 4 times during the day so if there are any areas unclean this should be picked up during the day. I will speak to our housekeeping team and management team to express your concerns. Regards room 40 I take your comments on board regards the curtains. It is above the ballroom so will incur some noise from the evening entertainment however this should have been explained to you at the time of booking. Was this the case? Please be assured we have a policy of reinvesting in the hotel and we have a rolling maintenance and development program in progress. We are glad to hear that you would come again and recommend us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    268
    116
    64
    42
See reviews for
435
155
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Back for the weekend with children after a great weekend last year. Staff all very friendly and efficient apart from dour chef. Food good and plentiful. Very much a family hotel and child friendly,of course. Obviously not a 5star hotel but more than adequate for a relaxing time and no worries about any old codgers moaning about children having fun.....or adults ! Entertainment ok particularly the clowns. See you again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickk916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and the feedback you have given from your recent stay. I am glad that you consider your break value for money, however disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as last time. Our family breaks have been extremely popular this year which may explain why it was so busy in the lounge bar area, so with the extra people and with it being a mild autumn with the heating on I can appreciate that it maybe considered a little uncomfortable for some people. The swimming pool is cleaned daily and checked by the duty manager at 4 times during the day so if there are any areas unclean this should be picked up during the day. I will speak to our housekeeping team and management team to express your concerns. Regards room 40 I take your comments on board regards the curtains. It is above the ballroom so will incur some noise from the evening entertainment however this should have been explained to you at the time of booking. Was this the case? Please be assured we have a policy of reinvesting in the hotel and we have a rolling maintenance and development program in progress. We are glad to hear that you would come again and recommend us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My 5 year daughter and I booked one night's stay last minute for £103 Bed & Breakfast. I really think the value of my stay should have cost no more than £55 to be honest. The room was very small and offered the very basic. It was very clean and the bed was comfy; heating wasn't an issue because we had a radiator that could blast out heat like the sun! The hotel staff were all very helpful and the position of the hotel is perfect for the sea front. Breakfast in the morning was enjoyable; but they only offered very limited food. The serving plates needed a good wipe (dishwasher on the blink maybe!), but apart from that everything was fine. I won't be staying again at the price I paid but if there was an offer then I would consider it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmpswooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

friendly hotel in prime position on the sea front with welcoming staff. Room very good in every way
meals excellent value for money with good choice of dishes. This hotel offers excellent deals.
This hotel is clearly welcoming to families with children and this has created a lovely atmosphere.
Very good base for touring the coast and around.

Room Tip: ask for sea front with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Our main aim is to offer a great value family friendly hotel, so it is lovely to hear that you experienced this on your stay with us. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you are next visiting the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

we stayed at the st ives from wed16-fri18th oct. been before but this time with our 2 girls. good family bedroom with 2 rooms. rooms clean and tidy though a bit airless because of the heat. the hotel did tend to be on the warm side.Staff were pleasant and helpful. food was really great. biggest gripe was that there was no entertainment for the kids at night and this was during our october half term-though not the english holidays. Lytham iteself was lovely. we caught the no12 bus right outside the hotel and this took us into blackpool.top tip is to keep your bus ticket if you are going to the Pleasure Beach as this will save you the £6.50 entrance fee!!!!!kid you not-charged for walking round the place. anyway back to the hotel a chaeap and cheerful break.TA.

Room Tip: room 53 had a quiet atmosphere tho a bit of going up and down the stairs to get there. worth it if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us earlier this month. It is great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities but we are sorry that you were disappointed with the entertainment. We usually plan our entertainment around when the majority of schools are off as nowadays the holidays can be so different from one area to another and it is therefore difficult to assess which weeks will be busy with the families. Although the price in comparison to the English half term reflects the reduced entertainment, we appreciate that families do miss the entertainment. We have had several similar comments regards the entertainment for the week you stayed with us and we will therefore take this into consideration when planning our breaks for 2014. Thanks for the top tip about the bus ticket saving you the entrance fee to the pleasure beach! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

It is some months since I stayed at the St Ives, but I feel well qualified in reviewing the place as I have stayed over 100 times through business.

First off, the staff are great - from front of house through restaurant and bar they are all a credit.

The hotel itself is tired and in need of some t.l.c., though the recently refurbished restaurant is fab.

Many of the rooms are peculiar. The layouts are bizarre - especially the family rooms, and locations can be strange too. There was one room located at the r.h.s of the hotel (as you look at it) which was accessed via steep stairs under the main stairs. This basement set of rooms seemed very creepy - even to a burly male 50 year old!

In the same area, there are top floor rooms that are accessed via steep stairs that almost require a map to understand the route. Very strange.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david8242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! I would whole heartedly agree that our hotel is unique! The nature of the hotel is it is an old building over a large area so the layout and location of rooms can vary. We have a variety of rooms from doubles, triples, family, interconnecting, apartments etc located throughout the hotel to suit all requirements. Please feel free to contact one of our helpful front office team on 01253 720011 if you would like some advice on room locations at the time of booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We visited from the 13-15 Oct which is the Scottish school holidays......there were lots of children in the hotel however the Art Club was closed and there was no entertainment at night. there was a Bridge tournament on and half the ballroom was closed because of this. this spoiled the whole experience. the room also smelled of dampness....we highlighted this to staff however they didnt seem interested. I used to go to the St Ives when my children were small and the entertainment was great. Was really disappointed this time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmiccathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the lack of entertainment during your stay with us in the Scottish school holidays. At the time of booking the Bridge Break we were unaware that the Scottish School Holidays was this week and therefore accepted the booking. We are currently planning our 2014 breaks so are taking account of this to ensure there is no clash next year. We take on board your comments regards the lack of entertainment and will therefore take that into consideration when we plan our breaks and entertainment for 2014. Regards your room I am sorry that you experienced a damp problem. and that you felt like the staff were not interested. Could you please email me details of your room and I will further investigate the problem. I do hope that you will return to us and give us a chance to restore your faith in the hotel and the entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Property: St. Ives Hotel
Address: 7 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#8 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Ives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England
St Ives Lytham Annes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing