We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed recently at Easter, brilliant for families, kids everywhere, entertainment good family fun, my kids, boys, 11 and 7, loved it. Well worth paying a little extra for apartments, will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ring direct and ask for bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayBOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    277
    118
    65
    43
See reviews for
455
163
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've stayed at the st Ives few times but now it only seems to cater for children all the entertainment was for kids all nite the food used to b excellent but this time no were near as good. the staff were great especially the bar staff won,t be staying again unless I take children.

Room Tip: Choose sea view room not as small as others and near lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edithlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston, Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at the St.Ives overnight on a Saturday in April, having been here many years ago for Christmas Functions etc. my memory of the place was quite different. The Hotel is in an excellent location on the front at St.Annes. Upon arrival we immediately realised that it was more suited to familes or one parent families, it was over-run with Children. It is obviously a great place to take your kids as there appeared to be numerous activities on during the day, even when we were desperate to watch the Grand National they had children,s games blairing away at the other side of the partition. There is nothing wrong with this but if you want a quiet relaxing break for couples then avoid St.Ives, certainly at the weekend.
The rooms are fine, although ours was along a lot of corridors and steps and took some finding. The Restaurant is a self serve Carvery which was good but don't expect a quiet relaxing meal.
So if you have kids go here for the weekend, if you want a quiet relaxing break i suggest you find another Hotel in St.Annes.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went to this Hotel Easter weekend, with my Daughter and her two boys aged 8 and 5 My Son and his Wife and and two children ,boy aged10 ,girl aged 4.It was a get together to celebrate the 4 year olds b'day. My daughter has been here quite a few times and she loves it.
The family rooms were excellent, very clean and comfortable. The double room, my Hubby and I had was very good too.
The food was good ,with a varied choice and plenty of it.
The nightly entertainment was spot on,catering for the children but also good for the adults.
The Staff were super.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannatomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night and that was enough. I booked the room on-line for four, which included two young children, with a sea view (room 20).On arrival reception staff were friendly and helpful, making sure we had a cot for our one year old. All seemed well, if a little cosy for the four of us, it was rough around the edges and feeling rather tired in need of a updating in the bathroom,with black mould on the tiles and chipped furniture. However the view was excellent.

We used the in house swimming pool, the changing room does have a family changing cubile, which is a great idea, but the mouldy wall wasn't pleasant. The foot bath leading to the pool had large floating balls of hair and fluff in it and the water in the pool was no-where near the 30 degrees it was reported to be!!

In the evening we found that the rather loud evening entertainment was taking place below our room until after 11o'clock. As a family with two young children why allocate such a room?? The bed was very uncomfortable. On the plus side, the dining room is smart and appealing but were not told by staff how the breakfast service operated. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

On checking out I spoke to the duty manager, who appeared sympathetic over our issue with the noise. However, another female member of staff butted in and stated that when we booked we were made aware of the noise associated with a room over the bar area, as it was on the booking confirmation e-mail. When I sated that I didn't, I was rudely told that it was an automatic email to everyone one and I should have read it properly!! She produced a copy and pointed out a paragraph which said some rooms may have noise, which we had not seen...and frankly she was rude and aggressive in her manner. On checking my email when I returned home the confirmation email was not the one she showed, ours was a summary without the detail and no mention of noise. I have emailed it back to the hotel to correct their misinformation.

Poor service from staff who could have easily prevented, or at least recified some of the issues.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not positioned over the bar area!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matrachel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The St ives hotel is situated on the South promenade in Lytham St Anne's. the location is perfect because your very close to the beach and round the corner, there are many shops to buy everyday needs. We have stayed a total of 5 times in the hotel, each being a weekend stay. the room numbers were: 19, 24, 53, 63 and 57. I have to say it is very hard to pick the best room. I'd probably say that 63 and 57 are both as good as each other.
63: inter connecting 2 bedroom : a nice, quiet and clean room.
57: same as 63 but with sea view.

if your looking for a hotel with facilities like : a pool, games room, outdoor play area, restraint, lounge, dance room, and an indoor play area then this is perfect for you! (especially families and old couples).

Room Tip: As stated in comment : any of those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for the zillionth time last weekend, Friday to Sunday & was great as usual. Kids had a ball & was glad to see that there was proper entertainment on for the whole family both Friday & Saturday night as previously there has been a singer on after the bingo on a Saturday which no offence but is a bit boring especially with all the kids there. My brother is still going on about being the bucket pulling champion ;0)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Property: St. Ives Hotel
Address: 7 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#8 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Ives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England
St Ives Lytham Annes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing