We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel looking forward to my next visit!”
Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel looking forward to my next visit!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just got back from visiting St Ives today, and was very pleased with our stay! It was the the most friendly hotel i have ever stayed at. The service was fantastic, the pool was very nice, the food is outstanding, the management were very friendly as Michael Webb the managing director took time out to actually speak to his guests and find out feedback, he made my nanas day (room 17, and 18), he was very nice and his wife Sharon Webb was also polite and took feedback well (afternoon tea) thank you for your gesture! Overall we were very pleased with our stay and couldnt resist to book again for rooms 17 and 18 with a balcony in September 16th! Thank you for a great stay and grat service keep up all your hard work!

Elaine, Victoria, and Phillip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria Cleo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    275
    118
    65
    43
See reviews for
448
163
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay at The St Ives. It is not 5 * but it is ideal for a family break. Rooms were fine and warm. We had our own lounge which was great for kids playing and sitting in once they'd gone to bed. Swimming pool was fantastic - kids swam at least twice each day. There was entertainment which suited all the family on a couple of nights.
Food was "ad lib" and good homemade quality. There wasn't as big a selectionor quality of puddings as in the past. I spoke to the owner about this and another couple of things and he promised to look into it! One of the issues had been addressed and resolved by the time we went for dinner an hour later!!
My youngest son left his jacket in the Games Room and it was posted out to us very promptly.
We will definately be back!

Room Tip: We had an apartment - 2 bedrooms and our own lounge - great for kids but you do have to go outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for one night. We were a party of 5 adults and 4 children aged 5, 2, 2 and 1. We have visited this family hotel many times in the past but never again. The hotel is shabby and nothing has been spent recently on it to improve it. Our rooms were clean and functional, but no shampoo just a tiny soap in the bathroom?
My main complaint was the fire alarm. Having young children we were in bed around 10pm. The alarm woke us at 11.30pm we had 3 rooms none near each other. My husband went to check out wether the alarm was genuine to be told not to worry they think it might be a fault and we could go to reception if we wanted! This involved walking down 2 corridors and 3 sets of stairs carrying children. The fire exit was 4 metres away from the room! We stayed after discussion with a member of staff who didn't seem at all bothered. even when we said the second room was occupied by one adult and 2 children he didn't ask where she was or offer help. We decided we were safer near the fire exit than staying in a crowded reception area.
The alarm then went off 3 more times in the night.
The next morning no apology but we were told the alarm system is out of date and doesn't work by a lad on front of desk.
The alarm went off again whilst checking out. Everyone again ignored it, including staff.
I contacted the hotel to complain when I asked to speak to the owner/manager I was told that their whereabouts was confidential!!
No return call to discuss my concerns and ruined night.
I would recommend anyone who booked to think twice.

Room Tip: Book in the Dalmeney next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micheleRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Webb, General Manager at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
rEDear Mrs Richardson, I am sorry to hear your review. I did in fact email you straight away as soon as I had your email forwarded to me by our head receptionist so apologies if this did not reach you. I will resend this to you.

I am very sorry to hear about your experience at the St.Ives Hotel on Saturday evening. We understand that it must have been very disruptive having the alarm go off on several occasions during the evening, especially with young families.

Unfortunately we could not identify the problem with the alarm when it went off on saturday morning. We identified the affected the zone and surveyed the area but no problem could be identified. We attempted to contact the fire panel emergency number but unfortunately they were not able to come out until sunday morning. On the advice of the fire brigade we kept on another member of staff to patrol the corridors in the evening. The safety of our guests was always paramount and I can assure you that we were in regular contact with the night managers throughout the incident.

Early Sunday morning the panel engineers identified the problem as a fault with detector in room 17. This has now been repaired and the fault removed from the panel. The panel is not out of date it was just unfortunate that a fault occured which was difficult to identify withour the panel specialists.

Regards the comments about the rooms. We have invested in new bedding and white linen and soft furnishings and we have an ongoing refurbishment program where we reinvest into the hotel.

I do hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future. If you wish to discuss any of the above in further details please email me at personnel@thestiveshotel.co.uk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed her for 1 night as a couple . Paid an extra £`15 for a "superior" room. The room was not in our view a superior room it just had a sea view. The room was ok for a standard room lovely comfy bed ,bedding and pillows. Surprised to find no toiletries,no bathmat ,no biscuits with the hospitality tray!I It must be 30 years since we have stayed in any hotel which does not provide toiletries! apparently you could purchase them from reception and you could ask for a bathmat at reception!! Why? This is not a Travelodge! We paid for Dinner Bed and Breakfast. We went down to dinner and the restaurant has obviously been newly redecorated and is very smart,nice tables and furniture really nice décor.Staff however are unwelcoming and we did not realise it but this is a help yourself canteen style dinner! You had to queue for your starter either soup or cold salads or mackerel. The portions were minute The rolls for the soup were in a basket with no tongs! So everyone had been touching them etc How unhygienic! We chose steak and had to wait for it to be cooked so that was ok better that than some of the other dishes which looked like theyd been there for ages! A " choice of seasonal vegetables and potatoes" was on the menu the choice however was limited to red cabbage and carrot batons! Hardly a choice! The food itself was well cooked and quite good but why do they not serve the starter and the desserts? It would make such a difference to the whole experience and there did seem to be enough staff to do this. There were quite a lot of children there and it did seem to be geared to families which is not a bad thing and there was entertainment on in the ballroom which we did not partake in but I am sure is appreciated by those with children and is a good idea.The breakfast the following morning was the same as the evening dinner and there was a very good choice of food hot and cold and cereal fruit and so on. the breakfast was very well cooked and really nice . We did not use the pool but I am sure it is very good Overall quite a nice hotel but room for improvement with the dining style as it lets it down. Also on checkout we were not asked whether we had had a good stay or anything,surely basic customer service was badly lacking here!

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for a superior room unless all you want is a view of the sea as the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

stayed here for a 1 night stay with partner and my little girl and what a treat it was evening meal superb get up help your self to drinks quality food and dessert breakfast exactly the same and same quality.swimming pool very nice and warm. bar area quite large and no waiting for service evening entertainment was very good for familys and funny aswell. area is fantastic just like the hotel we have found a gem local to us so will be going more ofter highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have visited for the past two years for a January weekend stay. Overall the entertainment and facilities make the hotel a worthwhile stay.
The breakfast and evening meals provide good quality and a wide range of options. Plenty for all the family and as the quantity is unlimited you can go for small portions and try more than one choice.
The hotel is a winner for children with separate play areas and afternoon and evening entertainment.
If I was being picky the drinks options at the bar are basic and the Friday night entertainment was a real mix and match of kids activities and adult humour that swing back and to all night with the same jokes I had heard the previous year.
Going back next year but will probably spend the Friday night in the quiet reception room or in the toy room with the three year old.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been coming to the St Ives for over 10yrs and it never fails to impress, even now with our 10yr old daughter. she loves the hotel, the food and the staff. Even when the weather is bad (snow today!) you can sit back, chill out and enjoy a relaxing day while the kids are safe and entertained.
The food is great and nothing is ever a bother for the team. Thank you for another great break! See you next time :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reidmrd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#13 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Property: St. Ives Hotel
Address: 7 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#8 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Ives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England
St Ives Lytham Annes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing