We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Lovely hotel in a very convenient position close to shops and sea front. The food was excellent and plentiful, the staff friendly and smartly dressed. We booked a superior room which was comfortable and very clean (but at the back of the hotel) and the bathroom was large with a good shower and bath. There is a super guests lounge which was rarely used while we were there; we spent one night sitting in front of the large TV in comfy leather chairs, with a couple of beers from the bar (which was less expensive than most!) completely on our own. The only thing we found that didn't work were the satellite channels, advertised as "multi channel satellite teletext television".
Would definitley return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippie3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    71
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
133
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We found the Bedford Hotel to be very good in every way.
Facilities very good- wireless connection, a well equiped gym, very good coffee shop.
Food - good choice, very good quality and well presented.
Hospitatlity - very warm welcome, nothing was too much and all staff very smart, friendly and professional (despite how busy they were).
Rooms - dining room very smart. Bedrooms clean and modern furnishings. Room small but it did not detract from our stay.
We would definately return.

  • Liked — Food and professionalism of staff
  • Disliked — size of room (but not a big problem)
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

I have just spent my third night at the Bedford ... and there is very little that can be faulted. I have stayed in 2 rooms, both of which are well appointed and have large bathrooms (although the bath does take an age to fill). The hotel is served by FREE wireless internet, which is an excellent move by the hotel. The rooms also have trouser presses and bath robes supplied as standard. The staff appear to be friendly, the rooms cleaned well and the only thing missing (my bugbear) is that there is no bottle of water supplied in the room as I prefer that to tea/coffee.

Breakfasts are good, and although I havent eaten dinner in the hotel, the menu does look good, albeit a little expensive for the casual diner, and the business traveller who would often prefer a snack in the room.

Location wise - excellent for the shops at Lytham St Annes and a M&S Food outlet is about 250 yards down the road and the sea front can be found a similar stroll away.

Will definately stay here again - I have booked for 2 nights next week to be honest, which is as good a recommendation as I can give.

  • Liked — Free internet access and great bedrooms
  • Disliked — No bottled water supplied and snacks menu lacking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Gordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2006

For a friendly and welcoming hotel in the Lytham St Annes area look no further. The staff are helpful and attentive and the rooms, each individually appointed, are clean and comfortable.Free WiFi is provided, a definite 'must have' for todays business traveller.The hotel is a short walk away from the seafront and the St Annes swimming pool. The food at the Bedford is excellent but if you want to ring the changes there are plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walk.
In short, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

Just took my paretnts away for a short break to this hotel, Its in a good spot 2mins from the front and 5mins stroll to St annes Town square .The food is yummy so much so that we all gained a few pounds . four courses plus coffee. The staff were very friendly and the parrott in reception was very entertaining. Our rooms were clean and comfortable but our bathroom was a little small. My mun has kidney dyalysis 3 times a week and we were able to arrange her dyalysis at Cliffton Hospital which is only 3 mins drive away. We all had a good time and found the hotel to be very relaxing .




























j

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Bathroom small
  • Tips/Secrets — up grade to superior or club class
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank chucklebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.2 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
959 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Property: The Bedford Hotel
Address: 307-311 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#2 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-owned hotel in the heart of Lytham St Anne's with a country house feel. Featured in the AA's "Britain's Best Hotels" guide. Award winning restaurant and superb customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedford Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing