We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday lunch ever.”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Absolutely stunning Sunday lunch,roast beef melted in the mouth excellent service and cannot wait to go again.The sweets were all home made and a thoroughly traditional meal just waiting to be enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 360 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

I went to The Bedford Hotel for Sunday lunch with my mother, aged over 90. We had just walked out of another establishment. I rang the Bedford, they said they had a table. When we arrived, we were told there would be a delay. We asked how long and were not sounding in the best frame of mind, by then tired and hungry. The head waitress must have picked up the vibes because she came back and said she had managed to sort out a table for us straightaway.

The dining room was full and there was a good buzz.

The food was superb. I had melon, excellent loin of pork, and chocolate mousse. My mother had home made vegetable soup, sea bass, and creme brulee.

And great value for money at under £20 per head for the three courses.

Also - my usual bugbears - no music or televisions!

We have been to the Bedford a lot of times over the years and it always impresses us with the quality of service and food.

On this occasion, it also rescued our day!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BassettHound33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for four nights on a dancing holiday. Try as I might I cannot find any fault with this hotel . The staff are pleasant and so helpful , the rooms are spotlessly clean as are the bathrooms. Tea making facilities were more than adequate.and the food in the restaurant was exceptional . The ballroom was first class. Would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northamptonpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned from my annual trip to The Bedford as always the welcome, hospitality and food were fantastic. As one of two non playing guests the staff always look after us. This is my eleventh year of visiting and have stayed in several of the rooms, all are clean and maintained to a consistently high standard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Littleanniepannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight as regular Hotel in St Anne's was not available.

Very friendly simple check in, room was absolutely fine, possibly a little old fashioned in decor but everyone has different tastes.

The only issue I had was the bathroom, water pressure was dreadful & the shower would have been fine as long as you weren't more than 5'6. Unfortunately I am taller than that so had to crouch, not ideal!

Breakfast next morning was served, I much prefer buffet but it was fine, hot & tasty so no real complaints there.

Overall, a very friendly comfortable hotel that I would certainly use again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank NorthEast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We cannot speak too highly of the Bedford Hotel- we have just spent 3 days there along with our son and daughter-in-law.The rooms were comfy and very clean well maintained, the food excellent, the staff excellent and made you very very welcome.They made us feel very special for our very special Diamond Wedding anniversary.Would like to say a BIG Thankyou and hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I cannot speak too highly of this hotel. Not being hotel residents but locals, my friend and I attended just for the evening dinner but everyone we spoke to enthused about the hotel, the staff, the accommodation and of course the food.
The food was AMAZING, perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The MC did a good job and everybody danced with enthusiasm.
Thank you to the others on table number 1 for your company, it was such an enjoyable evening.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank annieg34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.2 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#9 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#10 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 307-311 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#2 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: $116 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-owned hotel in the heart of Lytham St Anne's with a country house feel. Featured in the AA's "Britain's Best Hotels" guide. Award winning restaurant and superb customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedford Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing