We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
261
104
41
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
104
41
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the green eggs cooked to order traditional hotel large bay window night manager kippers lovely hotel sunday lunch large room wedding reception bar area last weekend sea front comfortable rooms wonderful stay biscuits breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 424 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018

My sister stayed at The Clifton for a couple of days and had a comfortable stay. The reception staff were very good and couldn't do enough for her. Because the first room wasn't suitable she was moved to the rooms overlooking the seafront. The breakfast was very good and the staff in general were superb! The night manager is a magician and not bad at that. She had a good time and thanks to the staff!!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
1  Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

I was not overly impressed with this hotel. It was impossible to read a paper or book given the level of constant noise within every area. Who wants to listen to piped pop music with breakfast or a waitress talking at the top of her voice about the fact she has £1000 worth of Premium Bonds.
Much updating needed on furniture - my chair in the restaurant was actually broken. Not as clean as I would like.
Did not like the menu system for dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel . My wife and I stayed there recently.
It’s a great location and everything about the hotel is class.
We had a large room at the front facing the sea . It had all the modern f ilitiez you would expect from a top hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SMLEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

I have stayed in lots of hotels for business, even though the rooms may be a bit dated. The whole experience was great. The dinner was lovely, with the little added touches of canapés to start, fresh hot breads. The staff were so friendly and attentive. The comfortable beds made for a great night with the quietness being the key. Breakfast was lovely, everything you could need and well cooked. You have any type of eggs cooked to order. Great little find. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
2  Thank FionaR1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Attended a wedding reception , from start to finish the staff were very professional nothing too much trouble, the place has a really friendly feel to it , plenty of staff and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.
The meal we had was in a really nice room set out for the wedding occasion, the service could not have been any better, food piping hot and tasty.
Really enjoyed it and would stay in the hotel no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews