We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clifton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifton Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Wow what can I say! Thank you for all the help in organising our wedding. The food, the ceremony room and the evening venue were all perfect. Nothing was too much trouble, the wine flowed, the staff were outstanding. I have stayed in lovely hotels all over the world but the character of the hotel is cosy and retains a traditional feel and the service is outstanding .My sister in law and her family stayed in one of the family rooms which was more like a suite and completely new. Our room was wonderful with large bay windows and sea views. If you are thinking of booking a stay in the Lytham area (Lytham is a lovely place) stay here. I would recommend Portofinos for a posh meal, Henrys is also nice and seniors does the best fish and chips. The hotel food is superb too. Thanks to all the staff, all our guests were made to feel special and have passed on their compliments too. Finally a big thanks to Bernard who organised our wedding from start to finish and made sure all went smoothly

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Karen M, Thank you for your recent review. The owners have invested a considerable amount over recent years and the staff work very hard ensuring that guest expectations are exceeded so we're delighted by your comments. Particularly Bernard! Lytham is a lovely place to visit and I'm sure people will appreciate the detail you have given. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    79
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
87
131
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well worth a try for a stay in Lytham. I booked this for myself and three golfing buddies because it is well placed for a great selection of good courses within easy reach. The hotel itself was first class. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and were not disappointed. We all agreed that a return visit to Lytham is on the cards and if we do I'm pretty certain we will use The Clifton Arms hotel as our base.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Philip1991, Thank you for your recent review. I'm delighted that you chose the Clifton Arms for your golf break and that you were impressed with the high standard of service we offer, along with the quality of food and facilities. We are in a great location, close to many local golf clubs so we do provide an excellent base when you're playing the fantastic courses around us. We hope to welcome you all again in the future.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
270 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed at the Clifon for 1 night as part of an event. The room rate was good which sometimes mean you get a poorer room. Although classed as a classic room 207 was more like a suite. The dressing area was huge with 2 easy chairs and flat screen tv and tea/coffee tray. No scrambling to find a socket for the kettle here. Everything had been thought through. The bedroom area housed a large wardrobe as well as bed and bedside tables and a side table. The large bathroom had a full sized bath and separate walk in shower . The only negative was having to walk downstairs with your case after alighting the lift on floor 2.
Our room aside, the service and attention we received were 1st class.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant and older style room with views of the sea. Nice touches with fresh flowers and quality china set this hotel apart. Continental choices were self service, fruit choice excellent. Eggs cooked fresh, or your choice of kippers, haddock etc.
a unique hotel , in a lovely setting.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear cel_longridge, Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the time you have taken and detail given in writing such fantastic comments. I'm delighted that you were so impressed with all aspects of your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horatio1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I have just returned from an amazimg afternoon tea at the clifton arms. I have had afternoon tea at the Ritz several times and this was equally as good. The bread was soft and fresh, the scones still warm and the cakes amazing. We were very well looked after by Russell and Andrew. They provided first class service and are a credit to the hotel. We were lucky enough to have a window seat and were able to enjoy the lovely view. I cannot fault the food or service in any way and looking forward to returning with my mum next month.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Horatio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Horatio1, Thank you for your recent review. My team are committed to providing a high standard of service so such great feedback is extremely appreciated. Our afternoon tea is constantly evolving but I feel we're now offering great value for money with the sandwiches, scones and cakes we're providing. All of which are made by our talented team of chefs. We are very lucky to have such a fantastic location and I'm delighted you were able to enjoy a window table. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Love to go to the bar area and chill lovely setting recently refurbished
BUT been to the hotel for a snack from the bar menu basically sandwiches -soup-chips etc
First sandwich awful two slices of packet bread little bit of ham and a very poor salad explained that it was not acceptable and was rudely advised that this was the norm after speaking to management it was resolved by a Scottish gentleman who gave us a voucher for the restaurant and problem resolved.
Returned two weeks ago sat in the window lovely view good service and then the dreaded sandwich hot roast sandwich two very small buns five crisps two slices warm pork and a spoon full of salad £10 now the view was lovely across the bay but the sandwich was something a two year old could do better no apple sauce no gravy not even fresh home made bread this is a disgrace no value for money no effort and no better than previous attempts come on let's have some value for money Zest Capriz beat you hands down for quality and value maybe I should sit in your bar and order a takeaway from one of the many good value for money bistros!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plumbingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear plumbingEngland, Thank you for your recent review. I appreciate your feedback and constructive criticism. Our brasserie menu is extremely popular so I'm surprised by your comments but I have spoken to those concerned to discuss the issues raised. Hopefully you will return to see that we do offer value for money considering we're the only 4 star hotel on the Fylde coast.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Although I don't live in Lytham, my mother does, so I quite often visit and we often have dinner at the Clifton brasserie. The food is always spot. My mother is very fussy (its a good job she doesn't read Trip advisor) and finding a place that consistently meets her exception is rare. However the Clifton does it every time for us and always manages to exceed our expectations
The food is always good and very well presented. Russell who runs the brasserie is excellent, he works extremely hard and is always extremely attentive and makes a fuss of us both. He always ensure that he accommodates what ever changes she needs to make from the menu, due to her allergies. However, yesterday was her birthday and the chef decorated the plate with her sorbet with Happy Birthday written in chocolate - lovely gesture from the chef and Russell. Its not often you get in this country such good and personable service without being charged the earth and Clifton has it, thanks to your staff.

ussell (bar staff) was on top form, he works really hard, he's hilarious and such a great asset to the hotel. The...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Abbey1, Thank you for your recent review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write such detailed feedback on the hotel. Russell will be particularly delighted. We always aim to deliver a high standard of food & service so I'm pleased that you find us consistently great. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culcheth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Good standard hotel recently refurbished and attractive decoration. The staff and management are friendly, efficient and hard working. The food in bar and restaurant is very good although a stay of more than 4 days could be repetitive.
Not ideal for children.
Rotarians could enjoy a Thursday lunch with friendly club and venue.
Lytham is a resort with promenade walks, character shops and Lowther Gardens and theatre.

Room Tip: Good front and side rooms may have traffic noise with open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodvalue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear John P, Thank you for your recent review. I'm delighted that we've provided you with such a high standard of service for over 40 years! The owners have invested considerably over recent years so I'm pleased that you appreciate the refurbishment. I understand your point regarding the menus for a lengthy stay which is why we offer a Restaurant menu for fine dining, Brasserie for a relaxed evening and the Roast/Catch which both change daily. I'm sure your information regarding our local Rotary club and Lytham as a great destination will be useful too. I hope you will be returning soon.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.9 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Arms Hotel

Property: Clifton Arms Hotel
Address: | West Beach, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clifton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clifton Arms
Clifton Arms Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing