We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Garlicks Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Lytham in Bloom.
Lythams Famous Green and windmill.
Four championship Golf Courses.
A Spectacular fire-work display held on the Saturday night of lytham proms festival.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stuartand...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just had our fifth holiday in lytham staying in garlicks cottage. As before we thoroughly enjoyed it sue is a lovely host making you feel welcome. The cottage has everything you need and is perfectly situated, already looking forward to our next visit in 2018. Cannot believe someone gave a bad review what planet are they from.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review, as always a pleasure to see you both and look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th visit in 2018. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenys b
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“wonder ful”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

we would like to say what a marvellous 2 weeks we spent at 2 garlics cottages yet again as this was our 3rd fourtnight in 3 years and we have booked the same 2 weeks in 2018.we find the cottage kept in excellent condition and fully equipped to enjoy your stay with your pet. which is fully encouraged by sue the owner and perfect host.the cottage is situated ideally for all shopping cafes and restaurants a good many of which are dod friendly .again we would like to thank sue for her overwhelming holliday cottage. looking forward to seeing you 15 08 2018 i .glen dave and chip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2017
Thank you glen, Dave and little chip, as always a pleasure to see you and look forward to welcoming you back again in 2018. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenys b
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“wonderful”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

we have stayed at garliks cottage 3 times for 2 weeks at atime,wehave booked agais in for july 2018.i dont know how anyone can complain. this delightful cottagei
set in a beautiful location with all the amenities fully available. sue the owner is a perfect host helpfull in every way .we wish you all the best sue see you next year

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review and look forward to seeing you both again in 2018. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan E
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Character!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2016

We have rented Garlicks cottage on two occasions including an extended stay in Jan and Feb of 2016.
Charming fishermans cottage. It is accurately represented by the photos attached to the advert. It is clean, cozy, comfortable and full of character!
Perfectly located within steps of town centre with its many restaurants, cafes, shops and beautiful promenade.
The cottage is accesible through a charming foot path and has a small garden in the front with bbq facilities and outdoor furniture.
Sue is a lovely host and was always available to assist and provide anything we needed upon request,
We would recommend this lovely cottage to anyone looking to stay in Lytham and plan to book for our family and friends in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review of Garlicks cottage, it was such a pleasure meeting you both and I look forward to welcoming your family and friends from Canada in the future. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionafe
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disapointing”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

On arrival to the Pet Friendly Garlick Cottage,take blankets if your pet enjoys the comfort of the sofa or bed as part of your family home environment,as this is not stated as a booking requirement.Garlick Cottage is extremely compact.There is one door to enter and exit the property.A tiny yard leads onto a public alley,pathway and is not screened off privately.The facilities shortfall on a number of things. The main bedroom has no dressing table area. The bathroom has limited storage for toiletries no rails for towels.The property is mostly surrounded by double yellow lines.For these reasons we stayed one of our six nights booked.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2017
Such a shame you did not enjoy your stay at the cottage and all that lytham has to offer. However in response to your grievances, I would like to say that responsible pet owners bring their own bedding and on the rare occasion they have forgotten, I will provide clean bedding as I did for you. Garlicks cottage is a 200 yr old shrimpers cottage with a small but pleasant front garden which is adequately screened from the pathway that serves the remaining 5 cottages. There is a small dressing table in the second bedroom if required. The bathroom has sufficient storage with wall cabinet with cupboard and drawers, plus a 2 draw chest, there are hooks on the back of bathroom door for towels. parking has never been a problem for guests, but you did come the weekend of lytham festival when parking can be difficult. Upon leaving, your partner told me twice that everything was absolutely fine in the cottage, but your elderly dog could not get up or down the stairs and was therefore unsettled. You yourself left without bringing any of your grievance's to me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gemma C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family getaway cottage”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My family, including two boys of 11 and 14, stayed in this lovely cottage for a few days over half term. The welcome pack including tea and biscuits on arrival was very well received after our long drive North. We found the cottage to be beautifully clean (no evidence of prior doggy visitors!) and well equipped. There's ample seating in the lounge for a family of four and there are also enough chairs around the table and outside for everyone to sit down.
We brought our bikes with us and Sue was very accommodating in allowing us to store them in her shed.
Lytham is a lovely town with many nice restaurants and cafes. There's a fantastic cycle route into Blackpool which is about 8 miles or so. We also took our bikes to the Forest of Bowland where there are mountain bike trails and lovely cycle routes.
There's loads to do in this area and Garlicks Cottage is a fantastic base from which to explore. Thanks Sue for a brilliant stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review of Garlicks cottage. Although the cottage is pet friendly it is so nice to hear that guests who visit without pets, find the cottage clean and comfortable. It was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely family and so pleased you found some great cycle routes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing