We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat it...”
Review of Seafarers

Seafarers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can't beat it...”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We fell into this little fish and chip shop by accident. Tired and hungry after travelling we walked into a few places and walked out before finding this little gem.

It was late on a Friday night and the kids had had sandwiches in the car so were not hungry. This was not a problem and all 6 of us were welcomed.

The staff were lovely, not to mention amusing. We had a fantastic evening with the best fish and chips we have ever had.

Portion sizes were large. Food was excellent.

The staff made the kids welcome and had a bit of banter with them. Eldest eventually gave in to a massive chunk of hot chocolate fudge cake and was given chocolate sauce with it. The gentleman even said he'd find a banana to put in the batter for mum when she mentioned how nice that would be! You can't get that sort of service and attention anywhere these days


I had fish cakes because I can't eat batter but everyone else had the fish special and everyone said it was the lightest crispest batter they and ever had.

Fantastic place. Kids by disappointed we could not go again the next night so we have had to promise to return for the lights and a fish and chip supper at the seafarers.

Thank you seafarers for a wonderful evening.

Fantastic....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 99Familyties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    129
    53
    27
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sadly gone down in standard since doing offers!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This used to be fabulous....light crispy batter, large pieces of succulently fresh fish- plentiful crisp and tasty chips and traditional mushy peas. They have run an offer for 2 for £8 and now that is just about ok value. Batter tacky, chips cold, sad and lots of brown and black marked potatoes, peas still as good, so this is some consolation!
Don't do offers if the standard is going to go down like this...we were going regularly, but wont be back anytime soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallymcdonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips we have ever had!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled on it by accident, Cosy, very friendly, amazing value , massive portions and probably the best fish and chips I have ever had and I've eaten a lot of fish and chips! Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“THE BEST EVER..”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went here last weekend and I have to say they are the best fish n chips EVER,everything tasted so good and we liked that the fish wasn't in really thick batter,we will bypass other chippy's and go to this one when we are in the area it really is the best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips in a typical sea side cafe”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We went on a very wet and cold Sunday afternoon not long before closing. A warm greeting. Really good fish and chips. Piping hot. Fresh fish. Great batter. Good honest service. Warm and cosy. This does not pretend to be anything other than a seaside cafe and it is a fabulous one. Reasonably priced and really good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darlomaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafarers also viewed

Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 

Been to Seafarers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing