We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing "four nights for the price of three" short break at the Glendower. I had asked for a prestige room and, although being a solo guest, I was given room 106, a spacious, bay-windowed, first floor room with a view across the dunes out to sea, well furnished, including a comfortable, enormous bed, flat screen, multi-channel TV (including teletext and subtitles [a real bonus for someone who is deaf], modern bath/shower, bath robe/slippers, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water, morning paper.........everything anyone could possibly need. The breakfast menu was incredible: cereals, muesli, fresh/dried fruits, best quality cold meats and cheeses, yogurts, a selection of breads, cakes and pastries, including the best croissants I have had for years (including on numerous visits to France!); there was also a choice of cooked breakfasts including the traditional English, smoked haddock, eggs benedict, to name just a few. Dinner was equally tempting with a good choice of beautifully cooked and served dishes for each of the three courses on offer. Throughout the hotel every single member of staff was welcoming, cheerful and helpful. I hope to return for more of this splendid hospitality.

Room Tip: I only saw the room I had (106). I paid very little more for a "prestige" room but even s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Good Morning,
What a wonderful review, thank you so much for all your positive feedback. I am sorry it has taken a couple of weeks to reply, we have been decking the halls and making everywhere a winter winter wonderland ready for Christmas and the party season.
On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel we wish you a very "Merry Christmas" and we hope you will return to visit in the new year.
Best Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    256
    105
    33
    21
See reviews for
216
345
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Comfortable clean rooms and lovely breakfast. The hotel has a great bar and communal area, and we really enjoyed the snooker room. Next time we are bringing our gym stuff as the new gym looks great!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank claraboDerbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Good Morning,
Great news that you found the hotel to be lovely during your stay with us. I can confirm that the new gym has been a great addition to the hotel, the personal training zone is a must if you fancy not being able to walk for three days lol !!
We very much look forward to seeing you in the hotel sometime in the not too distant future.
Best Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel and find. Was looking for a hotel to stay over with my wife and two boys to save driving home after seeing the lights. This hotel is perfect, away from the bustle and noise of Blackpool yet only 10 mins away. Family room was fantastic, breakfast was lovely and hotel was clean. My 5 yr old was gutted to go home and declared that we will have to come back and stay longer. I agree with him and we will be back to stay longer.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank thebabyfacedassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Good Morning
Its a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and what an accolade from the younger generation ...he sounds very grown up for a 5 year old !!
Please pass on to your son how happy we are that he is looking forward to returning, we shall certainly enjoy having you to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed here many times - Its always a pleasure.

Now my children are a little older its nice to stay somewhere without hoardes of children running around! Like most of the seafront hotels in St Annes.

Shame there's no pool though

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello there,
Always good to hear returning customers enjoying themselves and not being disappointed with our continuing efforts.
We very much look forward to another return visit from your good self's.

Wish very best wishes
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I with our 12 yr old daughter stayed at the Glendower for one night on 27th October, check in was fine and staff were friendly. We were allocated room 102 and wow, this room has a sea view and was very big, the decor was a little dated however very clean. The room had a double and single bed which was great for our daughter. The beds were extremely comfortable and we had a perfect night sleep. The breakfast was well presented and plentiful, I opted for the salmon which was gorgeous. One little disappointment was when we entered the dining room for breakfast we were shown to our table, however we still waiting for a further 15 minutes before I had to ask a member of staff for the breakfast procedure, after which our order was duly taken. Overall this is an great hotel and in a great location, I would definately recommend this hotel and will definately be returning again. Well done to the management and staff.

Room Tip: Room 102 is great :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Good Morning,
Thank you so much for the lovely review, it is great to hear that you had a perfect nights sleep. I have a word with the restaurant team to reiterate the importance of explaining the breakfast procedure to guests which have never visited before so hopefully that situation shouldn't arise again.
We are just about to start refurbishment of the restaurant so we would be delighted for you to visit us again to see the improvement's we have made.
Best regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were attending a 65th in St Annes and needed a base for the night.
Check in was good, and room comfortable and clean.
Slightly disappointed when we heard someone else checking in being offered a morning call and newspaper when we were not but not really an issue.
Breakfast was ample with choice of cereals, juices and fruit followed by fairly good choice of breakfast ranging from full english to smoked salmon on toast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b16dnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review of the hotel I am glad you found us to be comfortable for your short stay with us and that you enjoyed your breakfast experience here at the hotel.
On check in the form you fill in asks whether you require a wake up call or newspaper maybe the guests next to you hadn't filled it in and the receptionist was double checking that they had noticed it....just a thought !
I do hope you will come and stay with us again sometime maybe for a 70 th !

Many thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

When planning our Wedding we had great support and help from Victoria who made us feel at ease with the whole process and fulfilled everything that we wanted on the day of our wedding. On the day the room was jaw dropping and had the civil ceremony and the evening reception all in one place. Richard was an immense and his help on the day was fantastic, all the staff including Joe played there part to make it a magical day. Our Bridal suite was huge and had a lovely view over the sand dunes and out to sea. I would recommend the Glendower to anyone getting married as they are professional , great food and lovely location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrightyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Good Afternoon to the newlyweds,
Great to hear your favourable comments here on trip advisor I hadn't realised you were a prolific reviewer !! Can I just say what an absolute pleasure it was helping you organise your wonderful wedding, you were both fantastic to work for and like you said everything looked just perfect especially the lovely bride Karen.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, and it goes without saying we all wish you the very best for the future.

Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.8 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Address: North Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished 3 star Best Western Glendower Hotel in Lytham St Annes is a beautiful period building ideally situated in one of the finest seafront positions on the Fylde Coast, yet located just 3 miles outside Britain's largest family resort of Blackpool. The 60-bed hotel is surrounded by four championship golf courses including the world famous Royal Lytham less than two miles away. We pride ourselves on offering a value-for-money hotel experience, which emphasizes good living in comfortable surroundings in a resort renowned for its elegance. But we are especially proud of our commitment to good food. Food is a passion at the Glendower and our kitchen team have deservedly received many plaudits for their creative flair in the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lytham St Annes
Best Western Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's Best Western
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing