We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel several times in the past and have always booked a superior room overlooking the sea. This was a late booking just for the one night so we booked a room at the rear of the hotel. View was not good but the room was surprisingly spacious, clean and fairly recently decorated/updated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolsGlossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Good Morning,
Thank you for reviewing us here at the hotel, I am pleased that as a valued and regular guest you have taken the time to compliment us. I am glad you found the non sea view room comfortable and spacious.
I hope you choose to return and stay with us again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 945 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

use a conference room at this hotel twice a year and as always staff can not do enough for you.walking distance of st.annes shops and resturants and on sea front.renovated rooms are very good with all mon cons.first class breakfast.nothing to dislike about the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Good Morning,
Thanks for the super short and sweet review, much appreciated.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We did an internet deal and asked for a quiet twin room. The room was fine at first - quiet, at the back of the hotel, well equipped, spacious, modern furnishings, extra blanket, hypoallergenic pillows etc. The beds were extremely comfortable. So we opened the bedroom window and slept - until 6.30 when an extremely loud air vent (I think to the heating system) woke me up. I closed the window, there is good double glazing, turned on the radio and went back to sleep. There were a couple of minor glitches in the room - the light over the basin didn't work and the basin itself had a big crack in it.

On arrival the receptionist was charming and efficient. After a walk on the beach we wanted something to eat but not really a full meal so the bar menu was suggested. The bartender (Louise) was brilliant. The nicest place to sit was in the lounge - well away from the bar itself, no problem - we'll bring the food and drinks over. The house wine was good. Neither my wife nor I could remember having a better steak / frites from anywhere (including France). There were no desserts on the bar menu but if we had wanted one they would raid the restaurant menu. There was a small but very good selection of malt whiskies for my nightcap.

Perfect. We felt cared for.

At breakfast though the service was simply slow and inefficient. Our coffee order was forgotten as was the toast. The layout of the cereals, bread etc. looked uninspiring (although everything tasted good). Our scrambled eggs were somewhat overcooked although the rest of the hot breakfast was delicious. We weren't in a hurry so it didn't matter but they could raise their game

It's a family run hotel and it has the strengths and perhaps the weaknesses that go with that. At breakfast it was clear that a lot of the guests were repeat customers - and deservedly so.

We would happily go back - if for nothing else the Steak Frites!!

Room Tip: For quiet, avoid 262 or anywhere near the boiler vents unless you are going to keep the windows shut...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello there,
Thank you for taking the time to write your extensive review of the hotel with both the good and niggly points. All the issues you have raised will be used to help us better understand how we may improve to make you stay more enjoyable as a family run business your satisfaction is very important to us and the feedback you have given us will be put to good use.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

2 Handicapped people reserved a room near to the lift for 4 nights. I received confirmation by e-mail but it didn't mention the room number. I booked the room by telephone and discussed our needs with the receptionist. When we arrived the room had been given to someone else. All they could offer was a basic room that was along a long corridor away from the lift. We only stayed one night because the room was awful- the worst we have ever had. The smell in the bathroom from the shower drain. was awful.

Room Tip: If you book a room make sure the room number is stated on the confirmation.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Good Morning,
Firstly I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the bedroom you were allocated too, our confirmation only stated that you needed lift access not a disabled room, hence we did move you as another resident specifically requested the room you were in, it is common practice that rooms do get moved around for a number of different reasons.
We would be delighted if you chose to stay with us again to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a Prestige Sea View room, please do not hesitate to contact me personally so that I may arrange this for you.
Once again apologies for the inconvenience you suffered.
Best Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just back from a weekend at The Glendower. I travelled with my wife, youngest daughter and elderly parents. We got 2 sea view double family rooms which were spotlessly clean with very comfy beds and lovely decor. The bar area was great with a baby grand piano in the corner where on occasion there is a resident pianist so we`re told. We actually didn`t eat at the hotel as my parents dietary requirements are complicated but did view the snack and Restaurant menus which sounded fabulous.Plenty of parking as well. Will definately return as The Glendower is a perfect hotel for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good Morning,
Wow 5 out of 5, always brings a smile to mine and the teams faces, we use all our reviews as a training tool to look to ways into which we can improve, and I am delighted that you felt 100 % satisfied during your break with us.
I am delighted that you will choose to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
Many Thanks
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Decided to stay overnight at the Bank Holiday and were extremely satisfied with The Glendower overall. Good value for the price we paid although the classic room is quite small but is functional and clean. The breakfast is well presented with plenty of choice and we also decided to book the evening meal which was excellent value and good quality. This is a good hotel offering value for money and is in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbump5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good Morning,
I am so pleased that on your short break you chose to stay with us and that you found our food to be excellent and that you were comfortable during your time at the hotel. I hope that you will return to us when you are next visiting the area.
Best Wishes
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was travelling for business and had a very late arrival which I called the hotel earlier in the day to advise. On arrival the gentleman manning the reception desk was so welcoming to a very tired traveller. He even carried my bag and took me to my room which was lovely as my brain was definitely not working at 1am in the morning. The room looked freshly decorated and the bed was very comfortable. I have to say i was expecting not a great sleep as away from home but i slept straight through. The shower had very good water pressure. I have stayed here a few times and every time they have been great. Definitely recommend this to any person looking for a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello there,
It is gratifying to hear that you felt that you have been well looked after, I am surprised you have managed to take the time to review us whilst having to tear around the country on business.
Thank you very much for your favourable comments, and we hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lytham St Anne's
0.5 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,001 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#1 of 1 in St. Annes-on-Sea
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#10 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel

Address: North Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2NQ, England (Formerly Best Western Glendower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: $78 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished 3 star Best Western Glendower Hotel in Lytham St Annes is a beautiful period building ideally situated in one of the finest seafront positions on the Fylde Coast, yet located just 3 miles outside Britain's largest family resort of Blackpool. The 60-bed hotel is surrounded by four championship golf courses including the world famous Royal Lytham less than two miles away. We pride ourselves on offering a value-for-money hotel experience, which emphasizes good living in comfortable surroundings in a resort renowned for its elegance. But we are especially proud of our commitment to good food. Food is a passion at the Glendower and our kitchen team have deservedly received many plaudits for their creative flair in the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lytham St Annes
Best Western Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's Best Western
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing