We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“staff make it good”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

use a conference room at this hotel twice a year and as always staff can not do enough for you.walking distance of st.annes shops and resturants and on sea front.renovated rooms are very good with all mon cons.first class breakfast.nothing to dislike about the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Good Morning,
Thanks for the super short and sweet review, much appreciated.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    264
    106
    33
    21
See reviews for
231
353
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
292 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We did an internet deal and asked for a quiet twin room. The room was fine at first - quiet, at the back of the hotel, well equipped, spacious, modern furnishings, extra blanket, hypoallergenic pillows etc. The beds were extremely comfortable. So we opened the bedroom window and slept - until 6.30 when an extremely loud air vent (I think to the heating system) woke me up. I closed the window, there is good double glazing, turned on the radio and went back to sleep. There were a couple of minor glitches in the room - the light over the basin didn't work and the basin itself had a big crack in it.

On arrival the receptionist was charming and efficient. After a walk on the beach we wanted something to eat but not really a full meal so the bar menu was suggested. The bartender (Louise) was brilliant. The nicest place to sit was in the lounge - well away from the bar itself, no problem - we'll bring the food and drinks over. The house wine was good. Neither my wife nor I could remember having a better steak / frites from anywhere (including France). There were no desserts on the bar menu but if we had wanted one they would raid the restaurant menu. There was a small but very good selection of malt whiskies for my nightcap.

Perfect. We felt cared for.

At breakfast though the service was simply slow and inefficient. Our coffee order was forgotten as was the toast. The layout of the cereals, bread etc. looked uninspiring (although everything tasted good). Our scrambled eggs were somewhat overcooked although the rest of the hot breakfast was delicious. We weren't in a hurry so it didn't matter but they could raise their game

It's a family run hotel and it has the strengths and perhaps the weaknesses that go with that. At breakfast it was clear that a lot of the guests were repeat customers - and deservedly so.

We would happily go back - if for nothing else the Steak Frites!!

Room Tip: For quiet, avoid 262 or anywhere near the boiler vents unless you are going to keep the windows shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello there,
Thank you for taking the time to write your extensive review of the hotel with both the good and niggly points. All the issues you have raised will be used to help us better understand how we may improve to make you stay more enjoyable as a family run business your satisfaction is very important to us and the feedback you have given us will be put to good use.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greasby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

2 Handicapped people reserved a room near to the lift for 4 nights. I received confirmation by e-mail but it didn't mention the room number. I booked the room by telephone and discussed our needs with the receptionist. When we arrived the room had been given to someone else. All they could offer was a basic room that was along a long corridor away from the lift. We only stayed one night because the room was awful- the worst we have ever had. The smell in the bathroom from the shower drain. was awful.

Room Tip: If you book a room make sure the room number is stated on the confirmation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Good Morning,
Firstly I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the bedroom you were allocated too, our confirmation only stated that you needed lift access not a disabled room, hence we did move you as another resident specifically requested the room you were in, it is common practice that rooms do get moved around for a number of different reasons.
We would be delighted if you chose to stay with us again to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a Prestige Sea View room, please do not hesitate to contact me personally so that I may arrange this for you.
Once again apologies for the inconvenience you suffered.
Best Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just back from a weekend at The Glendower. I travelled with my wife, youngest daughter and elderly parents. We got 2 sea view double family rooms which were spotlessly clean with very comfy beds and lovely decor. The bar area was great with a baby grand piano in the corner where on occasion there is a resident pianist so we`re told. We actually didn`t eat at the hotel as my parents dietary requirements are complicated but did view the snack and Restaurant menus which sounded fabulous.Plenty of parking as well. Will definately return as The Glendower is a perfect hotel for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Good Morning,
Wow 5 out of 5, always brings a smile to mine and the teams faces, we use all our reviews as a training tool to look to ways into which we can improve, and I am delighted that you felt 100 % satisfied during your break with us.
I am delighted that you will choose to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
Many Thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Decided to stay overnight at the Bank Holiday and were extremely satisfied with The Glendower overall. Good value for the price we paid although the classic room is quite small but is functional and clean. The breakfast is well presented with plenty of choice and we also decided to book the evening meal which was excellent value and good quality. This is a good hotel offering value for money and is in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbump5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Good Morning,
I am so pleased that on your short break you chose to stay with us and that you found our food to be excellent and that you were comfortable during your time at the hotel. I hope that you will return to us when you are next visiting the area.
Best Wishes
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was travelling for business and had a very late arrival which I called the hotel earlier in the day to advise. On arrival the gentleman manning the reception desk was so welcoming to a very tired traveller. He even carried my bag and took me to my room which was lovely as my brain was definitely not working at 1am in the morning. The room looked freshly decorated and the bed was very comfortable. I have to say i was expecting not a great sleep as away from home but i slept straight through. The shower had very good water pressure. I have stayed here a few times and every time they have been great. Definitely recommend this to any person looking for a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello there,
It is gratifying to hear that you felt that you have been well looked after, I am surprised you have managed to take the time to review us whilst having to tear around the country on business.
Thank you very much for your favourable comments, and we hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here Bank Holiday weekend and it was a lovely break. We have stayed here before so knew what to expect, the rooms are lovely, we had a back room this time as an upgrade wasn't available until our second night, so obviously no view but the room itself was really nice for a basic double, well equipped and lovely decor. The second day we moved to a sea view, which was brilliant, i would recommend paying extra for the sea view, plus the room was bigger. The hotel staff moved our bags for us and had the room ready by lunchtime. Can't fault the staff, they are all friendly and efficient.
The breakfast was good, not the biggest portions but nicely cooked. My only complaint was the scrambled eggs which i had with smoked salmon on toast, but the toast was very soggy as the scrambled eggs had far too much water in them!
The hotel is modern and well decorated, with a nice bar area, plenty of comfy seating, also got a gym which was well equipped.
The only downside to our stay was there being a wedding on the first night, so the car park was chocker when we got there and the wedding guests completely took over the entrance, reception and the bar, some of them quite ignorant, felt like a battle to check in and get to the stairs to our room, the hotel could really do with finding an area for wedding guests to wait, but it was nice having the red carpet out for our arrival!!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and heartening to know that you are a return customer. Unfortunately you are the 2nd person to mention the scrambled eggs, as previously mentioned I will look into ways of improving them.
As a hotel, we of course do have functions on occasionally, however there perhaps may be room for improving our customer journey at these times.
We shall hopefully see you again for a return visit sometime in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.5 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#13 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
786 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Address: North Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2NQ, England (Formerly Best Western Glendower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished 3 star Best Western Glendower Hotel in Lytham St Annes is a beautiful period building ideally situated in one of the finest seafront positions on the Fylde Coast, yet located just 3 miles outside Britain's largest family resort of Blackpool. The 60-bed hotel is surrounded by four championship golf courses including the world famous Royal Lytham less than two miles away. We pride ourselves on offering a value-for-money hotel experience, which emphasizes good living in comfortable surroundings in a resort renowned for its elegance. But we are especially proud of our commitment to good food. Food is a passion at the Glendower and our kitchen team have deservedly received many plaudits for their creative flair in the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lytham St Annes
Best Western Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's Best Western
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing