We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas twixt new year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas twixt new year”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Following our recent visit to this hotel my husband and I both agreed that the standards and cleanliness were faultless. The staff were excellent as was the food. This is not our first visit but will definitely not be our last.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good but added bonus of a seaview would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Happy New Year !!
It was lovely to hear your comments regarding your festive stay with us. We all really enjoyed having you with us over Christmas & New Year and hope that you will consider staying with us before 2014 is upon us.

Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    264
    106
    33
    21
See reviews for
231
352
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have been to the Glendower for at least five years for the New Years Eve package. We have always been impressed by the cleanliness if the rooms, the exceptional friendliness and helfulness of the staff. The food is good, (not cordon bleu) but more than adequate.

The New Years Eve party was good fun with the usual canapes and champagne before and champagne toast to bring the New Year in. Entertainment on the whole was good especially the comedian on New Years Day evening, he had everyone in stitches!!

The only complaint this year was that the public rooms were cold, need to up the temperature for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank struthLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello there Valued Customers,
5 years running, we are truly honoured that you have returned to us year after year. We are just in the process of organising the festivies for December and really hope that you enjoy them, I shall put central heating on permenantly as a priority!!

Best Wishes
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Following our visit to the Glendower.Many Thanks for a great stay.They never fail to give top class service.They are so helpfull and welcoming you always feel like valued Guest.can not wait for our next stay next month.
Mrs Greenwood.
Bolton.

Room Tip: Worth every penny to up grade to a Prestige sea view Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisure88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that we provided top quality service for your stay and hope that your return this month can match the service that you had in your previous stay, if not top it. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Many Thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Following our visit to the hotel in July 2012 when we were not entirely happy with our stay my wife and I went back for a short break to see if things had improved.
Our biggest concern last year was the poor restaurant service, this time we had no complaints at all. although the restaurant was a little quieter than in July the service was excellent, the two young men in the restaurant were extremely pleasant, friendly and efficient. They asked if everything was okay at every course during our meals. They are both a credit to the hotel and should be commended for their work ethic. As we said in July the food was very good when it arrived, this time the food was excellent at all meals, especially the braised sirloin which was delicious.
All of the staff that we met during our stay were very friendly and dealt with everything that we asked straight away. This has renewed our faith in the hotel and we will be looking forward to our next stay there

Room Tip: The Prestige Sea View rooms are excellent however we have also stayed in rooms at the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Good Morning,
Thank you for taking the time to re-review the hotel and the team on you return visit. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with the superior service one should expect when staying with us here at the hotel.
Your comments are greatly appreciated and help us in ensuring we keep are standards at the highest level.

Many Thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute because we were attending a friend's birthday party just before Xmas. We decided not to drive home, so was looking for a cheap Guest House. We came across the Glendower and I much prefer a larger hotel compared to a B and B or Guest House. Comparing prices, this place was great ! Was greeted by a lovely receptionist at 2pm. She gave us our room number, but then upgraded us to a larger room - after asking if we had problems with stairs - because it was on the top floor. We said no ! So got an amazing room overlooking the beach. So clean with extra bedding in wardrobe, if required. Lovely towels, soap and shampoo (which I forgot) - So that was a real bonus for me !! We went Xmas shopping in afternoon then returned to Glendower for quick change. Then wondered how to get to our Party. No problem. Free taxi call from hotel took us there and back. ! Next morning, we had a vast choice at breakfast. Beautifully presented. Can't fault this hotel - and I have been to many all over the World.

Room Tip: We loved the upper room due to the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie1961_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Excellent news that we were able to accomodate you with your last minute booking, and thank you for the 5 star review. I hope that if you are in the area in the future that you will consider staying with us again , we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.
And of course if possible we will upgrade you to a seaview!!

Best Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in two Prestige Sea View rooms for a two night break on 2nd Jan, Although the hotel was quiet after the New Year the staff were very welcoming and very obliging and helpful throughout our short stay. Our rooms including bathrooms were very clean, we'll equipped, comfortable and spacious. The food was of a very high standard, with good choices, nicely presented with attentive service. The public areas were nicely furnished with comfortable seating throughout. The hotel was in a good location and the surrounding area is lovely
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Good Morning,

Great to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us, the first couple of weeks are traditionally a quiet time for us, however we do not rest on our laurels and strive to give a high standard of personnal service and excellent food no matter when you come to visit.
We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully sometime in 2013.
Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Enjoyed an excellent staff party,the food was fantastic,the lamb a few of us chose was perfection.The all inclusive drinks package was definitely well worth it,the entertainment was great and a thoroughly enjoyable evening washad by us all,The staff were marvellous we would definitely come back again next year.we have had many a christmas party at various hotels in st annes but this was the best by far for everything!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mshellBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi There,

Fantastic to hear how much you and your party enjoyed your Christmas party with us here at the hotel. Lovely to hear that you all enjoyed every aspect of the event, and that you will be returning.
We have had some great feedback and most people have rebooked for next year , so we hope to see you getting down on the dancefloor next year !!

Best Wishes
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.5 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#13 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
784 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Address: North Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2NQ, England (Formerly Best Western Glendower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished 3 star Best Western Glendower Hotel in Lytham St Annes is a beautiful period building ideally situated in one of the finest seafront positions on the Fylde Coast, yet located just 3 miles outside Britain's largest family resort of Blackpool. The 60-bed hotel is surrounded by four championship golf courses including the world famous Royal Lytham less than two miles away. We pride ourselves on offering a value-for-money hotel experience, which emphasizes good living in comfortable surroundings in a resort renowned for its elegance. But we are especially proud of our commitment to good food. Food is a passion at the Glendower and our kitchen team have deservedly received many plaudits for their creative flair in the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lytham St Annes
Best Western Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's Best Western
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing