We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make-over needed”
Review of The Lindum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lindum Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stopped here for one night earlier this month on room only basis. although the room was clean the hotel is in need of a major make over operation. This hotel is primarily for OAP and even though we are in our 60:s we do like a more upmarket hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dav2ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hello There

Many thanks for your review. Whilst we admit we are not perfect I would have do dis agree that the term Major Makeover Operation is valid. We market ourselves as a good quality two star hotel. We have an on going refurbishment programme and we try our best to ensure all areas of the hotel are kept up to a good standard that meets the current guidelines. It may be worth considering a higher rated hotel or a "More Upmarket" one next time you decide to book a holiday

Many thanks

Ben Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 427 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a four night break at the Lindum Hotel and were well satisfied the service and food. We had a top floor sea view room with a superb view. A small lift took us almost there just a few steps to the top floor. The room had good sized bathroom although it was quite cold the first night, this was soon sorted after a word with reception. We thought the food was excellent and served by very pleasant staff who made us feel very welcome. The lounge area could possibly do with a few table lamps to give a bit more atmosphere. All in all the hotel is well worth a visit and in a superb location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hello Peter

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hotel and the small problem with the heating was soon resolved. We are currently looking at ways to enhance our public areas and I shall pass on your comments regarding lighting to the directors

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Ben Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

having stayed at the lindum many times and found it excellent I suppose one visit had to be a little less good than before and in my opinion the standards have slipped but only very very slightly .
for me there were two areas where the holiday had slipped a little .
firstly the food . where as in previous visits there was no way I could have seen it improved this time that was not so . what we did have was still very good it was just the choice that was not so good .for example of the choice of starters EVERY DAY there was grapefruit , ok with a different topping but still every day is too much imo .as with melon, again melon was a starter every day .also there was salmon on the menu 3 of the 4 nights we stayed , again differently presented , smoked one day , pate 2 days and poached another day .
portions were very generous , quality was very good but choice was the problem .
also there seemed to be a change to offering a "roast meat dinner" most nights but some of the very very brilliant usual choices , especially the fish pie , have disappeared from the menu , please bring it back .also strangely there were no chips offered any night where they were offered in the past with fried fish , and for a coastal hotel we used to enjoy this choice .
the dessert choice as ever was totally unbeatable .
service as usual was also perfect .
my other problem this visit was the whist aspect of the holiday which was to be honest the only reason for our visit . while the whist host was as usual absolutely wonderful I do have to state here that one difference this visit spoilt the whole holiday for me .
non resident whist players were invited to join in . on economic grounds I object strongly , I personal paid £179 for the break , ok got the hotel services and food , but the reason for our visit was the whist. local players were invited in to play for only £2 a session . but worst of all one of these players was a novice player and used OUR HOLIDAY to learn how to play , totally unfair , we do not pay that amount of money to be used as teachers , we come for games with experienced players . this is enough for me to seriously reconcider future visits to the lindum .
we are going again in December hoping things will be back to their normal perfect standard and will see how things go and will judge it at that time
please lindum reconcider this policy , you are the best whist holiday hotel in Lytham lets keep it that way .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve_and_oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello There

Many thanks for your review and we are glad to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding your comments on the areas you have addressed. Firstly our menu.

Our dining room menu is a table d'hote style menu. This is a daily changing menu with a choice of 7 starters, 3 main courses and (as i am sure you will read from other reviews) a colossal dessert table. We always have a varied choice of Soup. Melon and Grapefruit and the style and taste changes daily. This is down to customer demand and they are our most popular starters ordered.
I have double checked our menus from that week, yes Salmon did appear on the menus however it was varied and only once was it a main course. On the nights it appeared as a starter there was still another choice of 6 starters to choose from. Again Salmon is a very popular option amongst our other guests.
Our Fish Pie is always a popular option and I have spoken to our catering team who have ensured that it will appear as an option in future on 4 night breaks. We cannot offer a Fried fish and chips option when we have large numbers of guests in the hotel due to the speed that a dish of its type deteriorates and the demand it would have on our kitchen team. You can however purchase chips as an extra side order.

We appreciate what you have said with regards to non residents playing whist and we are aware of how much you have paid. We only every allow non residents to play when our sessions are low on numbers. This is authorized on the advise of our Whist Organiser 'Edith' I have been informed that non residents were only brought in on Morning sessions which are not compulsory. If there are not enough residents wanting to play morning sessions this is the only alternative. I have spoken to Edith however and have addressed your comments and we shall make sure that in future any non resident players are checked that there capabilities of playing the game are to an adequate standard before allowing them to join. Unfortunately however I can confirm that this is something that will continue if morning session numbers are low.
We hope that this helps you. Our December Holiday is now fully booked and with our festive plans for 2013 we are sure that you will have another faultless stay at The Lindum

Kind Regards

Ben Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had to go to Lytham St Annes at short notice and because it's Blackpool Illuminations time, everywhere was getting booked up fast &not every hotel is happy to take dogs.
Thanks to Christina on Reception, we got a room with lovely views over the seafront and they were very happy to take the pooch. Great breakfast and evening meal- all food was excellent.
We were dashing around but did enjoy our short stay. All the staff we met were friendly & attentive.
Yes, the rooms do need updating and there are older people there but we would be more than happy to go back

Room Tip: Sea view room was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceb346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello There

Thanks for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your break at The Lindum. We shall pass on your thanks to Christina and look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind Regards

Ben Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Book break at short notice , spoke to Oscar who is a great ambassador for the hotel . Room was good size , very clean ok bathroom was small but very functional good shower , with plenty of hot water .
Bar area good , had a few drinks :
Location very handy nice walk into town .
What really was surprising and the reason I booked is all the reviews state how good the food is !
We cannot praise the hotels staff enough , the food for this type of establishment is beyond expectations , choice, presentation , service excellent and good value !!!!!!
Give a try , you will not be disappointed !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samelainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello There

Many thanks for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed everything about your stay. And we have passed on your praise to Oscar who we agree is a fantastic asset to the company. Hopefully this will not boost his ego too much !!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lindum soon

Kind Regards

Ben Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was awful. The hotel in in dire need of decoration, is only suitable for over 60s and is very uncomfortable. It is neither clean nor inviting. We felt like we were in. An old fokes home. Do not bother. Stay at home

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave2356743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your review.

The fact that you suggest our hotel is uncomfortable yet only suitable for the over 60's is a slight contradiction as im sure that elderly people are welcomed by comfortable surroundings ?

As im sure you will see from many previous reviews our cleanliness and service can not be faltered and having checked the room you stayed in ( a large en suite family room) I can confirm our cleaning procedures ensured it was in a more that acceptable condition.

We are a family run high end 2 star hotel whos prime business is coach parties & groups whos main market are the over 60's we do not portray that we are anything else. Also if you research the area where you are staying you will see that St Annes is an area that attracts a large number of elderly tourists due to its easily accessible shops and sea front.

Regards

Ben Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is well worth a visit. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent, always well prepared, piping hot and beautifully presented. The sweets are to die for, the only problem was there were too many to choose from. Our room, whilst a little small was comfortable and clean. The bathroom would benefit from an upgrade but on the whole was adequate. There was a lift in the hotel but this only held three people at one time and this let the hotel down a little but the mealtimes were staggered so the best thing was to wait a while before going down to the dining room. All in all we had a lovely stay and would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had a sea view. We were able to have our window open day and night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindumreply, Public Relations Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hello there,

Many thanks for your kind review and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We are constantly making refurbishments to all of our rooms as part of an on going programme where occupancy levels allow us to do so.

Our lift is very small and if we could make any changes to this it would be the first thing we did. Unfortunately due to the tight constraints of the building there is literally no where else we could site a lift. Our current lift did recently have a new motor and parts fitted which we hope will make it more efficient. We certainly agree with your point about our meal times and we alway try to encourage our guests to go for dinner at their own leisure

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards

Ben Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lindum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lindum Hotel

Address: 63-67 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: $68 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lindum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has been in the hands of the Rowley family for over 40 years, providing a perfect combination of quality, warmth and courteous service that has long been our hallmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Lindum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lindum Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing