We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, Excellent and Great Value”
Review of Jack's Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Jack's Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I dined at Jacks last Saturday and what a fantastic evening we had - service, quality and atmosphere was just as we expected, starters of salmon and chicken livers both presented with creative flair our mains Tuna from the specials served on a bed of noodles was to die for and the rib eye steak was cooked to perfection, presentation of the food was that of a Michelin star restaurant.

Live entertainment from an excellent vocalist just capped off a wonderful evening

Great atmosphere and a must visit

See you all soon and thanks for a great evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 926Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSBISTRO, Manager at Jack's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments - we here at Jack's really do appreciate it when people take the time to give us feedback; especially when the feedback is as positive as this!
We're glad you thoroughly enjoyed your evening here, and that the entertainment was good. We try to only bring the best of local talent into Jack's to perform every Friday night, and routinely book out all of our tables with people trying to see them.
We're also very happy you enjoyed your food, and your choices off the specials menu - our specials menu changes almost every week, as we try to utilise the best in local fresh and seasonal produce, to offer you something special everytime you come to Jack's.

Once again, thank you for the kind words, and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 302 of 547 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having visited this wonderful bistro in August with 6 friends, 5 Labradors and a baby and been welcomed like old friends we are looking forward to visiting again this coming weekend. The food, ambience and general relaxed feel of the place makes it ideal for us.

Thank you Jacks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Evogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSBISTRO, Manager at Jack's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic words of support - we really appreciate them!
Here at Jack's we try to accommodate everyone, from adults to newborns and from Labradors to Jackhuahuas - being a dog friendly restaurant, we love it when people bring their pets in with them. We pride ourselves on being as courteous and welcoming to everyone that comes through our door, no matter how many legs they have.
We have worked hard to create a place where everyone can enjoy themselves, and have excellent food with excellent service in a fantastic atmosphere.
We hope to see you again soon!
Paws Sincerely, the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great food as usual and great service, but the redesigned frontage means there are now two entrances and the waiters keep leaving the door open when serving to people sitting outside, this means it is draughty and smokey. Not a good dining experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tripian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSBISTRO, Manager at Jack's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed the service and the food here at Jack's - two things that we consider paramount to any dining experience, and we apologise for the draughty nature of the restaurant when you came to us. Unfortunately, the popularity of our outside dining area when the weather is nicer means that as a result of the constant carrying of dishes both to and from the tables, the doors at the front will be open in order to stop any accidents involving waiters, plates of food and attempts to open doors. Though we do implore you, and anyone else who feels a draught whilst dining at Jack's to bring it to the wait staff's attention, and we'll do our best to either have the doors closed as much as possible, or to move you to another table where the draught won't bother you.
We're sorry that you consider the redesign of the restaurant "a backward(s) step" - we've had nothing but positive feedback regarding the new look, and think it looks a lot more modern and contemporary. We hope you come again, so we can show you how good Jack's can be - though we do suggest coming when the weather is bad, so the doors at the front remain firmly closed!
Yours, the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited here for breakfast while staying at the Travelodge ( next door)
We sat outside in the fab covered area which had a fleecy blanket each on your chair shld u need it but there were patio heaters on so it was cosy. Breakfast choice is fantastic. Def something to suit everyone. Will def eat here next time we stay in the Travelodge.

Thank Hunca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSBISTRO, Manager at Jack's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We're happy that you liked your breakfast at Jack's - we like to think that we have an extensive breakfast menu, with options for everyone, from our Full English Breakfast for £4.95, to our Eggs Royale at £6.95 - and for the healthy eaters, our Granola, Greek Yoghurt and Fresh Berry Compote; and we're glad you agree! And since we open at 8am every day, we can cater for even the earliest of risers.
Our outside eating area is one of the parts of the restaurant we're the most proud of, and with the heat lamps as well as the blankets - not to mention the retractable roof, we aim to make people who wish to eat outside as comfortable as possible - at any time we're open.
Thank you for your positive feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again when you next stay at the Travelodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I've been to Jack's twice now and both times I've had the rib-eye steak. The steak was cooked to perfection which is not that common when ordering a rare steak in England. The steak was made all the better by the garlic and blue cheese sauce I chose with it - gorgeous. The steak is served with roasted cherry tomatoes and absolutely perfect chips.
The great food was matched by excellent service. Recommended.

Thank SkerriesCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSBISTRO, Manager at Jack's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our steaks - we here at Jack's are proud of both the quality and presentation of our food, and clearly with you we got it absolutely spot on. We are also very happy your liked the service, as we have very high standards for ourselves when it comes to that; and as you said in your review, we try to compliment the quality of the food with the quality of the service - as one without the other just isn't good enough for us here at Jack's.
We hope to see you again, and do as well as (if not better) than your previous visits; as the man said, third time's a charm!
Yours, the Management

P.S. Good choice on the sauce - it's the chef's favourite too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing