We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT value for your money”
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchorage
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I recently spent a week at the Anchorage B+B in Lytham St. Anne. Their location is two short blocks from the Irish Sea and is an easy drive to both the Lake District and to Wales. The B+B is scrupulously clean.

What makes this a superior accommodation is what I would call the “genuineness” of the proprietors. Every B+B operator is cordial; many are friendly. But Alan and Barbara are a step above this—they truly interact with their patrons. I left feeling I had made two friends. I look forward to staying with them in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marileto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

Really nice guest house just what you would expect from a family run business, location is fantastic for the town of St Annes, excellent restaurants & pubs near by, we found an exception chinese restaurant call Zen, which was a short walk away, the food is the best we have tasted and superb service.

We stayed in room 7 in the guest house which was very nice, the veiw wasn't up to much but thats not the fault of the owner, who cooks a lovely breakfast and has great local knowledge, the only flaw was that the shower wasn't very strong, just about adequte for the job, but overall a nice place that we would return to.

Thanks very much to all at The Anchorage

Room Tip: See the comments above re the room, very nice and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights for birthday weekend away. Excellent location within easy walking distance of shops beach and restaurant. Barbara was a lovely host, our room was spacious and clean and a lovely breakfast was provided, would definately stay there again if we visited St Annes again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dedooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I spent 1 night at The Anchorage with our cocker spaniel Charlie in July. The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and overlooked the garden at the back. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the next days travelling.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndrewP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed just the one night and found it a pleasant stay. It's a great location, very close to the shops and beach, but in a quiet area.

Very welcoming host, clean rooms and the breakfast was fantastic. One of the best we've had!

Would definitely stay again and highly recommend it, especially if you're on a bit of a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarandrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just had the one night here, found the rooms clean and comfortable, nice touch with the chocolate.owners very friendly. Breakfast was better than i've had in some 4star hotels. Would definetly stay there again. Close to shops, bars and restaurants and public transport.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank looseone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

A convenient position within walking distace of the station, shops and restaurants.
Inside was clean and comfortable with friendly service. Nothing semed to be too much trouble. Shower gel, handwash etc. all provided - even a chocolate on the bedside table.
I would definately use it again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barndot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#10 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashton Park Hotel
The Ashton Park Hotel
#15 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: 46-48 Orchard Road, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: $52 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing