We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, very pleasant stay”
Review of Harben House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harben House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Newport Pagnell
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and after reading some of the reviews wondered what I was in store for. What I got was a very nice surprise , the staff during my stay were fantastic and could not do enough for us , they were all friendly and attentive , especially Rose. The room I had was clean and cosy and the shower was lovely and powerful . The food I chose was tasty and hot , and room service was prompt and served by friendly staff. Thank you for making my stay very pleasant

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Jules6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky S, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Devere Venues Harben . First and foremost may I thank you for your kind comments, I will send it to all the team ensuring that best practice is shared. Our focus is to always deliver great service our guests.

I will pass you comments onto Rose! I am sure she will be very happy with you feedback.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Harben House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 405 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The room was terrible, really small and pokey and the pillows were really uncomfortable.

Service in the bar while friendly was slow, one person behind the bar is clearly not enough. I had nachos and paid extra for chilli which came in a tiny pot on the side? Random and pointless!

Breakfast the next day was also poor, stale cereal and no fresh banana, again only one server and so failed to receive any hot drink.

I wouldn't rush back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Loubie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky S, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

I have taken on board your comments with regards to the bar service, bedroom experience and quality of the breakfast. I will be speaking to the relevant managers most notably the food and beverage Manager and the Head Housekeeper to ensure your experiences are not repeated.

We are constantly looking at ways to drive customer service forward at De Vere Harben and we take all feedback very seriously and I appreciate your comments as it highlights to us where improvements need to be made.

I hope any future visits will reconfirm your faith in us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Easy to find near to the M1 junction 14 with plenty of parking and easy access to the hotel.

Free internet access and a bar in the entrance area which was pleasant to use.

Rooms are standard conference type, a little tight but comfortable with a good sized desk and tea/coffee facilities.

It is a bit dated in its decor and equipment but for an overnight stay, not an issue.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffatMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky S, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Devere Venues Harben . First and foremost may I thank you for your kind comments, I will send it to all the team ensuring that best practice is shared. Our focus is to always deliver great service our guests.

We hope to see you again soon!
Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Having driven for 4 hours I was looking forward to relaxing in the hotel, however this would prove to be an impossibility. The reception area looked ok, I was then met by a rabbit warren of corridors. The room itself was a tiny double, stains on the carpet, a toilet which once flushed didn't stop, a cigarette stained shower curtain, an iron that didn't work, inadequate coffee facilities and then a large family of ants in my bed and shower. If this room was £19 per night, this is £19 too much- PLEASE do not book this hotel for any of your staff, as it really gives a very bad impression of your company. I had the displeasure of having to stay here for 2 nights. Even with a room change the ants remained. Painful.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky S, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

I have taken on board your comments with regards to our room facilities and experience of Harben, I will be speaking to the relevant managers most notably the Front of House Manager and the Head Housekeeper to ensure your experiences are not repeated.

We are constantly looking at ways to drive customer service forward at Harben and we take all feedback very seriously and I appreciate your comments as it highlights to us where improvements need to be made.

I hope any future visits will reconfirm your faith in us
Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had booked a double room and what we were given was an absolute disgrace. It was a small single room into which a double bed had been shoe horned in! While my partner was getting dressed for dinner I had to sit on the bed or stand in the corridor as there wasn't enough room for us both to get ready at the same time! Apart from the size the room was very tired looking.
The only reason I am giving it one star is that the staff were fine and the breakfast adequate.
It is extraordinary that the De Vere Group allow there name to be tarnished by having this place as part of their group.
If you have occasion to visit Newport Pagnell I would suggest you find any available alternative to staying here.

Room Tip: Book a room in a different hotel!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidDowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asim D, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Harben. First and foremost may I offer my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced. Please let me assure you that this is not indicative of the service we strive to offer our guests.

I have taken on board your comments with regard with regards to the size of your bedroom, the room is Adequate for 1-2 people, the price of our bedrooms is comparabale to hotels in the area and we feel is value for money.

We are currently in the process of making improvements to several areas of the venue, this will be throughout all of 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Upon arriving, the entrance gives an impression of quite a modern interior.
Check in went well but once you enter the maze of corridors you soon realise that it's very dated and in need of a refurb.
Things only get worse upon entering the room, the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel.
The double bed almost touched both walls and the bathroom was from the 70's.
Despite waiting 90 mins for room service the food was actually quite nice but not enough to make me want to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GM157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asim D, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Harben. First and foremost may I offer my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced. Please let me assure you that this is not indicative of the service we strive to offer our guests.

I have taken on board your comments with regard with regards to the service on your food. and I will be speaking to the relevant managers most notably the Head chef to ensure your experiences are not repeated.

We are currently in the process of making improvements to several areas of the venue, this will be throughout all of 2014.

Hopefully you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Cheapy cheap room, but definitely better than travelodges and premier inns! Nice sleep too, and free coffee machine, its just a shame there's just nothing in the area though. But aside from that a good place just to crash.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asim D, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Harben.

We are working on a welcome information pack to help guests enjoy the area, there is a local town within 5 min walking distance and central milton keynes is a £6 cab ride or 10 min drive with local buses avliable on the main street next to the hotel.

Hopefully you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Pagnell
1.6 mi away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#3 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
362 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14
0.4 mi away
Swan Revived Hotel
Swan Revived Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harben House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harben House Hotel

Address: Tickford Street, Milton Keynes MK16 9EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes > Newport Pagnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Newport Pagnell
Price Range: $38 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harben House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harben House is a great place to come and stay if you are either working or visiting the Milton Keynes area. Why not try one of our new Cosy bedrooms which are all open plan, if you are looking for something slightly more special then why not book a Classic or Executive bedroom. All bedrooms have a great extra comfy bed with great linen, large television with multiple channels, desk for late night working, free WIFI & free tea and coffee. If your feel peckish then the Newport Bar and Bistro offers a great choice of meals including firm favorites like Fish & Chips, Toad in the hole or why not go for our special Harben Burger. Dont forget we have FREE CAR PARKING which will save you up to £20.00 every night. So come and give Harben House a try I am sure you will love it............... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harben House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Harben House Hotel Newport Pagnell
De Vere Harben Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing