We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swan Revived Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Revived Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newport Pagnell
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would definately recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have to admit we were a little bit dubious because of a few negative comments but we have to say how wrong they were. An old Hotel with a great History - Very Quirky. We stayed one night in room 305 and it was extremely comfortable with everything you need - bed very very comfortable and a Z bed for our daughter. Tea and Coffee, clean fresh towels and some lovely smellies in the en-suite.
Breakfast was full English and they even made me porridge at my request. We then went and sat for a short period in the lounge reading a little about's it history. Reception staff (young girl with glasses) very warm and welcoming "Thankyou". We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angel186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    62
    14
    16
See reviews for
43
49
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This old coaching inn three miles from the M1 motorway junction 14, has been commendably well maintained is very clean and well looked after; difficult to do with this type of building.Single room but with a extra wide bed and a nice view of the church.. Excellent booking system just give them a ring a human answers tells you if there is a room spare and will quote you a sensible rate ! Night porter, character, good breakfast (bar the sausage) .Interesting town (check out the Tickford arcade), better then a premier inn in Milton Keynes.

Room Tip: The single rooms with oversize beds are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CirenByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my partner, booked with late hotels . Com so got a good price- room was a good size with a fan if we needed it!

Breakfast was included for an extra £5 each and it was lovely! We had cooked breakfast tea coffee, porridge and toast!

Only complaint is the parking at the back was full when we arrived so we had to find alternative parking, was fine for one night but not ideal for longer stays.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madiraenglandbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

''You'll enjoy unrivaled hospitality and modern comforts'' -Didn't exist here!

I like the idea of an old style hotel. But to be honest, everything had a shabby feeling to it...

- Very pricey
- The reception staff was unprofessional. Making costumers feel unwelcome and uncomfortable.
- The small double bed room was VERY small, hard bed and the interior was very old and gave me a feeling of disgust.
- Ok breakfast.
- Ok for one night.

Been to hostels with better standard!

If you want a nice and welcoming hotel with a fresh feeling, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somethingwithN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport Pagnell hotels

Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a few months ago for a single night. The room was in need of spruching up, looked bland and out dated.

The staff were friendly, but the young girl at the bar was obviously having a bad day.

Ate in the restaurant, food was good.

Overall an OK hotel but could do with some TLC and a little money spent on it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mk16net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We booked this hotel 5 months before our stay and paid for a "large double room" The cost was £85 bed and full English breakfast. We arrived 1/2 hour before check-in but our room was ready. We parked at the back of the hotel in the small free car park. If this is full, then guests can park at the free car park behind the hotel car park. Both looked fairly safe and secure. The back of the hotel is shabby but under renovation. Check-in was fast. We were asked if we wanted to order a newspaper and we did, but the following morning it never arrived. Fortunately, Co-op and Somerfield in high street, but town has 'seen better days' No offer of porterage.

There is a small lift, but even so, some stairs are unavoidable. No problem for us, but would be for some guests. Our room was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the high street. We had 2 large windows, but the view was obscured by scaffolding. We were not told of the renovation work when we booked. We only learned about it after reading reviews on Tripadvisor.

The room was hot and the windows wouldn't open, A small fan had been left in the wardrobe, but in a heatwave, it wouldn't have much effect as the ceilings are very high. Flat screen TV was fine. Tea, coffee facilities good. Bathroom, large, very clean and obviously newly renovated. New fluffy towels and bathroom amenities (I'd say 3 - 4 *)

Bed was soft, with immaculately clean bedlinen, although only a double; so small for such a large room. 40th Birthday party taking place in hotel and kept awake by disco, although it did finish at 11.30pm

Large amount of wardrobe, drawer and cupboard space, clean carpets and quality curtains, albeit they've seen better days and are 'old fashioned' Adequate sockets, lights and mirrors. Would benefit from an iron and ironing board. Adequate coat hangers, but none with hooks for skirts/trousers.

Ok for one night, but overpriced.

Breakfast was uninspiring. Good selection of cereals. Very limited fruit, pastries, breads available. Made to order toast was fresh, mixed and plentiful. Tea, good. Coffee, awful. It tasted stewed and bitter like a 2* Turkish hotel would serve. Hot food was ok, although sausages, overcooked or maybe re-heated, mushrooms floating in oil. Not the quality breakfast I've read about on this sight. Sorry, but it no way meets Premier Inn standard... Glad weather was warm as restaurant has no central heating, only a few electric heaters placed in corners.

Over-all, once an old fashioned traditional town center hotel; it now lacks any kind of 'label' It tries to be trendy (restaurant), traditional (stair ways and common areas), modern, but boringly conventional (bedrooms) and historical (reception area with Aston Martin memorobilia)

Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alleycat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 10 days, May 2012, for the most part the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean, but the floor sloped so much I had the constant feeling of falling. Though the room was supposedly cleaned daily, the two original plastic cups were never changed, The floor outside my room constantly creaked which woke me up whenever anyone passed the door, which was often. The hotel was surrounded by scaffolding. The whole place needs a thorough update - carpets and furniture throughout are somewhat shabby. The pub was grubby. The one redeeming factor was the food, breakfast was excellent.
Parking was limited and though they had extra parking, we received a ticket for 50 pounds becase we were NOT advised that there was a 2 hour parking limit in the overflow parking. When we tried to advise staff of this oversight we were treated less than courteously, in fact the Manageress (Philipa) took the offensive aggressively instead of getting all the facts from our side relying solely on one side as given to her by the desk clerk (Calem).
Overall,I would not recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: room was very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Pagnell
2.1 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel (soon Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel)
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#4 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Revived Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Revived Hotel

Property: Swan Revived Hotel
Address: 33 High Street, Milton Keynes MK16 8AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes > Newport Pagnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newport Pagnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Revived Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Revived Hotel is a former Coaching Inn dating back to the 15th century, situated in the heart of the quaint Buckinghamshire town of Newport Pagnell; just two miles from junction 14 of the M1and 5 miles from central Milton Keynes. The Swan Revived has 40 bedrooms all of which are en-suite and include tea & coffee-making facilities, direct-dial telephone, free broadband access and satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swan Revived Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Revived Newport Pagnell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing