We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Oakham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Fox and Hounds in Knossington. We aim to provide a fine dining experience within the homely atmosphere of a country pub. We welcome reservations.Opening timesMonday - ClosedTuesday - Saturday - 6pm-11pmSunday - 12pm-5pm
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went 1st time last night
made very welcome brilliant place great food lovely staff very reasonable
all in all 1st class
thanks very much

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    25
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful time”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My extended family and I visited early in December and were impressed by the beautiful decor, lovely food and warm reception we received. The owner and all staff were polite and keen to please, the owner was especially kind to my elderly mother-in-law and spent time talking to her and making her feel most welcome. We all really enjoyed our meals and were plesently surpised
when the bill arrived. We are looking forward to the next time we visit and would recommend this beautiful place to our friends.

Thank you all very much for a lovely afternoon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our very favourite place”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Kate the proprietor is fabulous, an utter professional who ensures that everything at The Fox &Hounds runs like clockwork. Every meal we have here is superb, and in this area there is certainly a lot of competition. The ambiance and attention to detail never fails to impress us, and I feel that the very few negative comments on this site are unfair. No-one enjoys the insincerity of an over-gushing host, fussing over one's every whim-Kate has the perfect balance, attentive when needing to be, yet also very discreet.
Should we just visit for a drink, we are made to feel equally as welcome-with the log fire burning, what more could you want?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22funatfifty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had a great dinner here; real fire, warm atmosphere and packed. Menu is very varied and good quality food; but is on the dear side. Very enjoyable evening as all the were staff very friendly. Excellent pint of London Pride.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IfieldDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food - a little pricey”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have eaten at this charming village pub several times over the past couple of months. Without exception the welcome, service and food have all been excellent. My only criticism is price - a little expensive in today's world for pub food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing