We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Oakham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to the Fox and Hounds in Knossington. We aim to provide a fine dining experience within the homely atmosphere of a country pub. We welcome reservations.Opening timesMonday - ClosedTuesday - Saturday - 6pm-11pmSunday - 12pm-5pm
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food - a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have eaten at this charming village pub several times over the past couple of months. Without exception the welcome, service and food have all been excellent. My only criticism is price - a little expensive in today's world for pub food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    24
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
somewhere in UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mixed opinion”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I laughed out loud when I just read the previous reviewers report of their 'frosty reception' from the lady front of house... Yes that's what I had too, was treated more like an inconvenience than a customer when I first arrived- felt completely ignored and quite unwelcome.. Although to be fair, she did warm up a little over time, and the other staff were pleasant and polite enough.

The food was good and plentiful, the place was warm and cosy with a fire going. But with such a great choice of local pubs in the area serving equally good food, I'd prefer to go somewhere that offers a warm welcome. So I can't see myself returning to the Fox & hounds in a hurry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LostinBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, very friendly atmosphere and a lovely landlady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have been to the Fox and Hounds a number of times now for different occasions and each time it feels so cosy and homely. We cant wait to get a summers evening to be able to sit outside and eat in the patio.

Kate is a wonderful host and makes sure everyone feels welcome. The food is of a very high quality and guaranteed to be good each time you go, which is rare these days. Sunday lunch is a real treat with crispy Yorkshires, fluffy roasties and gravy to die for.

The portions are good, even my friends husband who usually goes home from a restaurant and cooks cheese on toast!!! iI know was very impressed but the quality is not compromised.

Love it......

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyPaul2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and try the Steak and Kidney Pudding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

It was great to see a bustling pub on a Friday night, with the fire roaring.

Really recommend the steak and kidney pudding which is lovely and huge with it. Great pub.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another fabulous meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Went with my mother who is difficult to please but she was so thanks. I had the monkfish which was amazing, and the homemade bread is yummy too. Lovely atmosphere and a very attentive staff member called Rob.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing