We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shockingly poor”
Review of Ram Jam Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ram Jam Inn
Cuisines: British, American
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shockingly poor”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The reviewer who mentioned fawlty towers has it right. Rhe worst eating experience I've had in many years.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barringtontops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    1
    3
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brenchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What's happened?”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

For as many years as I can remember I have always enjoyed stopping off at the Ram Jam Inn, whether it be breakfast, lunch, or dinner and have always thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It may be a year since my last visit so I'm not sure when the deterioration started but our attempt at lunch on the 29th December was not good. Yes the sofas are still there but the ambience and welcome we're not. There were no menus, apparently because of the "rush" after Christmas so the only choice was from the poorly written chalk board. The staff were uninterested and eating their lunch in the bar area. The restaurant was not at all busy but our drinks did not arrive until a reminder, and the food, whilst better than we had expected following our indifferent welcome, was not up to my previous memory.
Something's happened here, and unless remedial action is taken very soon, this treasure of the A1 will sink without trace.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place will be closed within a month”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stopped here for the first time in 10 years, remembering that it use to be fairly good.

Unfortunately it has not just gone downhill but off the cliff entirely.

Despite the place being almost empty and the fact that they were only serving sandwiches, there was a 40 minute wait for food. We even overheard the owner say there was a 10 minute wait for drinks.

The place was dirty and tired and the chef/waiter/barman was happy to abuse all of his customers without prejudice. The glass given to me was filthy and there was even encrusted egg yoke in the sugar bowl.

Having waited over 45 minutes for 2 sandwiches, we gave up and offered to pay for our drinks.
Fair play to the owner as she apologised for the wait and declined our cash.

I know the new owners have not had the place long but they need to take a step back and really think hard about whether they are suited to the hospitality industry.

It gave us a laugh for the drive home but I doubt we'll ever risk it again.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lucky Find”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stopped off after 35 years of passing by, for a coffee and a bite to eat.
Pleasantly surprised super comfy......mixture of sofas and chairs at tables to sit at.
Nice change from some of the other food stops on the A1.
Sadly we were told that it is closing end of Dec 2012!
So if anyone thinking of taking it over and is reading this, get going we will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeNorthumberlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Drive on by”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stopped off for lunch and won't be going back. The manageress was unbelievably rude and seemed to have no sense of customer service. Considering the menu was limited, a number of 'specials' were not available and service extremely slow on the options they did have. At least 2 other tables had complaints about food and ours was nothing special.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ram Jam Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing